We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant but not fancy and great customer service!”
Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegant but not fancy and great customer service!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here about a year ago. We were not planning to stay in Catalina Island for the noght, however, we liked it so we started looking for a hotel. There is obviously so many hotels and we went to many before coming across Villa Portofino. It is located on a far edge of the Island.
I believe they only book with reservations and we obviously didn't have one so the nice man helped us get a room and gave us a great price. Overall the service was great!
They have a contemplary breakfast, water bottles, coffee, wifi, towels and chairs.
The roof deck is nicely decorated. A great place to relax at night.
I also must say the room was great for my husband, my 2 year old , and I. It had a king bed with a sofa bed.
I loved our stay there overall great place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy13m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We would like to "Thank You" for choosing The Hotel Villa Portofino for your recent stay on Catalina. Our goal is to give the "best" customer service on the island, and ensure on your next trip to Avalon, you stay with us. Your positive comments regarding your stay are greatly appreciated. John La Fleur, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    140
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
257
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It's a great location at the far edge of town, within easy walking distance of everything. The beach is right across the street, and the hotel will loan you beach towels and chairs. If you don't feel like going to the beach, you can enjoy the view from a lounge chair on the roof deck, which has a fabulous unobstructed view of the harbor. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, and the bathroom was spacious and well laid out. We appreciated the complimentary water bottles and wifi, and the bottle of champagne for my husband's birthday. It's not a luxury hotel, but it's very nice for a resort. However, be aware that because all the rooms face onto a central courtyard, it's not super quiet. We had a very pleasant experience at this reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are so happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay! All of our staff strives to make sure each guest is taken care of & that their Catalina vacation is memorable & wonderful! Our hotel (and the whole island) does get noisier during the peak season (July & August) as there are thousands of visitors vacationing in our beautiful town. Keep us in mind & come see us in the off-season to experience a tranquil & quiet Catalina.
All of us here thank you for staying with us & we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Their sun deck and hospitality was great. I was just disappointed that they told me there was a futon for my son and it turned out to be a cushion with blankets that they laid on the floor. I think for the price they could have at least put it on a cot not the floor.

Room Tip: Best to get a room toward the front of the hotel. The back rooms have a hint of the trash from their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us & we are glad you've enjoyed your Catalina trip. Our suites & deluxe king rooms are definitely better equipped for accommodating 3 or 4 people-- they are more spacious & have sofa- beds. Standard rooms are more comfortable for 2 people & some of them can fit a futon (we do not have cots).
Thank you again for choosing our hotel & we hope to see you back in Avalon soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twentynine Palms, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a lovely time in Catalina and appreciate the friendly and courteous staff of your hotel. Delicious fresh breakfast, beautiful views, quiet and clean atmosphere. When we return for another island vacation we will definitely book a stay with the Villa Portofino!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millykind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are so happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay! Our staff prides itself on trying to ensure that each guest is taken care of & that their expectations are met.
We hope to see you in the future to create many more amazing Avalon memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for 3 days in the Bella Vista Suite and were very happy with the accommodations. The suite had a deck with a perfect view of the harbor. We liked that the hotel was down near the end of Front Street so the noise level was pretty quiet at night. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful! The front desk people were extremely polite and accommodating. The water with the cucumbers and lemon was so refreshing, we stopped in the lobby several times a day to fill up our water bottles. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the WiFi. It was so slow that I finally gave up trying to connect on my Kindle. We have stayed in Catalina several times and this was definitely the best hotel for the money. We plan on staying here on our next visit!

Room Tip: Bella Vista Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to ensure that all of our guests enjoy the beauty of our hotel & island. All of the hotels on Catalina are working to improve our Wi-Fi connections with the new service provider.... Looking forward to your return.
John La Fleur, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We just stayed in the Bella Vista suite. Excellent staff, great location next to beaches, bars, and restaurants, and beautiful view of Avalon. Highly recommended if you're trying to get away from the hustle and bustle!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank You !! Your comments will be shared with our entire staff... Please come see us again !!!!
John La Fleur, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

To celebrate our anniversary, we booked two rooms for the family for 4 days in June. The rooms were ready early so we were able to check in immediately. The staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful. The location at the Casino end of the main street was great - easy walk to restaurants and activities but sufficiently removed to be quiet. The open patio area in the center was a perfect place to enjoy the fresh baked breakfast scones and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaPortofino, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
A belated Happy Anniversary.. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay in June..
We strive to ensure an enjoyable stay to all of our guests.Please call me directly for your anniversary stay next year. John La Fleur, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing