We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always welcomed back!”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This time it was with a bottle of champagne! They value loyalty and show it. No matter what questions we had, the very nice man at the front desk would find out the answer for us. Year after year, it still feels great to arrive here. Excellent location for anything in Avalon.

Room Tip: Get one with an ocean view and patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalbuMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel was a little slice of Italy right on Catalina Island. The rooms, while a little small, (especially the closet!) were very cozy and well-decorated. Ours had a fireplace and a love seat and was located off a little courtyard. Even though it was at one end of the walk street next to the beach, it was still an easy distance from the pier where the ferries from the mainland come in, so you could easily roll your luggage. Don't bother with a cab. They had a great deck for sunning and viewing the harbor, and the people who run it were super. There was a continental breakfast included. The attached restaurant was the best we tried--truly first rate, and I'll review that separately. If we go again, we'll stay here.

Room Tip: If you get a "named" room, it may be special. Ours was the "Amalfi."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Susan--
On behalf of our entire staff, "Thank You" for your comments regarding your recent visit to Catalina and your stay at The Hotel Villa Portofino. I will pass on your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

John La Fleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We spent 2 days on the Island, staying at the Hotel Villa Portofino for the 3rd time. Every visit is excellent! We love the location, the staff is great, and we really enjoyed our room! We highly recommend this hotel! The front sitting area and rooftop deck offer phenomenal views; and there are several quiet sitting areas on the grounds.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheriePortHuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for visiting Catalina over The Thanksgiving holiday and choosing The Hotel Villa Portofino. I appreciate the comments regarding our Staff and your satisfaction with your room accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back to "Our Island Paradise" soon.
John La Fleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Please stay away from this hotel. The front desk manager Luis Amezcua cancelled our reservation when we arrive and check in. They cancelled it without our consent on the thanksgiving day . My family including 2 kids are having risk of being stuck on the island without a hotel . They do not want you to see their policy when asked at the premise and immediate cancel your reservation when you complain about their attitude and would like to talk to their higher managers. Never stay in this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henrymho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

In regards to your comments, I would like to offer our understanding of the events.

When you made your reservations online, you did not indicate that you where bringing 2 children with you. You booked a reservation was into a King bedded room category, that would accommodate only 2 adults. If you would have entered the correct number of guests, this room would not have been assigned to you., based on our occupancy limits. We attempted to secure a 2nd room for you, but you declined our offer. We where left with no other option, then to suggest you secure room reservations elsewhere.

John La Fleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, and the location was perfect, in a quiet part of Avalon near the Casino.

We took advantage of the special birthday rates, and had a glass of champagne on the sun terrace, which provides an expansive view of the harbor. The beach is right across the street, and the hotel provides beach chairs and towels. Enjoy! We also took a walk along the shore and saw dolphins playing in the waves.

The contentinental breakfast provided everything we needed. We took a tray and sat outdoors at the little tables that are provided.

One night, we walked over to the Avalon Casino to watch a movie in the elegant theater. We also attended the Catalina Film Festival.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room on the ground floor. To ensure quiet at night, we closed the ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 945WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

First off, Thank you for staying with us. We also appreciate the comments about your experience while staying with us, and on your next trip to Catalina, you will stay with us again.

John La Fleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We decided to stay overnight on Catalina at the last minute and walked in asking for a room. Our room was simple, spotless and well laid out. The hotel is right in the heart of downtown Avalon, across from the ocean. The continental break fast was fantastic with fresh muffins, fruit and scones. And we enjoyed it out doors with a beautiful view. The only reason my rating isn't higher is because the room itself was pretty basic and plain. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is literally steps away from the beach. It is in the heart of Avalon's shops and dining. It is well maintained and very clean. It has a serene courtyard with seating and tables, a sun deck overlooking the bay with chaise lounges, chairs and tables, and cabanas. They lend sand chairs and towels to take to the beach. They offer a free continental breakfast with pastries and fruit. I didn't see any where else that I thought would have been a better place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winecountrysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Catalina. We appreciate your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Catalina Island soon

John La Fleur
General Manager
Hotel Villa Portofino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#16 of 20 in Avalon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £101 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing