We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Relaxing Vacation & Amazing Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Relaxing Vacation & Amazing Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My Partner and I stayed for two nights on the 6th floor, the patio deck has amazing panoramic views of Avalon. The hotel does not serve breakfast, so we walked to the near by Von's and selected some healthy choices for our breakfast on the 6th floor patio; it could not have been better.
The rooms was large and the kingsize bed was so comfortable; lots of fluffy pillows! The bathroom was large and very clean, fresh soft towels and a separate vanity with sink. The view from our room was amazing especially at night, the air conditioner put out amazing coolness!
The hotel front desk staff and housekeepers were very friendly and helpful. They helped us fall in love with the St. Lauren!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caldreameryeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    132
    73
    31
    27
See reviews for
71
152
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wrangell, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Another trip to Catalina and another awesome stay at this great hotel. Just love the spacious family room with separate baths. Great views of this beautiful island. I always think that I am in Greece with the houses and hotels on the hills. Customer service is great here and the beds are great too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthemovenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel St. Lauren for my birthday and absolutely loved it! It looks beautiful from the outside but after reading some of the negative reviews I was a little iffy. I decided to go for it and I don't regret it at all! The staff at the front desk was very courteous and friendly. We got there early so they let us store our belongings in the storage room and they gave us a call to let us know that our room was ready like almost 2 hours early, which was really nice. The room itself was pretty good as well. It was a good size for 4 people, with an AC and a nice partial ocean view and great view of the hillside. The bathroom was pretty spacious as well, and everything was nice and clean. One thing I loved was the open patio area on the 6th floor. They have tables with umbrellas set up and there is a perfect view of the ocean and the hills on the side. Absolutely loved it! Will definitely stay here again for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JavyG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Hotel St. Lauren is a good place to stay in Avalon; my husband and I have stayed in quite a few different hotels in Avalon over the years and have found that you definitely get what you pay for. The St. Lauren is the place we have gone back to a number of times now. The location is a little off the main drag, but that's good because you get a lot less street noise at night - those little golf carts are noisy! Our room was very adequate - clean with plenty of space. The best part about the hotel is the 6th floor deck with amazing views of the bay and mountains. Unfortunately, they close it at 8pm - it would have been nice to sit up there after dinner to enjoy the lights. Check in was painless; we arrived quite early in the day, but we were able to store our luggage and after having lunch in town the hotel called to say our room was ready. Check out was the same; we stored our luggage all day until our ferry departed at 7:30pm. My only wish is that they had mini fridges in the rooms, oh - and more towel racks. There wasn't a towel rack at all anywhere near the sink. Minor complaints compared with the service and value of the St. Lauren.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizab2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I should preface this by commending the excellent customer service. I have to give a shout out to Vicky, front desk staff, for being very friendly and helpful.
I should also qualify everything by saying that we did book at the very last minute during peak season, and had a hard time finding anything at all for a rate that I would characterize as reasonable.
That being said, this place really fails to deliver value. We paid over 300 for a room with an "ocean view" which turned out to mean several blocks from the water front with an ocean horizon just barely visible beyond surrounding buildings. There was a whirlpool tub as advertised, and the room was spacious, but lacked even the sh1tty motel room basics of a fridge and coffee maker. We attempted to chill our beer in the ice bucket, which was messy and annoying.
In the morning we went downstairs to get our barely acceptable coffee with powdered creamer and complete lack of pastries or any other breakfast items. If you're charging 300 per room you'd think you could spring for a bear claw or two. Overall, I feel gyped. Really, dude? It was a conscious effort not to let the cost of this barely acceptable accommodation ruin our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Apropas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Never having ben to Catalina before, my family wasn't expecting much. Hotel St. Lauren was better than we had hoped! Great room size, quiet, comfortable clean rooms. Staff was especially helpful. The balcony was beyond wonderful with sweeping views and just a great place to recuperate and relax. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishMcMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I agree with many of the less than stellar reviews of the hotel, but am surprised that many gave three circles anyway. This place will take you back to the 80's quickly. There is a mauve, grape and burgundy color scheme that gets tiresome quickly.

The room (510) is small, so there is no room for a bedside table on one side. On the other side is a desk There are three overhead lights and only one lamp. And the obligatory 80's ceiling fan. The bathroom smelled of mildew, with a whiff of ammonia, thus the reason I only gave this hotel two circles. Though the bathroom was clean, the tile was scratched like a five year old had keyed the bathtub. Carpet is indoor/outdoor quality, TV is a 19 inch cathode ray tube. The coffee had powdered creme, no fresh milk. The 'city view' is a wall and windows 15 feet away from another building.

On the plus side, all of the staff that I dealt with are very friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Property: Hotel St. Lauren
Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing