We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service in good location.”
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Over all it was a very pleasant overnight stay. All of this was very accommodating. We were able store luggage before check in and after and we checked out. Very helpful making reservations and recommendations for restaurants.

The location allowed easy access to downtown and the pier.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel so all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great views on the community balcony, but if you're in a group needing two rooms then just get rooms 501 and 511. Those two rooms have an adjoining deck of their own, which has amazing views of Avalon Bay! Two of my friends, my wife, and I loved this quaint hotel. Easily walkable to the main boardwalk and just far enough from the bar scene to not be noisy. We would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NateLeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Very adequate hotel. Clean and nice bathrooms. Decor is outdated but lovely view from the top deck. Coffee in the morning , but with powdered creamer, yuck. The price was reasonable since it is off season.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed two nights at this very pleasent Victorian Style Hotel. For the price, it was more then extected because of the view. We were on the 6th floor very near the outside deck. Room was large and had plenty of room for our scuba diving gear. The rooms were adequate and comfortable but not elegant or luxirious, but then I did not have that expectation. We were there to dive and not spend time in the room. the location is very accessable. I would have no issue with going back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gonefishing55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had to stay an extra night because our ferry was cancelled due to high winds which was fine by us. They gave us a good rate for the second night and were very helpful, The room was basic but spacious with a partial view of the ocean from the bay window. The best thing was the rooftop patio with a great view overlooking the town and the harbor. We've stayed there twice and would go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank britladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Sara and I tried a few other hotels in Avalon before discovering the St. Lauren about 3 years ago.
Our most recent stay was Jan. 15 - 16, and things are as good as ever. The hotel stands out because of its very attractive Victorian architectural syle, coupled with the fact that it sits part of the way up a hill affording a wonderful view of Avalon bay. One of our favorite things to do after a nice day of diving is to have a bottle of wine (bring your own) while sitting at one of the tables on the sixth floor porch taking in that wonderful view.
The staff is always very friendly and the rooms are clean. Try to get yourself a room on one of the upper flooors as the Avalon golf carts ( which operate all through the town) are less noisy the higher up you are.
Thank you St. Lauren - we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in early January. The weather was superb. The staff here is exemplary. Very helpful and eager to please. The room was more spacious than we expected for an older, Victorian style. The patios offered wonderful views of the harbor and a nice place to relax. They are happy to hold your luggage before and after your stay. Easy location to get to all the sights. We would definitely stay here
again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jhdudas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
#16 of 20 in Avalon
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £106 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing