We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Historic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Spectacular Historic Hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This 1920s hotel is maintained in tip top condition and is located very conveniently for the Avalon traveler. Avalon is an old get-away for the movie stars of the "talkies" days and you will get a feel for the true nature of the vacation that was enjoyed by Hollywood's earliest film stars. The room we stayed in had a peek-a-view of the ocean and the green pleasure pier and was in amazingly good condition. The room wasn't modern day spacious but certainly had enough room for the roll-away bed we requested, the desk, TV, and in addition the very comfortable king size bed. Due to the age of the hotel there is no elevator, but the clerks help with baggage. There is wireless in the rooms as well. The desk clerks were very helpful at all times and helped us arrange tours of the island, undersea tour, movies, golf, and guided us to some favorite restaurants on the island. The package they offer for $50 includes several tours and is a good value.

Room Tip: Getting a room can be difficult when it is busy. The hotel website showed no vacancy but we finally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    199
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
122
215
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The staff was very welcoming and kind. No serious complaints! The room was plain, but it had comfortable beds and a good air conditioner, the tv was a bit older, but it was still a decent size. I would definately return to this hotel!

Room Tip: If you are planning on taking tours go on visitcatalinaisland.com and you can find packages for free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

I'm not sure what rooms were portrayed in the photos, but ours was NOTHING like these. Room 260; NOTHING on the walls, no curtains, a view of the flat roof, a bathroom that was only functional. All for $160 per night plus tax! We will not be returning to this one. Anyone, give me a good hotel in Avalon for our next visit!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sgoudeseun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, Marketing Department at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
We sincerely apologize for your less than ideal experience at the Hotel Atwater. Our staff strives to provide guests with the best service and atmosphere, and your review will help us to achieve these goals. We will continue to work towards improving the value of this newly renovated hotel and make our guests feel they are getting the service and quality they deserve. Thank you for your review! Hope we can improve your experience next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We thought for the price this place was a good deal. The best part is for $50 extra for a couple you can do all the island activities. This is a huge cost saver and probably more people should know about it. It includes the movie ticket to see the show at the Casino, boat tours, land tours, etc. Great value.

The staff was friendly. The only bad part of the stay was our toilet was clogged pretty much the whole time we were there. Even though I told the staff several times about it no one ever came to fix it. So that was a bummer.

The walls were a little on the thin side but overall fine. The room is clean and the location is great. The hotel has a bit of charm to it as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishish_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, Marketing Department at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review! Our staff strives to provide guests with the best service and atmosphere, and your review will help us to achieve these goals. We appreciate any and all feedback. We apologize for the lack of service in regards to your clogged toilet. We will work on improving our response to guests' problems in the future,so this will not happen again. We are glad you enjoyed Catalina Island and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had a room with 2 queen beds, they were very comfy with high quality sheets. The hotel was quiet and clean, no frills but just wha we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brtsyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I have been going to Catalina for my whole life. I must say the improvements to the Atwater hotel is great! The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I love the new look with the red and gold compared to the old blue they use to have. I know it is an older hotel and has stairs, but it is still one of more more reasonable priced hotels on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelN87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perris, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The room was nicer then I expected it to be, very clean and comfortable. The service was excellent. Sorin and Alex really helped with the questions we had, and offered us a delicious cold lemonade while we waited for our room. It was an excellent experience. I highly recomend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Property: Hotel Atwater
Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing