We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I do not care for bed and breakfasts; however, if the Snug Harbor Inn is one, I will make this an exception. The staff were exceptional, catering to virtually anything we requested. The "happy hour" is very good, where they offered white and red wines with cheeses, nuts, dips, crackers, etc. The breakfasts were delivered to our room, with hot fruit breads served with yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, and other breakfast items. If you go to Catalina, you must stay here. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zooladyLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Snug Harbor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

5 stars all around for the Snug Harbor Inn--- excellent location on Catalina Island with extra amenities galore. Complementary wine tasting and snacks, breakfast service in the morning--- we were pampered from the moment we arrived! The staff was attentive to every need and it made for a very relaxing stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraSt84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This small, intimate, and very quaint hotel has it all, I highly recommend it. The rooms though small in square footage are elegantly decorated with fireplace and very nicely updated bathroom. The wine tasting was a nice free perk.. The included breakfast was healthy and served in a very nice basket. The staff was very helpful and the bed was turned back for us with fresh chocolate. This was my girlfriend's birthday and they gave her balloons and a bottle of champagne all very romantic. We stayed in the Santa Barbara room which had a casino view and was quiet at the same time. The only negative is hotel is on the second floor, up long stairs and has no elevator so be forewarned. All in all a great value on the main drag in the middle of Avalon

Room Tip: Birthday package includes free transportation for birthday guest on Avalon Express, champagne and ba...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdskyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Love everything about this place, from the cozy and very clean rooms to the friendly and most accomodating staff.Will definitely go back and recommend to those who want to visit Catalina Island.To the nice and wonderful staff, thank you!We definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janus1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This place is hands down, one of the best inns on the island. Clean and quaint and of course, snug. Wine and light snacks at 5pm were super good and simple. Tomatoes, feta cheese, basil and balsamic was a easy but delicious accessory to the free wine. Having that helped us save some money since we got a little something to eat and nicely buzzed, me and my girlfriend shared each meal after we went out and spent less money by not buying more drinks. The breakfast is simplistic, yet filling with granola, bread and fruit. The room we stayed in was a bit cramped but you don't need to stay inside all day. The television was very nice with high def plasma screens and they had ESPN which was the only channel I needed. They had a decent DVD/bluray collection that was complimentary if you wanted to stay in or relax after a fun filled day. Booking a package is one of the cheapest routes you can take which saves you some extra cash on round trip boat rides. A great experience for a first ti e Catalina visit. It is next to some local places in the area and one downside were other crazy tourists yelling outside at midnight at this place called the ChiChi Club...don't know what's in there... But great experience none the less.

Room Tip: There's only 6 rooms in the whole place and all are very nice.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I dont know where to start. Ever since I got back from staying at the Snug Harbor Inn I havent shut up about this place to all my friends and anyone who I can grab to talk to about it. My boyfriend and I arrived early for our 2 night stay at SHI and we were so happy to find out that our room was ready. it was raining a little bit outside and our parasailing excursion was cancelled. BUT that did not matter at all because our room was so amazing that we didnt mind staying in and lounging in it. We stayed in the Santa Cruz room, small and cozy room but thats all we needed. We surprised to have a Jacuzzi Tub in our room! it was Phenomenal!! We also had a HUGE plasma tv and had all of our favorite channels. We were there to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday and upon arrival (since I booked the birthday package) there was a bottle of champagne and a cute note card saying Happy Birthday. The hospitality at this place was truly incredible. I've never felt so at home and taken care of. ALSO how can i forget the wonderful daily breakfast that they set up in your room. If you're in Catalina and want an amazing place to stay, this is it. Honestly, my boyfriend and I love traveling and this is by far one of the best, if not the best, bed and breakfast we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BrendaZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is a great hidden pleasure in Avalon close to everything. Outstanding place to enjoy your spouse! Great staff! You do have a few stairs to climb, so pack lite. Great breakfast for two plus wine to start the evening.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. We had a tour of each, so call staff. They are very helpful.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £103 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing