We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay on Catalina Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Stay on Catalina Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Atwater is a great place if you want to visit Catalina Island on a budget. They have the most reasonable prices and you will get a fair and comfortable room at a decent price. The issue comes down to the stairs. That is, coming and going. There are no elevators and if you end up on the third floor, it is going to be a great work out, especially carrying your bags.

There are no fancy spreads and the lobby offers water or coffee. But, the staff is friendly and always willing to help you out. The views are roof tops expect for a few rooms, so don’t plan on looking out onto the ocean.

All that said, it is my favorite place and most reasonable on my budget. If you pick this place, you will love it; you just need to be able to go up and down those stairs!

Room Tip: Be specific and ask for a room on the second floor. The first floor is the lobby and with no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMan2xReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    197
    76
    24
    16
See reviews for
118
212
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I spent my birth last june 19, and i can't tell you how wonderful the employees of this hotel are, whoever hired them should be give a bonus, ALL the people who works at that hotel are with out a dough polite, carrying and helpful. I will come back to this hotel every time i go to Catalina.
Thank you.

Room Tip: The third flor have the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Hotel Atwater on your recent trip to Catalina Island. We loved being able to welcome you to the island. My team and I are happy to hear that we helped to make your stay memorable. We can’t wait to see you back in Avalon soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Loved this place all the employees are awesome very helpful close to the beach The only down fall is alot of stairs an no elevator An the shower was very small But coffee in the moring This is a good spot on Catalina island

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I just returned from a 2 days birthday trip to Catalina, where I stayed at the Hotel Atwater. Not only did I get a second floor room as I requested, Morgan at the front desk called me when my room was ready, an hour ahead of the published check in time. I was able to check my luggage at the hotel while I was waiting for my room so didn't have to lug it all over town while I was sightseeing. I had a great night's sleep in a comfortable bed. The TV worked; the Wifi worked, the bathroom was functional, There was water with orange in the lobby in the afternoon, coffee and tea in the morning, The staff was amazing, making reservations for me for tours, pleasant and informative to everyone. I was able to get a late check out (12:00 noon) and not only did they store my luggage, but it was transported to the boat landing for me for just a tip to the attendant. I read the reviews before I made the reservation that there is no elevator or ocean view and the bathrooms are small. That was all true! I was able to see the casino and the water over a roof too, tho! The sparse furniture was Thomasville and the bed linens were stark white and lovely. I could actually open the windows and was reminded of a time when life was easier, softer and followed the era of what I had learned at the casino about the early days. For this time at the Atwater, I was left with feeling like I was treated like an honored guest. 5 stars, I will return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngelLadyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked the Atwater due to availability and location. The price was acceptable due to late booking and we were happy to have a reservation. The staff was friendly, but the hotel was lacking. The common areas of the hotel are entirely carpeted and in need of cleaning or updating. The room and bathroom was average in size, but lacked furniture and only had a table that the tv sat on and one chair. The closet is a rack that hangs on the wall. We asked twice at the front desk for two baggage stands and were told that there were none available. The bath towels had not been replaced from the previous guests and we had to ask for them too. A light switch for the bathroom was non-functioning and the switch that worked was not obvious. Later, miraculously two stands and towels appeared. The room was on the third floor, despite our request had a poor view, and was very noisy from garbage trucks every morning and people on the street. The complimentary wi-fi was non-functioning half of the time due to "too many people using it". The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to everywhere. Go, but be prepared for shortcomings, and don't hesitate to make requests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in one of their smaller rooms, lured by the bargain price. And yes, it was small. It was also clean, bright, and comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location is excellent -- right in the middle of town. We will definitely stay there on our next visit to Catalina.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The staff is very helpful and friendly. They know so much about the island and you can buy tickets for pretty much all the activities in the hotel lobby. The location is great everything's a super short walk away from the hotel and in my opinion prices on just about everything in Avalon are very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xsiparsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Property: Hotel Atwater
Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing