We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portofino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portofino Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We just stayed there for our 25th anniversary and couldn't have asked for a nicer staff! They were so kind and friendly! Our room was ready right when our boat docked at 11am, and when we went to check out the gentleman at the front desk offered to let us use the property and hold our bags until our boat left at 4:30pm. The courtyard is charming and the deck has the most beautiful view of the harbor! The only downside was the fact that our room had two windows right on the street level which made it a little noisy with the cars going by, and our neighbors above us were very early risers who liked their TV, but despite those two little things we will always choose this hotel when we come back to the island! We have already recommended this hotel to friends and family and can't wait to come back!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    140
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
255
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Such a cozy, charming hideaway in the tradition of small European hotel hospitality! Next to all the great shops and restaurants. Only feet from the beautiful water and views.....away from the noise and crowds of the island while still in the heart of it. The VP staff greet you warmly and facilitate anything you need. Everything is clean, fresh and tidy. Sipping champagne on VP's deck, enjoying a great meal at the restaurant or walking steps to the little beach makes everything wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terri_hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Great staff, great view and an outstanding restaurant as well. Choose one of the larger rooms (as we did) for guaranteed comfort and vistas. Though ALL rooms are clean and well-attended, it is the larger rooms that are well worth your vacation budget. Larger rooms at Villa Portofino costs a little more than the average Avalon hotel accommodations, but we got what we paid for: privacy, beauty, comfort and friendly high-quality service. The hotel's location on the beachfront, and at the end of the main street, guarantee soul-feeding views and a much more relaxing feel than those in the heart of town. Dinner at the Villa Portofino was magnifico! I have already recommended the hotel to friends who plan to visit next month.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBoySV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I recently stayed at the Hotel Villa Portofino and was very impressed by the hotel room and the staff. The room was elegant and cozy and we loved it! The staff was more than helpful and very courteous and made our stay that much better... we decided that we will make a yearly trip to Catalina, maybe 2, and will definitely stay at this hotel again!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MzLiz322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Having read the review of what appeared to be a disgruntled guest below (which merits a response by the management) I found that the hotel indeed did not have an elevator but its not really needed. The staff was very courteous; the breakfast was good (they offer croissants, muffins and really delicious scones), our package had a taxi ride, which we took advantage of even though the hotel is walking distance from the ferry terminal. The location was indeed good, right on the main strip and right next to an Italian restaurant where we had dinner two nights in a row.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demelo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I arrived at the hotel after a long day in L.A. and a pleasant boat ride. This hotel is very European it reminds you of a typical Italian style family hotel, and it has a lot of charm. The lobby is right off the main street and the courtyard, where you can seat to have your continental breakfast (their scones are to die for) in the morning with a gentile breeze, very relaxing. The room itself was very cute, with sliding doors and wooden shutters that open up to the courtyard.
This is a nice hotel with European feel. If found the staff very friendly, and given the value, will definitely return in the future and will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camichula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sausalito
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2010

The location is on a steep hillside with stairs up 3 stories. Poor hand railings and poor astro turf on outside floors. Rooms are small with slidding glass doors. No elevators. Breakfast is rolls and coffee in a cramped office. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I can't understand why AAA pushes this place. In general, in my opinion, Catalina is a day trip town only. Take the ferry in the AM and leave in the late PM. Food in town is only so-so and no music at least in Sept.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalinatime, General Manager at Portofino Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2010
The review in question has been posted maliciously and contains fabrications. Hotel Villa Portofino is located right on the main street and not “on a steep hillside” – We are two-story hotel not “3 stories”. We like to keep up the maintenance of the property through out the year. Guest in question had a reservation for 2-nights and he was aware of hotel amenities and cancellation policy. He wanted to leave after the 1st night “because they were on top floor” then we offered a room on ground level which they declined since they had made up their mind on leaving the Island. Guest asked to get a refund for the 2nd night but couldn’t since we have a 7-day cancellation policy. Catalina Island is a year round destination and there is plenty of activities to keep everyone busy.
The Hotel Villa Portofino has given quality customer service and hosted thousands of happy guests from all over, as all other Trip Advisor reviews for our property clearly state. Further, we make guests very clear about our reservation and cancellation policies and let our guest know as to what the hotel does and does not provide for our guests both on our web site and in print.
While we welcome both compliments and good faith criticism alike, we do not feel that this guest is truly stating their “experience”, but is instead venting their anger in a negative form in order to "hurt" our customer service reputation and quality rankings. Unfortunately on open forums such as Trip Advisor consumers are able to claim just about anything with regard to a property, even as in this case, we believe, with the intent to do malicious damage as a result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Hotel

Property: Portofino Hotel
Address: 111 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 127, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from the water, the best of Catalina is just outside our door. Enjoy your island getaway in an ocean view suite or beautifully appointed guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel Avalon
Portofino Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing