We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
San Diego, California
1 review
“SUPER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Me And My Husband Went To A Night, And Stayed A Week.
Well Located, Comfortable, Friendly People, Fair Price.
And Also Very Good Employees.
Congratulations To Management To Keep People Like Alex (From Romaine)
And Juan. They Made Our Little Trip A Huge Success

Room Tip: "the rooms are all upstairs..... some steps to climb!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1EAKER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    199
    77
    24
    16
See reviews for
120
214
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Atwater was recently renovated, but it still charming The people at the front desk were always cheerful and helpful. The room was clean, but small. My favorite part was the bed! It was nice and firm, so I didn't wake up with a back ache, as I often do with old, soft beds in other hotels. There are no ocean views, so you might as well reserve one of the economy rooms with views of the building next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover3135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pooh1972
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Wanted to spend some time and explore Catalina Island, so after looking all over the internet for deals decided to spend the night at Hotel Atwater. They have the unlimited package which comes with unlimited tours and activities. This was perfect for the 3 of us. When we first got to the island we walked over to the hotel since our room wasn't ready they sent us on our first tour keeping our luggage at the hotel. When we got back we got our room. It was a 2 queen bed with pretty linen, very comfortable beds,an old tv (didnt care it still worked perfect), The bathroom was kinda small but ok for 1 person. After taking a nap we decided to go on a second tour. Later that evening we went to the Casino and watched a movie. If paying for all these tours it would have been more then what we payed for the room. Thanks to the staff for all your help with luggage, picking tours, just being down right nice and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooh1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hills
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

The Location was perfect. We brought our bikes with us on the ferry and so were able to ride to different coves and places to eat. The hotel stored our bikes for us and we had access to them whenever we wanted them. Also, the staff were very helpful with all of our requests. We purchased a package deal (with the help of hotel staff) which included unlimited tours. Since the city of Avalon is very small, the tours allowed us the opportunity to see sites that normally would have been unaccessible to us. The room was small but with so much beauty outside, we did not want to spend time in our room anyway. Perfect for sleeping though. Room was quiet and had an air conditioner.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We got a great deal and I read about recent renovations, so I was excited to stay at Hotel Atwater. It's right in the heart of Avalon (though very few hotels aren’t walking distance to everything). The lobby was pleasant, the staff was pleasant and the room was fine. It was clean and the bed comfortable. There was an ordinary street view – Atwater didn’t seem to have any rooms with ocean views as far as I could tell. The bathroom was very small and just the bare necessities but they did have shower gel, lotion, etc. The ancient TV we never turned on, and there wasn’t even a house phone in the room. The venetian blinds didn’t block as much light as I would have hoped in the morning sun, but it was quiet enough; we didn’t hear any street or neighbor noise. Most of all, the price was very fair. If you’re going to Catalina to dive, or party, or hike/camp then you will probably appreciate the clean room and comfortable bed (if not the 11am check out time). If you’re looking for a little more luxury or a romantic getaway, then I would recommend going elsewhere. Overall we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Spent this past weekend on Catalina Island and stayed at the Hotel Atwater. Yes it is in the center of Avalon but since you can walk from one end of Avalon to the other in 15 minutes that's not a huge deal. Make sure you understand that it is a 3 story hotel that has no elevator so pack accordingly. A 3-times-per-year business traveler to Avalon we met described the hotel as "funky". What I've learned that means is that the room is only slightly larger than the bed, the shower is a repurposed phone booth (not kidding - if you drop the soap you have to step out and turn around to reach back into the shower to get it), the bathroom is tiny, there is no clock, no phone but a iron and ironing board (in casual California - huh????). Oh, and room cleanliness? Well, it's a concept with fair execution.
If you go with the attitude of "Hey, it's all OK" you'll be fine with the hotel. My wife and I decided NOT to checkout after the 1st night and just go with the back-in-college-living-poor motif of the hotel.
After we got the bill we actually were living poor..............
Fair warning, if you can laugh about it stay at the Hotel Atwater. If you're looking for a hotel with space and amenities you best go elsewhere.

Room Tip: The hotel fitness center is carrying your luggage up and down the stairs so best to ask for a room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Unfortuneately, this venerable hotel has lost ost of its defining historic features. There were hints here and there that it was a pretty nice 1920's-era hotel in its day.

The rooms were austere, but comfortable. I love that the windows open and have screens so you can get fresh air.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

They do have a luggage storage area for arriving and departing stowing of your gear. In the morning there is coffee and teas in the lobby.

If I were to make one suggestion, they should give the lobby back some of its 1920's coziness and character again. Its way too plain now.

Room Tip: Avoid any by the vending machines or by the service elevator - one of ours was (#328) and on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertWonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, Marketing Department at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
We apologize that you feel the historic Hotel Atwater has lost some of the 1920s feel. Our staff strives to provide guests with the best service and atmosphere, and your review will help us to achieve these goals. We will work to make our hotel maintain its historic charm. Thank you! Hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Property: Hotel Atwater
Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing