We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing but Class”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing but Class”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Snug Harbor Inn on Catalina Island. After completing a 10 day trip and staying at five other hotels throughout California, Snug Harbor was top billing. The service and staff were first class all the way. Breakfast was served in your room and you decide what time. There is wine and cheese served @ 5:00 each day and you have the pleasure of meeting the other guests. With only six rooms, it is a very quiet and enjoyable place to be. They also have a large selection of DVDs to choose from for that late evening movie in bed.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the room choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    44
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
295
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Each year 4 couples kick off the winter holidays somewhere in Southern California. This year (2012) we suggested Catalina and, as hosts, chose Snug Harbor Inn. We could not have asked for a better place for our gathering. The rooms are lovely, the views peaceful, and the staff could not be surpassed. Everyone we dealt with wanted to make our stay perfect. Oh, and did I mention the fantastic breakfast including warm bread baked daily? We had a terrific time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

What an absolutely lovely hotel! The Snug Harbor Inn is charming, classy, friendly, gracious, and immaculately kept by the wonderfully accomodating staff. Front desk Manager Juan could not have been more helpful. The complimentary breakfasts are a treat, the early evening wine and cheese just delightful. We can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: The Santa Catalina room could very well have the best views on the island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newport_X-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Our hosts at the Snug Harbor Inn were all very gracious with their time. If you have the pleasure of staying here, please take the time to talk to them. The breakfasts were always served with a smile. You could choose to set up the breakfast yourself or a hostess would set up the breakfast for you, complete with linens. Having breakfast delivered to us was a real treat. In the evenings, we were treated to wines, cheese, salami, fruit, olives, skewers of tomato/basil/mozzarella. This was our first trip to Catalina - what a gem!! We were able to walk to restaurants (check out Steve's Steakhouse, Portofino, Avalon Grille and Luau Larry's) and walk to the Casino and the Canyon Spa. You will not be disappointed at the Snug Harbor!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Santa Catalina room. This room has the BEST views of Avalon Bay, the Casino, Mt Ada...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiTomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This was our first trip to Catalina Island, (32nd anniversary) and we could not have been more pleased with our suite at Snug Harbor! The service was outstanding and went above what most people would expect. Everything was clean, and very comfortable. The wine & cheese hour was excellent and very nicely presented. We found the continental breakfasts were ample and very tasty.....and more than enough for us!............Thank you for even accomodating us on our early (6am) departure day too! Would stay again (and again, and again!)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We celebrated our 31st anniversary at this charming hotel we loved everything about it. We have stayed at other hotels and we wanted somewhere closer to the center of town. This is the place, Their complementary breakfast was great, some mornings we only opted for the delicious coffee and went out for pancakes. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penngrove, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We just love this place! Have visited the island several time in the past 18 months and have found this to be the best! The rooms are wonderful--charming, comfortable, and each unique. Every room has a nice view and the fireplace is fabulous. One of the best amenities is that there are only 6 rooms and thus very quiet and private! The staff is very helpful and accommodating and we are always appreciative of the extra effort Alex makes to assist with our requests or needs. Morning breakfast is beautifully presented in a large basket and we thoroughly enjoy the fresh baked bread, granola, fruit, juice and yogurt. A perfect way to start the day. In the evening, the staff sets out wine and some lovely snacks to enjoy before strolling out for dinner. Our first stay there was only for 1 night but we've since decided that we enjoy our visits so much that we now book 2 or 3 nights whenever possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Property: Snug Harbor Inn
Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing