We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value”
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Carson City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed in a corner suite and couldn't have asked for anything nicer. The rooms may have been old, but they were spacious, very clean and quiet. The staff was always pleasant and accommodating. Walking up 3 flights was no problem and allowed me to feel less guilty eating ice cream sundaes each night. Very convenient location within walking distance of everything. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphynv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    205
    84
    25
    16
See reviews for
130
222
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Atwater for two nights and even though the hotel staff was extremely helpful the hotel itself was dirty and in need of a serious renovation. I would definently find something different when we go back.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank matt19447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

The windows and walls are so poor that you could hear conversations of partiers outside cussing all night long. Our 10 x 10 foot room had no AC and a paper thin mattress. No elevator and had to climb 3 flights of stairs. Found out others in our party booked other much nicer hotels for much less money.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennakerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My spouse surprised me for our anniversary and booked the Atwater with a zipline tour. The front desk personnel was friendly and helpful but the hotel is very old and could use further renovations. Overall, I was not impressed but in this case, you get what you pay for. If you value luxury, visit a different hotel. If you are a fan of "charming" you might like it. On the positive side, it would be easy to walk from the Catalina express to the hotel and heading back to the mainland, the hotel offers to transport luggage to the dock so you don't need to carry it around. I would highly recommend ziplining and Restorante Villa Portofino .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK_foodie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burbank
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I've been going to Catalina for over 40 years. I either get a weekly rental or stay at the Atwater. It's not a great hotel, but it gets the job done. Sometimes, it's a little noisy. Sometimes, the AC could be better. But for the price and location, it's superb. I'm going for 3 days this summer, so it's perfect. I've recommended it to friends for years. My sister didn't like it---she's more the upscale type who'll spend $300 or more. Good for her. Funny. We spent the same amount of time on the beach and running around the island and I saved $200 per day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zionmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2010

After speaking with management SCOTT and making him aware of our experience he was more than sorry, he was embarrased at his staff (one person in particular). All I can say is I am very very happy with how SCOTT resolved our problem. Thank you very much for listening to our concerns and taking the time to correct any wrong doing. I told myself I would not let one bad apple ruin my experiences on such a beautifull place. I will be back to Catalina Island absolutely! Stay at the Atwater, very possible! Thank You SCOTT.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOSSMAN760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

The whole trip was great until the lady Karen at the front desk started vein rude. Seems like they have s manager named Scott whine they can never reach and either can I. The rude employees run it. I recommend u steer clear from this Low class hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thachemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Property: Hotel Atwater
Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atwater 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing