We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The Hotel Atwater is the best hotel for several reasons. First off the staff is incredibly helpful and will book reservations for you and make suggestions. Annabelle was the greatest help! Second, my boyfriends phone got stolen out of my purse so Annabelle and one other staff member helped us located the phone and provided great help for about two hours and finally we found the phone. You can't beat the price. We will be Val next year for our new yearly vacation! Thanks hotel Atwater for making our trip amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinaRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Atwater during your visit to Catalina Island. We appreciate your time to share with us your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to share your feedback with my entire team and will recognize them for a job well done. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Visited Catalina for the first time and stayed at Hotel Atwater. Great price and location. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The rooms are small but clean. Only complaint is the wifi wasn't working. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Another visit to Hotel Atwater and they continue to maintain their quality service, cleanliness and value for $$$. Bellman Adam especially went ouf of his way to be helpful and greeted me personally each time he saw me. Although the rooms are small (I book the economy queen), you have everything you need. And, a hint - book an inside room - they are very quiet. Even with the entire band from USC booked there for the 4th of July, there was little noise. It's my #1 summer hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cma1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Atwater during your visit to Catalina Island. We appreciate your time to share with us your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to share your feedback with my entire team and will recognize them for a job well done. Thank you for taking the time to personally acknowledge Adam in contributing to your wonderful experience.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I am at the hotel now! It's a fine hotel clean rooms older building like most places on Avalon. The room is tiny but I think that is just because the building is so old. I think most places in Avalon have small rooms as well. Staff was very friendly and they have coffee in the mornings in the lottery. They have an iron and ironing board in the room but no hair dryer. Also the shower is very small

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garek007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Atwater on your recent visit to Catalina Island. My team and I express our sincerest appreciation for taking the time to share your hotel experience with others on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Atwater.


Sincerely,


Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The staff members are very attentive and friendly especially Katrina K and Adam. The rooms are very clean and the size is just right for a couple. The bathroom is small but it wasnt an issue at all. Everything is walking distance. If you get sea sick there's a pharmacy around the corner. There's places to eat everywhere The package deal comes with great activities that'll keep you busy. They have a storage incase you bring your bike ect.. The only con I could think of, well.. Not really a con because it didn't bother me at all but my girlfriend said the pillows weren't that comfortable, but then again she has a really big head jk lol.. Overall great package deal, awesome staff and I'm definitely coming back :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChitoOrtmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Hotel Atwater has been updated and remodeled since I last stayed there. The hotel was very clean and the beds were so comfortable. Staff were so friendly and helpful. The accommadations were perfect for our visit. Close to the water and boardwalk. I definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Atwater and for taking the time to share your memorable experience of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

It is my pleasure to share your feedback with my team. Thank you once again for recommending our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.


Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My granddaughter and I stayed at the Atwater and had a great experience. The staff is very helpful. We got in at 10:30 a.m. and of course our room check in was 2pm. However they went ahead and got our room ready for us and gave us a call that it was ready within an hour of arrival. The only negative is that the hotel has no elevators and we were on the 3rd floor. The bellman was very helpful taking and retrieving our bags to our room for us. They also arranged for a taxi to pick us up the day wen left. The hotel is rather old and somewhat dated, yet it was clean and the beds comfortable. Over all....Great experience and customer service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sondrali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of your recent stay at the Hotel Atwater on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular, you were delighted with the service provided by my team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Catalina Island.


Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £71 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing