We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portofino Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mac Rae(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilion Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Avalon Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Metropole(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Catalina Island Inn(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
302
156
51
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
156
51
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun decksconescontinental breakfastthe main streetbeach chairsdescanso beacheuropean feelcatalina islandoff seasonorange juicerooms are smallthe hotel staffhotel is locatedcatalina expressbottle of champagnecourtyard roomgas fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We upgraded to the Amalfi Suite that had a wonderful fireplace, gorgeous marble bathroom along with large bathtub. All very European, romantic and great, accompanied by super convenient access to beach and town, and everything you want within walking distance. But you have to climb 14 stairs to get to the room, which can feel like a pain sometimes, and the breakfast is strictly Continental, with not a protein in sight. If you're good to go with carbos and like to hit the stairs regularly, this hotel is otherwise charming and wonderful and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patty8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We appreciate your comments regarding your upgraded Suite, along with the room amenities.
We do take pride in the fresh baked daily assortment of Croissants, Scones and Muffins, as well as the selection of fresh fruit. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Villa Portofino.
John LaFleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From our first contact re reservations to each day of our stay the staff was very warm and helpful. They arranged to have a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room upon arrival... and had lots of great suggestions for things to do and see.
Our room was very small (as advertised) but very pleasant and clean. We loved the lounge area up on one of the roofs. This was a classy touch that allowed all the guests a chance to see the wonderful view of the harbor.
we both loved the cucumber and citrus water in the front desk area.... it is so easy to dehydrate out on the island.
We will be back to this great little hotel.

Room Tip: all the hotels in Avalon (especially on the waterfront) are subject to street noise. it might help to get a room on a floor above street level.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanww2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Catalina. I will forward your comments to our entire Staff. Our goal is to make each guest, want to return to our beautiful hotel and enjoy the island.

John La Fleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Cute place, clean room, very nice staff... We would definitely stay again. It's kinda far from pier but I actually liked that - less crowded. Everything is within walking distance, no need to rent golf cart to a take taxi. The top deck/patio area was awesome - great views!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

On behalf of our entire Staff, Thank you for staying with us on your last trip to Catalina.
Being a 10 minute walk from the boat Terminal, is a very relaxing way to walk along the waterway
before arriving at our hotel. The view from our patio deck is "2nd to none", and it is the perfect way to pass the afternoon away. If I can be of any assistance on your return, please do not hesitate to call me.
John La Fleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel was not the highlight of my trip to Catalina. We reserved their smallest room, a Queen off the courtyard, and as advertised it was small. The room and bath were both clean. The bed was a little lumpy and the carpet was nondescript. There is no safe or microwave, but it does have a small fridge.
The worst part was that it was noisy. The old structure has no concept of soundproofing. Windows and a large patio door face into the courtyard which opens onto to road which is the main route to the interior of the island, so it has lots of traffic. There may not be many cars on the island but they make up for this with an abundance of noisy two-stroke gas-powered golf carts that zoom up the street all day. (I saw notices that the island was implementing new noise regulation on all vehicles in the fall of 2014, I hope that helps). To make matters worse, the hotel was undergoing "emergency" construction while we were there, which included very noisy excavation into the hillside under the hotel. The hotel didn't forewarn us of this and barely apologized about it either.
Breakfast was OK. Croissants and muffins, tea and coffee - tasty if not diverse - which you could eat from the bistro tables out front overlooking the harbor. Free WiFi - make sure to get a few of the daily access code slips so you don't need to go to the lobby everyday and ask for another. The hotel is also right on the waterfront and near all the shopping. There is a nice sun roof with lounges overlooking the harbor. But ultimately, if you want peace and quiet, this may not be the best location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flying_Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

In reading your comments, I need to apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations. In regards to your room, we are sensitive to the noise issues, as we have double paned the windows that face the street. Yes, Avalon has begun to place noise ordinances into place.

We attempted to move our guests, when they requested, into a different room location during our emergency plumbing issue. I would have welcomed the opportunity to tend to your requests.

I hope that when you return to Catalina, we might have the opportunity to meet your expectations.

John La Fleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Basic hotel with all the amenities necessary. Rooms very clean. Very good value for money. We had a twin bed room which faced into the foyer. This can be very noisy at times. Not recommended for light sleepers. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49Travelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us at The Hotel Villa Portofino. Thank you for your high remarks on our Value, location & our attention to cleanliness. Being a small Boutique property, we do our best to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay, and want to visit us again.

John La Fleur
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews