We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Break on Catalina”
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Hotel was clean, room size is adequate for a couple, but if sharing with kids the futon was uncomfortable. Good location on top of a hill, nice views from the patio. Just a few minutes walk to the center of town, restaurants & shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We were very disappointed in this place. The rooms were tiny, outdated and the room window air conditioner smelled like a vitamin bottle. The window only opened about 1 inch. Our recommendation is find another place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We scouted this hotel during our visit to the island in August. Very clean property, helpful front desk, gorgeous common patio on the 6th floor, and decided to stay there on our September visit. Very quiet, nice room, and we will go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The building on the outside was cute and the view from the patio was gorgeous,
However, we spent $300 a night for an old guest room at a hotel with low occupancy in a low season.
The disappointment unfortunately did not end there. Front desk staff need some training or re-training on how to smile and how to interact with guests. They don't acknowledge a guest's presence and they carry on their private conversations in a foreign language even in the presence of a guest.
When we asked if we could leave our luggage for few hours in a secure place, we were informed that: "there is a staircase under the staircase and it doesn't lock so leave them at your own risk" When we asked if she meant storage, the reply was: "whatever".
I would recommend some training on guest service and maybe remodel a little, because the bathroom, bed and carpet and screaming to retire.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMP101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Hotel St. Lauren is ideally situated to offer full access to Avalon. It's a block from the beach and main street, and only about five blocks from the casino. Virtually everything is within walking distance. The hotel itself has old-time charm, with chintz bedspreads and curtains. Beds are comfortable, baths are very clean. And it's moderately priced, which makes it a good bet for families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoraleeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Pretty Victorian Building - very dated and tired looking inside - in need of upgrade. There is also NO SECURE luggage location - would be easy to address if they put lock on door to area where luggage is stored and took responsibility for locked luggage. With check in /check out hours not matching well with ferry service schedules - you will absolutely need to have your luggage stored. There is a nice patio on the 6th floor, but if you want to enjoy a nice bottle of wine or any beverage, no glassware provide. Should provide range of glassware for customers. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We just returned from a 3 day stay in Catalina. The St. Lauren was perfect - we were traveling with our kids - so we didn't want to spend too much money on the hotel. This was ideal - very affordable - especially if you can travel mid week - we arrived on Sunday and checked out on Wednesday ($99 a night). They were kind enough to hold all our luggage until the room was ready. We arrived at 10:30 a.m. and left our luggage at the hotel. We walked (5 minutes) to the beach and had breakfast at Joe's Place - delish!! There's a Vons grocery store halfway down to the beach. When we checked out at 11:00 a.m. - they once again stored our luggage till our boat trip back - 5:00 p.m.. They have a beautiful rooftop patio - see the sunset and the entire port area and mountains to the right. Also have coffee service every morning - no breakfast. We will def. return to the St. Lauren - affordable, clean, and perfectly located.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
#16 of 20 in Avalon
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £106 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing