We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great romantic get-away hotel minus a couple amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great romantic get-away hotel minus a couple amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We upgraded to the Amalfi Suite that had a wonderful fireplace, gorgeous marble bathroom along with large bathtub. All very European, romantic and great, accompanied by super convenient access to beach and town, and everything you want within walking distance. But you have to climb 14 stairs to get to the room, which can feel like a pain sometimes, and the breakfast is strictly Continental, with not a protein in sight. If you're good to go with carbos and like to hit the stairs regularly, this hotel is otherwise charming and wonderful and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your upgraded Suite, along with the room amenities.
We do take pride in the fresh baked daily assortment of Croissants, Scones and Muffins, as well as the selection of fresh fruit. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Villa Portofino.
John LaFleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    138
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
89
252
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

From our first contact re reservations to each day of our stay the staff was very warm and helpful. They arranged to have a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room upon arrival... and had lots of great suggestions for things to do and see.
Our room was very small (as advertised) but very pleasant and clean. We loved the lounge area up on one of the roofs. This was a classy touch that allowed all the guests a chance to see the wonderful view of the harbor.
we both loved the cucumber and citrus water in the front desk area.... it is so easy to dehydrate out on the island.
We will be back to this great little hotel.

Room Tip: all the hotels in Avalon (especially on the waterfront) are subject to street noise. it might help t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanww2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Catalina. I will forward your comments to our entire Staff. Our goal is to make each guest, want to return to our beautiful hotel and enjoy the island.

John La Fleur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Cute place, clean room, very nice staff... We would definitely stay again. It's kinda far from pier but I actually liked that - less crowded. Everything is within walking distance, no need to rent golf cart to a take taxi. The top deck/patio area was awesome - great views!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
On behalf of our entire Staff, Thank you for staying with us on your last trip to Catalina.
Being a 10 minute walk from the boat Terminal, is a very relaxing way to walk along the waterway
before arriving at our hotel. The view from our patio deck is "2nd to none", and it is the perfect way to pass the afternoon away. If I can be of any assistance on your return, please do not hesitate to call me.
John La Fleur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel was not the highlight of my trip to Catalina. We reserved their smallest room, a Queen off the courtyard, and as advertised it was small. The room and bath were both clean. The bed was a little lumpy and the carpet was nondescript. There is no safe or microwave, but it does have a small fridge.
The worst part was that it was noisy. The old structure has no concept of soundproofing. Windows and a large patio door face into the courtyard which opens onto to road which is the main route to the interior of the island, so it has lots of traffic. There may not be many cars on the island but they make up for this with an abundance of noisy two-stroke gas-powered golf carts that zoom up the street all day. (I saw notices that the island was implementing new noise regulation on all vehicles in the fall of 2014, I hope that helps). To make matters worse, the hotel was undergoing "emergency" construction while we were there, which included very noisy excavation into the hillside under the hotel. The hotel didn't forewarn us of this and barely apologized about it either.
Breakfast was OK. Croissants and muffins, tea and coffee - tasty if not diverse - which you could eat from the bistro tables out front overlooking the harbor. Free WiFi - make sure to get a few of the daily access code slips so you don't need to go to the lobby everyday and ask for another. The hotel is also right on the waterfront and near all the shopping. There is a nice sun roof with lounges overlooking the harbor. But ultimately, if you want peace and quiet, this may not be the best location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
In reading your comments, I need to apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations. In regards to your room, we are sensitive to the noise issues, as we have double paned the windows that face the street. Yes, Avalon has begun to place noise ordinances into place.

We attempted to move our guests, when they requested, into a different room location during our emergency plumbing issue. I would have welcomed the opportunity to tend to your requests.

I hope that when you return to Catalina, we might have the opportunity to meet your expectations.

John La Fleur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Basic hotel with all the amenities necessary. Rooms very clean. Very good value for money. We had a twin bed room which faced into the foyer. This can be very noisy at times. Not recommended for light sleepers. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Travelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us at The Hotel Villa Portofino. Thank you for your high remarks on our Value, location & our attention to cleanliness. Being a small Boutique property, we do our best to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay, and want to visit us again.

John La Fleur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Progreso, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a package with this hotel that included the ferry ride from Long Beach and two nights hotel. The entire package was very reasonably priced (we were off-season). The rooms are nothing fancy, but the roof-top garden area is very sweet and a nice place to hang out and watch the boats in the harbor. We loved the location - just at the end of the road so it was easy to walk into town, but not right in the middle of business street. Staff very helpful and friendly and it was great to be able to leave our bags there after check out so we could continue to enjoy Avalon until our evening ferry departed. Great option for those looking for a good value on Catalina Island.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SperanzaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
I will pass on to our entire Staff, your positive comments about your visit .
We make every attempt to convey our appreciation for every guest who stays with us.
Please check out our web site in the next few weeks, as we are updating the photographs.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

John La Fleur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at Hotel Villa Portofino on March 20, 2014 for a one-night two-day visit to Catalina Island. The hotel rooms exceeded our expectations - spacious and quiet with very comfortable beds. The layout of the rooms on different floors gave the hotel a unique charm and ambiance like a European villa in Italy or the Mediterranean. The breakfast buffet had incredibly delicious homemade pastries from a local bakery, fresh fruit, coffees and juice. The rooftop deck had stunning panorama views of the harbor with table, chairs, umbrellas and comfortable lounge chairs.

The hotel location is perfect for walking through the quaint streets of Avalon and the Casino and beach areas. We will definitely refer all our friends to stay at Villa Portofino and come back to stay again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor so the rooms had great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We so appreciate your comments about your stay at The Hotel Villa Portofino. You pretty much summarized the experience that we hope that each guest has. Looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Catalina.

John La Fleur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing