We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Room, Friendly Staff and Delightful Breakfast.”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Beautiful Room, Friendly Staff and Delightful Breakfast.”
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed in the gorgeous San Clemente room and If our window didn't face a rockin night club it would have been a near perfect stay. We had to laugh when we realized the purpose of the complimentary ear plugs and white noise machine on the nightstand. It was a saturday night and I didn't research the exact location of the hotel so laughter rather than complaining was in order. Loved the fireplace, the tub, the sweet breakfast and all the wonderful touches that a fine establishment brings.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsystick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    46
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
299
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Snug Harbor Inn last weekend for our 4th anniversary. We took the Catalina Express Ferry from Downtown Long Beach (there are three ferry departing locations close together and it is a little confusing on the website, so make sure you know where you are going!). When we got off the boat we were a little confused about where to go since this was our first time on the island. It would have been nice if they had explained this a little when we made reservations. We took of walking, just rolling our luggage down the street and found the Inn right on the main waterfront street. Note: there is no elevator, only a staircase up to the second floor where this little 6 room inn is located above shops and restaurants.

Our room was Santa Catalina room, the largest room, with a lovely bench seat and a bay window over looking the harbor. It was cozy and had all the comforts (robes, slippers, fresh flowers, an amazing bed and extra pillows). We peeked in some of the smaller rooms on our last day and they looked roomy enough too.

At 5pm each night, the hotel hosts wine and cheese for the guests. We enjoyed meeting some of the other people we were staying with and getting a few restaurant recs. They also had sparkling cider which was nice for the non-drinkers.

Breakfast in the morning is brought to your room. It was THE best "continental breakfasts" I've ever had! A fresh warm baked loaf of bread (we got lemon poppy seed and a spice cake), yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, milk, juice, and coffee all brought in a lovely basket.

Service was very good upon check in and check out. However, when I tried to call the front desk in the middle of the day to get an internet code for wireless (my computer showed "SNUGWIFI", no one ever answered and there was no information about internet in the room.

The best part about this inn is that it is unique, all the rooms have personality, and the location - you can walk anywhere in Avalon very easily. The beach and harbor is just a few steps away. The worst thing might also be the location. We were there during the off-season and we still heard all the people at the bars below for several hours as we were trying to go to sleep. The hotel provides ear plugs... and we used them.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSunBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon/ Catalina Island
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We loved our room! Everything is modern and clean. The fireplace set the mood which is so appropriate for a place as romantic as Avalon. We also really enjoyed the over-sized tub with jacuzzi jets. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the slippers and robes were a nice touch! Breakfast delivered to our door was a great delight to eat at our in room table near the bay windows. When we notified the front desk that we would be checking out before our scheduled breakfast delivery time (earlier than any associates arrive for work), they packed a bag on non-perishable items for us the night before for us to enjoy in the morning.
We stayed in the San Clemente Room, one of the lesser expensive rooms and it was perfect! I saw no need for an upgrade.
The only downside was the noise at night coming from the night club across the street. I'm assuming all of the hotels in Avalon have this similar problem since it's such a quaint town with everything so close together. There were earplugs in the room, which helped.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacay227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Charming and lovely. My husband and I enjoyed it very much. It can be loud sometimes at night at high season but, no biggie. Highly suggested.

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vizmerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2010

My wife and I just returned from a last minute getaway in Avalon. As neither of us had ever been to the island, though California natives, we were having a difficult time deciding on where to stay. We decided to go with the snug harbor based on their exceptional staff answering our questions on the phone along with the nice pics on their site. Well upon arrival we were floored by the charm and attention to detail at the inn. We were granted an upgrade to their ocean front room, the Santa Catalina suite, it was low season. Yey! However all the rooms are just as perfect with the only exception being that some of the rooms offer more of a partial ocean view. These rooms are also really nice though, because they look down on a quaint courtyard style street. Great for people watching and you still get a harbor view. All the rooms have very deep jacuzzi tubs. The staff is fantastic. They make you feel really special. I don't want to write one of those two page reviews but seriously I could with this place. It's fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jncwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2010

This was my second visit to Catalina Island; therefore, I wanted my stay to be carefree. Well, the customer service was impeccable...the clerks explained every aspect of my stay. The day of arrival, we received a welcome card, complimentary wine and cheese, a personal tour of the room, and very helpful, knowledgeable concierge service as well. We appreciated the thoughtful touches and innovative services throughout our stay. I totally recommend this hotel to loving couples, because the cozy and personable ambiance enhances any romantic mood.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenturaZesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdybirdcars
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We stayed on Catalina Island as the end part of our California trip. The room is very romantic with a fireplace, great view (San Nicolas room) but soooo tiny!! They are charging a bit much for the size. The location is central as well, right on the crowded busy front streets. Not a place to stay if you want lots of quiet and privacy. Breakfast served in room is this cute little basket, and wine and cheese served in the lounge every evening. All was perfect, except for lacking in room to put luggage when in room. Bathroom has no counter space, the jacuzzi tub is nice.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdybirdcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Property: Snug Harbor Inn
Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing