We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Anniversary let-down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
temecula, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anniversary let-down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

After spending nearly $500 for two nights, we had a tiny room on the forth floor. The hallway stunk!! Wife could not get over the stink- so much for romance. I will say the bed was comfortable enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank junkr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    130
    73
    31
    27
See reviews for
71
150
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel just needs to be freshened up or reduce their prices. It was very average in every way. Granted, the rooms were clean, it was quiet, but it isn't somewhere you feel like lounging for an hour in bed in the morning. It's a "get up and get out" hotel. A bit dreary.
The pillows were pancake thin, the furniture is from 1980, and the view is the neighbor's window. On the positive side, it does have ice on the first floor! There was coffee in the morning!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kweber222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We get there after paying 289 for the room. As soon as we got in I got a feeling that my birthday might be ruined after that. Soon as we got to our room, it was the size of a match box with a king bed. The view was looking at the next door neighbors bathroom with a nice huge pipe going across the window. When we asked for our money back the one one receptionist was new but felt bad . The other one tried to lie to us and tell us the manager left and would be in a meeting from 3PM till 12AM :-|, what a really long meeting I thought. Talked to the manager the next day who seemed to careless that his employee straight out lied, and wasn't at all interested in trying to do something to help the situation.

If you're looking for a place that is small, old, overpriced with rude personnel by all means this is the place to be!!!

Room Tip: There are a lot nicer hotels on the island that are the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bryanna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Our room was a good size, but didn't feel it because we had a king bed and a futon. The hotel definitely needs updating. The tv is an old 19" and is in a tv cabinet that locks you in the bathroom when opened. You don't get a DVD player or a coffee maker. You have to leave the bathroom door closed after showers so the fire alarm doesn't go off. There is one vending machine on the first floor that was out of order.
There are kids running up and down the hall and kids across the street making noise at all hours. The only thing that was good about this hotel was the patio on the 6th floor. Really beautiful view.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Lovely room with great balcony view. Roof top patio with views of town and habor. Lovely service-nice people. Good value.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Orvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

When looking to visit my son while working on the island he booked us this hotel. Most places have a two or three night booking policy but not here. It was easily reached by foot it is up on the hill some so if walking is hard for you, you will need a ride up. But once there the views from the roof top are amazing. Yes this place is Pink which makes it easy to find. But its location is nice. Not sure I would want to stay on the front street as in the evening it can get loud. Its not far from a grocery store which I was very surprised the prices were very reasonable. Just sign up to get the store card and you will save lots of money. Back to hotel. Its a older building but very nice up keep, the rooms were clean and cozy. But we were not in our room much, to much to see and do. I would go back and stay here again. But next time for more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank packupupandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here at St. Lauren at the end of June weekend getaway trip. We liked our room that have one King bed and a futon that already set up ready for us when we arrived
(we have 2 adults and 2 kids under 12)
The hotel front desk was very nice. She called us as soon as they got our room ready because we got to the island early in the morning. I called the hotels desk and they told us we can leave our luggages at their hotel while we were waiting for our room to check in .
So we took the inland bus tour around the Island which was fun ( my son loved it . He thought he was riding Idiana Jones ride because the road was a little bumpy .) Then we spoted a buffalo was drinking in the lake which was cool. Then we visited the Catalina airport and we had great view te Avalon once we rode to the top of the island... On the way back , we got some cute companies, I think they were two bald eagles , which kept following our bus from tree to tree , in hoping to catch some cookies from us, their favorite snacks according to the bus driver. Then we took The Glass Bottom boat tour ( make sure you get a tour package Inland Ride Bus tour and Sub-marine boat ride which is better. We could not get that one because they sold out quickly) which was nice to see so many tropical fishes with many colors...

We got back to our hotel room at 3 pm. The decoration is victorian style ,. Everything in dark pink( mauve ) color but not too girly... My husband did not have the problem about the color at all. The A/C worked well at night. We slept well until the morning after. They serve free coffee only. The best about this Hotel is they have a great view on top the floor that is great to view the Ocean and the town. Great for taking pictures or just laying down one of their louge chairs to read a book or enjoy the view...

Since our departure hour was not until 4 pm so the Hotel let us leave our luggages in their storage room again. So we went to Descano Beach which was the hightlight of our trip. The Beach Club is very nice. The ground is very beautiful .The beach is nice, clean with clear water but lots of pebbles not sandy beach... We hang out there for few hours. There is a bar and a restaurant that serves very good drink and food with music... Even though , they said it is private beach for guests who rent their cabana or chair. Actually, we did not rent any . We just sat down at the beach and ordered a Margarita for myself and a beer for my husband. Then we had lunch at their Ocean front restaurant . The price is reasonable . Not too expensive ( my son had huge order of Chicken tender with fries for $10. And I had Sear Ahi Salad which was sooooo .. delicious.. for $15 ) . You can stay and hang out and using their facilities( changing room and shower room) at no cost at all.
Other words, our trip was great and fun. Our kids enjoyed everything (the rides, tours and beaches and food) for our short 2 days and one night trip. But we made it as our priceless memories...... Love it! Looking forward to come back to the island someday :)

Room Tip: We got a good deal for only $109/night at their own website. ( normally $150/night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttct007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Property: Hotel St. Lauren
Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing