We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, charming Victorian”
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, charming Victorian”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in early January. The weather was superb. The staff here is exemplary. Very helpful and eager to please. The room was more spacious than we expected for an older, Victorian style. The patios offered wonderful views of the harbor and a nice place to relax. They are happy to hold your luggage before and after your stay. Easy location to get to all the sights. We would definitely stay here
again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jhdudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    135
    76
    32
    27
See reviews for
72
155
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I will say it was a place to stay, they were very nice. But other than that, the doors were not clean, which makes me wonder about the rest of the room. There was no drinking water available, only bottles of water for 2 dollars, and only bills accepted. There was no room service, or food in the hotel at all, and the coffee (which was great) was only served from 8 to 10 even though it was the farthest hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank japnote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this review

Hotel St. Lauren guest room doors are painted white. The doors do not have a kick plate at the bottom of the door. Guests as they enter the room either kick the door open to pass their luggage or hold the door open by using their foot and then drag their luggage across the door. The marks are shoe scuff marks and is a constant problem. The Hotel is considering kick plates as a possible remedy to the problem.

Hotel st. Lauren has drinking water is located on the first floor where the ice machine and microwave are located. The vending machines are privately owned. The prices are standard for Avalon.

The Hotel is located in the center of town, a half block from Von’s grocery store. The Hotel does not have a restaurant or room service, like most hotels in Avalon. Most restaurants are located within two blocks from the Hotel.

The Hotel’s coffee service is between 8am and 10am which is standard practice in Avalon.

As always we encourage travelers to read all of our reviews when making their travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My first visit to Catalina Island. It was easy to spot the St Lauren bright pink exterior with white trim. Quite charming from the outside with small patio's and large scenic deck on sixth floor. Small lobby with antique furnishings and pleasant owners. Room was small and basic with few amenities but clean. Road noise could poise a problem if light sleeper

Room Tip: definitely request upper floor away from buy street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel staff was curt, not friendly - kinda like they didn't want us there, weird- (except the night security guy) - the windows in the room only open 2 inches, so we couldnt really look out. the "public" decks were only open at 9am and closed at 9pm - so never a chance to sip coffee in the morning, or have a small gathering at night when you get back - seriously??..........felt like we were prisoners. NEVER GO THERE AGAIN. Unbelievable - that these folks just DO NOT GET IT!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address the above guest comments.

Hotel St. Lauren is a six-story hotel. The windows do not have any screens or protective bars in order to optimize the view through the windows. The windows are restricted to a four inch opening for safety and liability reasons (ie; a local boy fell to his death on prom night at another hotel from a unrestricted window).

The sixth floor patio is closed from 8pm to 9am. The patio has tables and chairs and is large enough for 50 people. Hotel rooms are located on the fifth floor under the patio. The patio is closed for noise during the above hours as a courtesy to the guests occupying those rooms. The patio hours during the week may be extended only if the rooms below are not occupied. A request must be made at the front desk.

The Hotel offers rooms with balconies for guests wishing to sit out early or late and enjoy an unobstructed view.

Our Night Security.states that the guests, a party of four, asked him, after 10pm, if they could move to a larger room. He advised them to make the request at the front desk in the morning and happily answered all their other questions.

The guests had checked in on a Thursday evening at 7:30pm for a two- night stay in a room with a king size bed and a full size futon. Front desk personnel state that the guests never requested a different room or an additional adjacent room. The guests checked out without registering any complaints. Front desk opens at 8am and closes at 10pm.

In the course of their two-day stay, four different employees with nametags worked at the front desk. All front desk employees have been made aware of the comments. It has been made clear that being friendly and welcoming with the guests is our first priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I wasn't sure about this hotel – what to expect. I'm admittedly a bit high maintenance when it comes to hotels, and I'm always a little unsure about non-chain hotels. I never know what to expect.

First reaction to this hotel was from my 5yr old granddaughter. "A pink hotel? My dream come true!" What little girl wouldn't love to stay in a pink hotel? And, each time we returned to the hotel during our visit, she was just as thrilled with it!

I was pleasantly surprised by the room. The furnishings were a tad outdated, yes, but clean and in good shape. And, in keeping with the pink theme, the bathroom floor is pink. Yep, the 5yr old loved that, too!

I cannot begin to describe the view from this hotel's 6th floor patio! "Wow" and “breathtaking” are simply insufficient adjectives. The patio was never crowded, even though we visited on a very busy weekend. We made a point to be on the patio as much as possible, when we were at the hotel.

The St. Lauren is up the hill from the center of all that's going on in Avalon. It's a bit of a walk from the boat dock. Since there are very few cars on the island and golf carts cost a fortune to rent, I assumed taking a taxi would be outrageous. So, we schlepped to the St. Lauren. I later found out that a taxi from the boat dock to the St. Lauren was a $10 trip. Next time, we're taking the taxi!

The staff at this place was friendly and helpful. They willingly provided us with dining recommendations.

The hotel staff told us that, when we checked out, we could have our luggage taken to the boat dock and stored until later in the day, when we were heading home. All this for $4 a bag. We left our bags at the St. Lauren, went about our day on the island and picked up our bags before getting in line to board the boat home that afternoon. The only caveat here is that the baggage service has to be paid for in cash. So, just be sure to hit the ATM before you pick up your bags. Oh, and, yes, they’ll deliver your bags to your hotel, if you want to check in later or just explore before going to the hotel.

I’ve stayed at other hotels on Catalina and this one is much nicer than many, and significantly less expensive. No, there’s no bar or restaurant. And, the amenities are minimal, it’s true. But, did I mention that view?!? :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtlegal0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It was an ok hotel for me and my wife. The location was great since it is close to everything. The hotel though is a little old and needs some upgrades. They had free coffee in the morning but would have been great to have some breakfast. I did not see any pool so I don't think they have one

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlantano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We decided to try this hotel, to be in town and close to the happenings of the JassTrax Festival. I think they need to take some time and really clean this place. A really clean room always makes up for the small size in my book. The front desk personnel were very kind to us on arrival and departure. The lack luster presentation of coffee in the morning is laughable. The location is very good. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#13 of 20 in Avalon
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Property: Hotel St. Lauren
Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing