We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating”

Glass Bottom Boat Tour
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

See under the sea. The amazing fish and their colors. You forget where you are and what you're doing. The guide was very informative.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
968 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“It's nice but.....”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We signed up for a 45 minute tour, long enough to see what's here. The boats are state of the art, seating comfortable. Fish Tons of them everywhere.

The downside. They sell you fish food to feed these fish but instead of doing it before the boat leaves the dock, they kill about 15 minutes selling it to you on the boat..

Worth the tour, a not to be missed attraction, but understand that you won't go far from the dock, ( it's not necessary ) and that 45 minutes is more than enough..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AARDVARKKILLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This was fun, it was $16 per person, and the day we went Sunday at 3:45pm, there were only 3 parties, a combined total of 7 people on the boat. So we can walk around to different viewing spots. Windows were open with fresh breeze and scenic views. There were a lot of fish to see, and the captain's very friendly and funny. He gave us some free fish food to feed the fishes. We also saw sea lions. But if you plan to go snorkeling, don't bother with this, because you get much closer when you snorkel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank vicky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Underwater Garden was a special treat”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The captain was very knowledgable about the sea beneath. I expected to see fish but not an underwater garden! We had a small passenger list (12) which made it all the more special. Fish galore came to feast when the captain tossed out their expected treats. Good viewing from the 'glass bottom' windows.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Since I was young, I also associated a glass bottom boat with Catalina so we had to check into taking a ride in one. We were told the senior price was $12. We thought that sounded good so we came back after lunch. When we were charged $28 for 2, we were told, "oh, there's port charges". I guess they forgot. Still we thought $14 wasn't bad. Then when you get on the boat they try to get another $5 from you for fish food. There was a place to buy fish food on the wharf for $2 had we known. The captain, or driver, or whatever he was, tried to be funny, but didn't succeed too well. This was definitely the worse waste of money we did while on Catalina. The "sub" boat was much, much better. They fed the fish and there were hundreds of them and several different kinds. You could see them and the kelp much better! I would recommend that over this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SOUPY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glass Bottom Boat Tour also viewed

 

Been to Glass Bottom Boat Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing