We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS HOTEL IS SERIOUSLY CREEPY AND SMELLY”
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel St. Lauren
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed 2 August 2010

wow what a terrible experience. this hotel made us despise Catalina Island.
It is so creepy ! I was not expecting 4 Seasons or anything, but for almost $300.00 a night, I wanted a descent Hotel/Room. This makes our local Motel 6 look good.
my complaints are in no particular order 1. room is small 2. room smells like old crap 3. elevators stink 4. hallways stink. 5. the bed is so damn uncomfortable, (mattress is horrible, pillows are cheap and so not comfy, blanket is old and stinky. The staff is so weird and not professional. People, save your $$$, this pink weird stinky hotel, is a waste !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IrinaArin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

I strongly discourage anybody from staying at this hotel. I won't go into the details of a long story, but we had grave concerns about the staff, to the point where we felt threatened, and completely uncomfortable staying at the establishment any longer. The management was defensive, and unconcerned, and refused any refund or remediation for our dissatisfaction. Despite the unwillingness to refund our room fee (which was collected at check-in!), we checked out and walked down the street to find a beach-front hotel with nicer amenities for $85 less a night!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travistea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We visited Catalina Island for the first time and this hotel was beautiful and victorian. The rooms are very spacious and have comfortable beds. They have free coffee in the hallway and the staff is extremely friendly! We were only going to stay one night but decided to stay two! It is a bit of a hike up the mountain but that was part of the fun being in California, visiting from Florida :) Oh the 6th floor offers a panoramic view of the City of Avalon and the Pacific Ocean! We got the room for a discount searching online for only $150 the first night but the 2nd night was higher $250 because it was 7/2nd.
Loved it here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creativetampabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

A quiet hotel with a nice ocean view from the 6th floor patio. Great coffee, but it was only available from 8 to 10 am. Unfortunetly the patio which was a great place to sit in the morning wasn't unlocked until 9:00 am. Tim was eager to make our stay in Catalina memorable. The rooms were nice, but the plastic mattress covers were annoying and kept waking us up. Don't expect updates in an old Victorian house. They have luggage storage that you can leave your things in once you have checkout, this was very convienent and free. The airconditioning worked very well, but if the windows are kept open at night the cool night air is great also. Nice location and great views.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I booked two nights at the Hotel St. Lauren through Priceline. Got a good deal (for Avalon, that is) but had to cancel 10 days ahead of time. The only fee is a $25 cancellation charge. Perhaps the problem other reviewers had was from booking through Expedia? In any case, this fee seems totally fair to me.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank pauljolly65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

This hotel has a nice location: not far from the shore but fare enough from the noisy main street. This was the only positive thing this hotel. It was overpriced significantly. Rooms were small, outdated, linen and towels were dirty. Staff wasn't very friendly and helpful, except one guy who usually had a night shift. The worst thing was that somebody from the staff went through pockets of our leather jackets that were in the closet in our room and has stolen $100. When I mentioned it to the manager at the front desk she replied that it never happened before, basically accusing me of making things up. I regret that I didn't read reviews for this hotel earlier, otherwise I would find out that stealing things was "included" in their services. I filed a complain, but never received any response to it until I called them myself. The answer was that they are not responsible for lost or stolen items in their hotel!!!!!!!!!!!! NEVER STAY there unless you are prepared to say goodbye to your money, jewelry, laptops (there was already such case, read reviews!) and other personal belongings.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonka525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We were pleased with our hotel choice on Catalina Island. Just a short walk away from all of the activity, the Hotel St. Lauren met our most important expectation---cleanliness. It's an older hotel with the quirks that older hotels have, but our stay was very pleasant. We did wish for crisper, nicer linens, and the blanket cover on the pullout was rather shabby and worn. Otherwise we had no complaints. We were impressed with the friendly staff and their willingness to assist us with directions, advice, and a corkscrew. The 6th floor patio was a wonderful place to enjoy the scenery, a book. and a glass of wine.. Our room had a residential view, so we were glad to sit on the patio and watch the sea and other activity.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mima53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Rae
Hotel Mac Rae
#10 of 20 in Avalon
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £85 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing