We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service!”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

All of the staff at Hotel Atwater are professional and courteous. I had many questions and requests. They were very knowledgeable and happy to help. I also appreciated the fresh coffee available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvCatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

We had some Australian friends over for holiday, and wanted to spend a few days in Catalina. July can be busy & pricey, but after searching on the Internet, I decided on two rooms for two nights each. As I recall, we paid about $210.00 for two nights in a king bed. It was quite the bargain, because the Catalina ferry ride (2 per room) was included. Since the ride was usually $70.00 each, it was a savings of $140.00 per room!

The rooms were small, but clean. It was a bit hot (no AC), but the nights were fine. The rooms have been recenty upgraded, which is nice. My wife noticed that the same watercolor print was on 3 of the 4 walls, it was actually cute.

If you are looking for an expensive 5 star hotel, keep looking. If you want location, value, and a clean place to stay in Catalina, then the Hotel Atwater is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rottnestwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I'd like to thank you for the wonderful Family Package Adventure, that included Kayaking, Miniature Golf, Glass Bottom Boat and Movie Tickets at the famous Casino. First time kayaking, big fun, SPENCER WAS THE BOMB!!! he was great directing us on the ocean and he was fun and informative and he dove off this huge rock and we all cheered!!!

At the Hotel Atwater, although the rooms were very small, no room service, no microwave, no small refrigerator, no coffee maker, not even a telephone in the room for emergencies, the bed was clean and we did not see any bugs, thank God!!! Also, I enjoyed walking up the stairs every day and we enjoyed seeing the Ocean from our room. I felt safe.

Juan, at the Reservations desk, was professional, courteous and implemented all requests efficiently and in a timely manner. At the Hotel Atwater, Ashley, at the front desk, was initially not very friendly. She was not happy to be there that day, she said, but the next day, she was friendlier and acknowledged guests in a more positive manner. Also, the front desk personnel should greet everyone entering or passing through the Hotel with a nice greeting and smile, I would appreciate it. I thank you for the coffee and tea provided for guests of the Hotel Atwater. God bless you and all affiliated with Santa Catalina Island.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our Vacation Package with excursions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kreamy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Rooms very small, no air conditioning so window had to be open. You could hear everyones conversation. You could hear talking across the street from children and people drinking at the bar. No phones, no hairdryer. Shower very small like in a camper.
Hostess at the counter wasn't very friendly and didn't even know where our room was. She told us the wrong way and we had to find it ourselfs. Would not stay there again for recommand it to anyone.
Location was perfect. Could walk to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I've stayed at the Hotel Atwater twice now, the rooms are quite nice especially when you consider the price but the thing that really sets this property apart from the others is it's staff they should all be very proud of the high quality customer service they provide. I would like to thank paul and miguel for going way (26 mi) out of their way to solve my problem, totally my fault you guy"s are great!!! Thanks

Room Tip: call the 800 number and book though reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for my birthday! We looked at many hotels on Catalina Island, and they were all pretty expensive, but when we found Hortel Atwater, we thought we would give it a chance, and I am sure glad we did! It was quaint, not old fashioned, and unique because it was built in the 1920's, nice and clean and comfortable, and a great deal for the price! I am sure glad that we did not listen to other reviews of this hotel, and took a chance, because we really enjoyed our stay. We had a third floor view of the water and were even able to leave our windows open all night! We had a fabulous time! :)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twirlgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This was a wonderful stay and I would reccomend it... FYI... the rollaway beds are much comfier then the beds(: great staff... but there are window problems and noisy neighbors at night. not that big of a deal though.Otherwise wonderful.

Room Tip: ones facing the street will be noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolyaypotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £807 - £807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing