We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petite room centrally located”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We traveled to Catalina for one night to "getaway". We had no intentions on being in the room for very long as we were there to see Catalina. We checked in early, around 2pm and went to our room on the 3rd floor. We did not have many bags so we didn't mind the steps up. The "old" feeling of the hotel played to the atmosphere of Catalina's historic Hollywood vibe.The room was clean, well equipped, and small which did us just fine. We had a slight view of the harbor that we admired through its dirty windows. Overall, we experienced no problems and our stay at the Hotel Atwater was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hapitrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at the Atwater Hotel July 25-27, 2014. The room we reserved was quoted as an "Economy Room", and I would agree with that description. The check in process was slow, and the staff were too busy socializing and joking around among each other to provide efficient customer service. After climbing 2 flights of stairs, as there is no elevator, we arrived at our room. THE CONS: The room was very small as was the bathroom. My husband is 6'4", and had a hard time with the tiny stall shower. The shower head was disgustingly dirty and in dire need of replacement. I had to wipe down the headboard with disinfecting wipes as there was an oily spot where it was obvious someone had been resting their head previous to our stay. I also had to wipe down the bathroom walls as there was some type of splatter on two of the walls. The bathroom door was unable to close all the way as the shower leaks onto the door and it is misshapen and can no longer close properly. The bath towels are tiny, hardly large enough for adults to dry off with properly. There are blinds on the windows and no blackout curtains customary to a hotel room, so be ready to wake up early. There isn't a clock in the room., which is strange. The WIFI was down the entire weekend. When we asked the front desk about it, he just said, "It's down and he had no idea why or when it would be working again." ?? THE PROS: Location! The hotel is right downtown and convenient for walking to the beach and restaurants. The queen size bed was comfortable. There was a large flat screen TV. The room has a small air conditioner that worked well to cool the room down as well as a ceiling fan to circulate the air. The only way I would stay at this hotel again is if the rooms were half the price! We paid $189/night (with taxes and fees). I feel that is way too high for this 2-Star hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and were told that none of the rooms have a view. Our view was of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RLH89Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Arrived from the dock in Avalon, no shuttle service offered, check in is slow. The rooms are in need of painting, yes the paint is peeling off of the wall. Coffee and Danish is offered for breakfast, no Danish. The light above the mirror above the sink, fell from the fixture hitting my head. Not worth the money to stay here and I can't recommend,no way.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We chose this hotel for a weekend birthday getaway, 1st time guest here and will return again and again. The early morning greeting at the front desk from Lark, and Adam started the day out with a upbeat positive atmosphere. Lark pre checked us in said she would call when the room was ready, (which she did)! Lark check all of our planned activities and printed out all the tickets right there at the front desk. due to heavy rains throughout the day, Adam helped make changes to the itinerary and kept us posted if there were any cancellations. All activities went off without a hitch. Ohhhh by the way we were able to check our luggage that morning at the hotel before the room was ready. Diego assisted with the luggage check in. Excellent staff.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms no noise, just stairs...queen size bed is sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cisnerostg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for celebrating your birthday with us at the Hotel Atwater. We loved having you as our guest and thank you for the feedback that you provided on TripAdvisor. I will be sure to pass along to my staff that they helped to make your stay memorable. Please come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

They were so helpful and nice! It made the hotel a great family setting. The hotel is next to the beach with shops all around. The hotel is in a safe environment. There wasn't anything I didn't like about the hotel. The thing that made the hotel so great was the service and location!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel Atwater on your recent trip to Catalina Island. My team and I are happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time in Avalon. I will be sure to pass your comments along to my staff. We hope to see you again soon at the Hotel Atwater.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We chose this hotel for both price and location. The location is great. You are literally a 30 second walk to all the restaurants, bars, shops and coast. The price I didn't think was too bad considering the other options and locations. We were greeted warmly upon arrival. Rooms were not available however we were able to check our bags and head out for the day. They called when the room was ready at about 2:30pm. Check in was smooth and took only a couple of minutes. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a view towards the ocean. The rooms are small. Bed was very comfortable. New flat screen tv. Clean bathroom but again, very small. If you're seeking a big room with a large bathroom, I think you need to look elsewhere. If you don't mind a small room and desire a great location, with a friendly staff, then the Atwater is your hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely consider the Atwater for our next trip to Catalina.

Room Tip: We were in a room which had a view looking out to the ocean. Not a great view, but nevertheless bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel remodel is just lipstick on a pig. New paint and carpet can't fix a bathroom that was almost unusable. There were no locks on the bathroom doors, toilet literally up against the wall, vanity falling apart and don't get me started on the shower. Catalina is overpriced so its no wonder this place is considered a value. The only saving grace is the location. It couldn't be more centrally located. The staff was nice and the bag check was convenient but the stairs. Stairs, stairs and more stairs.

Room Tip: Only book the "Family" guest room if your family is very, very close and bring earplugs fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BLC_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Bryan,

Thank you for your comments about your recent experience at the Hotel Atwater, while I am disappointed to read your feedback, I do thank you. I will be sure to address the bathroom issues with my team right away. I hope that in the future we are able to restore your confidence in the Hotel Atwater. If there is anything else that you would like to let us know about your stay please email us at social@scico.com

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £71 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing