We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snuggled Up!”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
silicon valley, ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snuggled Up!”
Reviewed 4 January 2009

My wife and I booked tickets at the traditional New Year's Eve party at the Avalon Casino on Catalina Island and wanted a romantic hotel nearby. The Snug Harbor Inn was the perfect answer. The hotel is a second floor facility facing Avalon Bay and our room had a wonderful view of the marina and the Casino. The decor of the hotel was nautical, and everything from the lounge (fireplace and cozy overstuffed furniture) to the rooms (our was painted with a beach motif) was immaculately clean--sparkling. The staff was friendly and responsive to any need. A wonderful healthy breakfast was served to us in the room each morning (hot baked breads, yoghurt, fresh fruits, granola, juice, coffee) and we lounged at the serving table eating and looking at the view. We plan on going back again, and again!

  • Liked — Decor and staff attentiveness
  • Disliked — Two flights of stairs to lobby--no elevator
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhallelujah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
298
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2008

This inn is located right in the heart of Avalon yet when you enter you are whisk away to a quiet, peaceful retreat. Wonderful service, great breakfast (which is included), an hour long wine tasting in the afternoon which usually went on for longer. The rooms are incredibly clean and well appointed. We had a mavelous four day stay and it could not have been more perfect.

Thank you Snug Harbor for a lovely time.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank erttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Overall a very pleasant stay, but I must tell you that this hotel is across the street from The Chi Chi Club (bar/pool tables/music & dancing. Although you don't hear any noise from 7PM-12AM but when the crowds start spillling out between 12AM-2AM they congregate outside the club & are VERY noisy. We stayed in the Santa Cruz room which is on this side of the hotel (Sumner)so we were not able to leave our windows open all night, however I think even if we were on the front side (Cresent) you would still be able to hear the noise.This my friends, is why the hotel leaves little earplugs on the nightstands. With windows closed it was a little better. Not the hotel's fault though,it was very quiet IN the hotel day & night.They say it's better in the off season. There are 6 rooms & all but 2 are on this side of the hotel. So now the good part. This was a very clean, & well kept hotel. Rooms are very small but cozy with some nice touches,slippers,robes,sleeping masks,& a sound machine so you can listen to ocean,wilderness,whales,whatever. We were celebrating a birthday so they had a bottle of chilled wine in the room when we checked in. The staff was very pleasant. They have a wine & cheese hour from 5-6PM in a quaint little room kind of like a living/family room with wet bar. 2 types of cheeses, crackers, italian salami & a couple of spreads/dips. The breakfast is served to your room in a nice basket with yogurt, a small loaf of bread (we had blueberry) cereal,milk,juice,fresh fruit & coffee. This is plenty of food. It would have been better if you could pick the choices instead of them bringing all of this food to you because I'm sure a lot of it goes to waste. The only thing you pick is the time you want it brought to you & unless you like to eat late,which we dont, you need to check in early because you may not get to eat until 9:30 or later. The earlier you check in the earlier breakfast times are available. This hotel is pretty much smack in the middle of town so you are close to everything. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel stay out weighed the noise across the street. The rooms look exactly like they do on the website & in the brochures.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing about the accommodation just the noise across the street
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, Ca
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2008

After looking over many of the hotels on Catalina Island I chose Snug Harbor for my Honeymoon because from the pictures online it looked much nicer than most of the other hotels on the island. There are only about 6 total rooms at the hotel, so it really is like an Inn rather than a hotel. My husband and I stayed in the San Clemente Room. It was nice but smaller than I had expected. They must take the pictures they show online from the hallway outside the room because they appear larger online. Our room was right across the hallway from the check in desk which was a little strange since we were on our honeymoon and all but it turned out fine, and we weren't bothered by noise in the hallway. They bring free breakfast to the room in the morning at the time of your choice between 8 and 10am. They serve small cups of granola cereal, yogurt, small fruit cups, a loaf of delicious bread, orange juice and coffee. They provide robes, slippers and eye covers and ear plugs for sleeping. They also have free wine, cheese and cracker every evening in the Nantucket Lounge. The room was clean and comfortable. The shower and jacuzzi tub were wonderful. Although it was more than we wanted to spend on a room it proved to be a nice place.

  • Liked — It was quiet and located upstairs above shops. All guests had a key that unlocked the main door after hours so there was no one wondering around who wasn't a guest. It was also comfortable and homey.
  • Disliked — The man on the phone when I made the reservation. He acted as if I was bothering him with my phone call. When I'm paying over $300 a night for a room I would expect to be treated better.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luvtovacation2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Cal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2008

Snug Harbor was very cute, somewhat like a bed and breakfast. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Santa Cruz room, which is much smaller than it appears in the picture, but still nice. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. They allowed us to check in 3 hours early. The wine and cheese in the evening is a nice touch. You may be in the lounge alone or with other guests. So, as long as you have good company, you should enjoy wine (which I thought was very good). They have DVD's to check out for free if you want to watch a movie. The breakfast setup is very nice as well. The staff comes into your room with a table cloth and sets up the breakfast basket. Includes bread, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee/tea. It's a nice light breakfast. We really enjoyed the place and felt well rested. Would definitely recommend to others!

  • Liked — Small Inn, nice staff, wine hour
  • Disliked — room was small & AC made a lot of noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifi0078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORANGE COUNTY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We loved it! The Snug Harbor Inn is a lovely and cute place to stay. The decor is cape code style, very well decorated (fresh white daisies lovely). The rooms are like a master suite. The details are just GREAT from his and her sleepers and robes, earplugs, eye mask for sleeping, and bathroom amenities. They offer an inclusive basket breakfast that is delivered every morning to your suite. The basket breakfast comes filled with yummy items such as raisin granola cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, cold milk, choice of drink, and DELICIOUS loaf of bread decorated with a white orchid (varies each day...carrot bread...blueberry bread). In addition, the Snug Harbor offers from 5P-6P in their cozy lounge complimentary cheeses, olives, dips (spinach and crab), fine crackers, peanuts mix, salami, and wines (something to look forward). We stayed in the San Nicolas Suite and the view was PERFECT. The beach and the Casino was picture perfect. The sounds of the waves were very soothing. It is right in the center of the action so the noise of the crowds and special events easily come through the walls and windows. It was not bothersome to us but they do offer the complimentary earplugs, which we didn't use. We loved the easy access to all shops and restaurants. Snug Harbor Inn will be were we stay again.

  • Liked — The small details that made our stay unforgettable.
  • Disliked — None, I did recommend to Snug Harbor adding mini refrigerators to the suites though.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DD31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PS
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2008

As a Grandmother of a 14 yr old granddaughter, who would have thought she would want to spend 3 whole days alone with this little old lady. I booked the whole thing online with a 2 night stay and the tour that went with it. I have to admit i was a little anxious at first not knowing what this little "Inn" would have to offer. But when we got there and into the room, the excitement just poured out of both of us. The room was decorated delightfully with a King size bed and fireplace in front of it. The TV in the armoure was extremely convenient but the bathroom was the best of all !!!
The whole bathroom was tiled and extremely well lite, with the magnified mirror extending from the wall. But the bathtub was the best... The jet jacuzzi was aimed to relax every sore muscle i could have acquired from all the snokeling and golf carting we did. And on top of all that, they brought to us the best complimentary breakfast you could ask for. Blueberry or Lemonpoppy loaf, OJ, milk, coffee, tea, cereal, yogurt, granola, fresh berries and fruit, bottles of water with an ice bucket. Maid service everyday. There are only 6 rooms in this inn which also made me feel extremely safe and there was staff there for any need we might have had. I spoke to a few other people who were staying on the island and came to the conclusion that i had DEFINITELY made the right choice in places to stay. As far as i'm concerned... This will always be the place i will stay every time i go to Catalina. Thank you Snug Harbor for making our 3 day stay something my granddaughter and I will remember for the rest of our lives. Signed... Grandma Elena

  • Liked — Snug Harbor was the BEST all around
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsGrandmaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Property: Snug Harbor Inn
Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing