We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Island Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing Island Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Book early for the best deal. Staff is very friendly and ready to help you have a wonderful vacation. I was warmly greeted by the staff. Be prepared to take some stairs. Bell staff will bring your bags to your room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Catalina Island and for sharing about your stay on TripAdvisor. My team will be very happy to hear that you mentioned them in your review. I will let them know that they helped to make your stay memorable.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    199
    78
    24
    16
See reviews for
120
215
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I wasn't expecting much, but the quality of the room was really good for the Catalina hotel rate. We had an upgraded room with larger bathroom. Bed was super comfy. Big flat screen tv. Location was easy. I would definitely stay here again. (room 320)

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade for larger bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCJAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Arrived from Newport Beach at 10 a.m. and was able to check right into our room. The clerk was really friendly, fast and answered all our questions. Room was large with two king beds and a very small but very clean bath. Like the rest of the island, furnishing take you back to an earlier time. Very clean and a great ceiling fan. Coffee available in the lobby too! It was really nice at 11 a.m. check out to be leave our bags at the front desk and pick them up at 4 p.m. at the dock. Good price but be sure to book early.

Room Tip: no ocean view rooms but great location makes up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puffdink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Atwater Hotel on your recent visit to Catalina Island. My team and I were happy to have made your stay memorable and helped you with all of your needs. We very much appreciate your kind words.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the amenities and service at our hotel. We hope that you choose to stay at the Atwater next time you return to the island.

Sincerely,

Nick Papadatos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Location is great, nearly in the middle of the boardwalk. Arriving at the hotel around 9am, we were accommodated right away, didn't have to wait for 3pm to check in. The room itself was nothing fancy. Seems that was the actual approach, to leave some sort of old school vibe for the guests. Rooms were clean and not dusty, no weird smells. No trouble sleeping through the night. Service was great and everyone was pleasant. Personally, I feel the cost was a little high. Although all stays on the island are overpriced, I felt that Hotel Atwater could have been more affordable for what they provide.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were attending a friend's wedding and staying for one night, and as such, this hotel (from a pre-negotiated list and rates) was the most affordable for those on a budget. We had read the reviews, so we were prepared for a lot of stairs and a small room, both of which we encountered.

Because I work hard at being an optimist, I have to believe that the Hotel Atwater is renovating all of their rooms in stages, and the first stage is the bed, which was newer compared to the rest of the room and super super comfy. The TV is still the big boxy model, but what really needs to be upgraded before the TV are the bathrooms. I knew it would be slightly scary, but I was not expecting the threshold between bedroom and bathroom to have protruding metal bits. Not sharp enough to puncture skin, thank goodness, but unpleasant none the less. I did alert the front desk staff, and they were very apologetic and made a note for maintenance.

The front desk staff are very pleasant and make every effort to accommodate you and your needs. They stored our bags when we got there and gave a call when our room was ready (12pm, thank you thank you). And they also stored our bags when we checked out.

A great location, pleasant staff, just please please do something about those bathrooms. Or wear flip flops to the bathroom. That would work too, I imagine. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Writerchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The staff is generally very helpful, but I was very disappointed with the rooms on this visit. The rooms are somewhat small, which was not my issue, but some of the rooms were priced disproportionately high for the additional square footage (maybe 20) they called an upgraded room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A friend and I stayed for two nights in late September. The hotel is obviously older, but you can see it was probably something in it's hey day. There is no elevator, so be prepared to haul your luggage and climb stairs. We had a large room. The bathroom was adequate, but could probably use some updating. We had no problems with anything. No refrigerator or microwave. Half a block to the beach; less than that to the "Tour Plaza" where lots of the tours leave from. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Air conditioned. Slept very well. Actually left windows opened and enjoyed the cool nights. I would stay there again. Wish I'd seen the 3 for 2 deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Property: Hotel Atwater
Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing