We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Good Deal”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Oak Hills
1 review
“Perfect Location, Good Deal”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The Location was perfect. We brought our bikes with us on the ferry and so were able to ride to different coves and places to eat. The hotel stored our bikes for us and we had access to them whenever we wanted them. Also, the staff were very helpful with all of our requests. We purchased a package deal (with the help of hotel staff) which included unlimited tours. Since the city of Avalon is very small, the tours allowed us the opportunity to see sites that normally would have been unaccessible to us. The room was small but with so much beauty outside, we did not want to spend time in our room anyway. Perfect for sleeping though. Room was quiet and had an air conditioner.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    199
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
122
215
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We got a great deal and I read about recent renovations, so I was excited to stay at Hotel Atwater. It's right in the heart of Avalon (though very few hotels aren’t walking distance to everything). The lobby was pleasant, the staff was pleasant and the room was fine. It was clean and the bed comfortable. There was an ordinary street view – Atwater didn’t seem to have any rooms with ocean views as far as I could tell. The bathroom was very small and just the bare necessities but they did have shower gel, lotion, etc. The ancient TV we never turned on, and there wasn’t even a house phone in the room. The venetian blinds didn’t block as much light as I would have hoped in the morning sun, but it was quiet enough; we didn’t hear any street or neighbor noise. Most of all, the price was very fair. If you’re going to Catalina to dive, or party, or hike/camp then you will probably appreciate the clean room and comfortable bed (if not the 11am check out time). If you’re looking for a little more luxury or a romantic getaway, then I would recommend going elsewhere. Overall we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Spent this past weekend on Catalina Island and stayed at the Hotel Atwater. Yes it is in the center of Avalon but since you can walk from one end of Avalon to the other in 15 minutes that's not a huge deal. Make sure you understand that it is a 3 story hotel that has no elevator so pack accordingly. A 3-times-per-year business traveler to Avalon we met described the hotel as "funky". What I've learned that means is that the room is only slightly larger than the bed, the shower is a repurposed phone booth (not kidding - if you drop the soap you have to step out and turn around to reach back into the shower to get it), the bathroom is tiny, there is no clock, no phone but a iron and ironing board (in casual California - huh????). Oh, and room cleanliness? Well, it's a concept with fair execution.
If you go with the attitude of "Hey, it's all OK" you'll be fine with the hotel. My wife and I decided NOT to checkout after the 1st night and just go with the back-in-college-living-poor motif of the hotel.
After we got the bill we actually were living poor..............
Fair warning, if you can laugh about it stay at the Hotel Atwater. If you're looking for a hotel with space and amenities you best go elsewhere.

Room Tip: The hotel fitness center is carrying your luggage up and down the stairs so best to ask for a room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Unfortuneately, this venerable hotel has lost ost of its defining historic features. There were hints here and there that it was a pretty nice 1920's-era hotel in its day.

The rooms were austere, but comfortable. I love that the windows open and have screens so you can get fresh air.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

They do have a luggage storage area for arriving and departing stowing of your gear. In the morning there is coffee and teas in the lobby.

If I were to make one suggestion, they should give the lobby back some of its 1920's coziness and character again. Its way too plain now.

Room Tip: Avoid any by the vending machines or by the service elevator - one of ours was (#328) and on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, Marketing Department at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
We apologize that you feel the historic Hotel Atwater has lost some of the 1920s feel. Our staff strives to provide guests with the best service and atmosphere, and your review will help us to achieve these goals. We will work to make our hotel maintain its historic charm. Thank you! Hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I was with my cousin to spend a vacation in Catalina. We were amazed with the location of the hotel, very much in the center of everything. We were greeted by Alex at the front desk. Very polite and helpful to what we need. Very nice lobby and our room was big and with a nice comfy bed. All the staff are friendly and polite., which is important to make your vacation perfect. The place is highly recommended and I will go back when ever given a chance.

Room Tip: Nice room, neat and big comfy bed, very nice lobby, Our room was next to the ice maker but we never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhul_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just returned from a short getaway in Avalon and stayed for the first time at the Hotel Atwater - and what a wonderful surprise. I chose it because their rates are still very reasonable in season and I was not let down. Even though it is old, it is spotless, welcoming and comfortable. The only reason it did not get 5 stars was because of the size of the bathroom - but that is beyond their control since the hotel was built in the 1920s, i believe. Rooms are adequate size, basically furnished but comfy bed and nice linens. And the inside rooms (they open to an open atrium area, not accessible by guests) are the quietest in Avalon. The staff is wonderful - efficient and friendly, especially bellman Mariano - a smile every time I saw him. He went out of his way to make me feel welcome. Even in the off-season, I will not hesitate to return to the Hotel Atwater.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are interior ones - no view but the silence is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cma1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

We were on the island to celebrate our 10th Anniversay, my husband requested an early (Monday) check in. When we arrived at noon we waited a while before helped then told the suite was not ready. We didn't mind as they stated it would be ready right away, so we went to lunch and window shop and returned around 2:30 and told our room was still not ready. So we bought tour tickets and went to do that, by the time we returned about 5:30 (exhausted at this point) we were finally able to check in. The room was a suite and was ok on my scale and on 3rd floor, no elevator though we knew this going in,our bellhop beat us to our door as we were not told which stairs to use. We were told our room had actually been ready much earlier in the day. I don't think I would stay there again nothing about the hotel would make me think of them first other than to recommend a different hotel!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, Marketing Department at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
We sincerely apologize for your less than ideal experience at the Hotel Atwater. Our staff strives to provide guests with the best service and atmosphere, and your review will help us to achieve these goals. We have taken your review into account and will work on streamlining our management process to make sure this won't happen again. Thank you! Hope we can improve your experience next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Property: Hotel Atwater
Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing