We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My mom's 84th Birthday/ Excellent”
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Santa Ana, California
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“My mom's 84th Birthday/ Excellent”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had an wonderlful time and the service was excellent, They up graded our room for my mother's birthday which was a surprise. Everyone was friendly and polite. Room was clean and comfortable. Thank you St. Lauren staff for making my mom's birthday special!

Room Tip: Ask the staff they are friendly and more then willing to work with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    136
    78
    32
    28
See reviews for
75
156
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Studio City, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My fiance and I decided to take advantage of the unseasonably lovely weather and stay a night in Avalon. After looking at all hotel possibilities, we found that the Hotel St. Lauren had the best room/boat package and booked it. To our pleasant surprise the hotel was lovely. Even in the cheapest room we had a view of the ocean and the 6th floor deck is wonderfully relaxing. Our room was small, but clean and we didn't find ourselves wanting or needing more room. The bathroom was roomy, also very clean.
The hotel staff was very helpful. I needed to change my payment method upon check-in and had no problems doing so.
I would recommend the Hotel St. Lauren to anyone looking for a nice, affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This past December was my 4th trip to the Hotel St. Lauren on one of their packages. the hotel continues to be lovely, and the staff are wonderful. My room was delightful, with a small balcony overlooking the harbor and the canyon. The reproduction furniture is nice, the bed comfortable, and the heat works well. The water pressure is good, and the staff handled all of my boat and taxi reservations, so I didn't have to do anything but enjoy myself. A wonderful getaway in a lovely place. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Talk with the staff about your needs and they will match them with the most appropriate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladysailor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Pros:
-Friendly service
-Low price
-Kind of nice looking from the outside
-Decent decor in rooms
-Nice view from their sixth floor balcony
Cons:
-If you leave bags with them after check out, you don't get claim tickets, you just put them unattended in a baggage closet.
-Rooms smelled dusty, and my mom's room, maybe, kind of smelled like a dirty hamper.
-Small rooms.
-Small SD TVs in rooms.
-Heaters had no thermostats.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I was there for the Catalina Jazz festival, so most rooms were higher priced, I am assuming. It is located a few minutes walk from downtown Avalon. This hotel is an old Victorian style house. The rooms were furnished with older antique style furniture, which gave it a great feel. The bathroom was very large and there was a large walk-in closet. The front desk pre-checked me in and offered to call my cell phone when my room was ready, and I stored my luggage with them. The maintenance guy was great and helped me get ice and cups late one evening. They had coffee everyone morning in the small lobby. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and stay there again. No major concerns.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redwood26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

After reserving the least expensive room I could find in Avalon, I didn't expect much. I went to the hotel just after getting off the ferry. It was located on a quiet street just about a block from the main drag. The room wasn't ready yet (didn't expect it to be), but the young lady at the desk took my cell phone number. They allowed me to leave my bag so I could go hiking, and called me about an hour later telling me my room was ready. I was shocked by my room (406), it was very large, with a king size bed, huge, tiled bathroom, large closet and very nicely decorated. I had a beautiful view of the ocean. It was very quiet, the pillows and bed were comfortable, and the shower was large and strong. The terrace on the roof had a great view of the ocean and the city. The staff was very friendly, and the wi-fi worked great. No breakfast, just morning coffee, but because it was so much cheaper than the others, I was able to have a great breakfast at a nice restaurant and lunch with my savings. All in all, I couldn't have been happier with my hotel choice.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ernest D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oatman, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel was very nice, exceptionally clean, and full of charm. The Victorian style hotel built in the 1980's is beautiful and is adorned with Victorian charm. The rooms were spacious and the staff was helpful in all matters including taking photos of us. We really enjoyed our trip to Catalina and the St. Lauren while celebrating 59 wonderful years of friendship. The only slight issue with the St. Lauren is the location (if you desire to be by the water) the St. Lauren is
about 4 blocks uphill from the pier.

Room Tip: The upper floors offer the best view since the St. Lauren has a balcony at the end of the hall where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#14 of 20 in Avalon
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Property: Hotel St. Lauren
Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing