We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snuggled Up at Snug Harbor”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2010

In reading a review of a hotel, you would probably want to know if the review writers were friends of the owners of the hotel. We are indeed happy friends of the owners.

That being said, Avalon Catalina is a great place to visit even if you’re camping, but the Snug Harbor Inn’s refinements with Jacuzzi tubs, art prints, large flat screen TV’s, complimentary in-room breakfast, bathroom telephones, and afternoon wine and hors d’oeuvres, put the Inn on par with the best in Pebble Beach, San Francisco, and Las Vegas.

The Snug Harbor Inn is upstairs on the corner of where much of the action in Avalon happens. Facing one side is blue Avalon Harbor with white yachts and the Casino, and facing the other is a honky-tonk bar that on weekend nights could keep you awake if you don’t close your windows and turn on the A/C. We slept great though with the windows open and heard only the lapping waves breaking on the shore of the harbor.

Regardless of our friendship with the owners, for a trip to Catalina we’d love to stay at the Snug Harbor Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

We returned to the Snug Harbor Inn this past weekend for the Avalon Ball at the Casino. This was our second stay at the Inn, and it far exceeded our expectations. Not only did the friendly and helpful staff remember us, but Yvonne at the front desk welcomed us back and remembered how we liked the banana bread for the daily continental breakfast. The Inn boasts new flat-panel televisions with Direct TV - very nice. Daily breakfast is a bowl of granola, milk, juice, hot bread (as stated, banana is our favorite), coffee, yogurt, and fruit cups. Very filling and tasty. At five o'clock in the afternoon they put out cheese and wine in their parlor. We sampled both the white and reds, and had friendly conversations with other couples staying at the Inn and also attending the ball. It's always a pleasure to stay at the Snug Harbor Inn. One word of caution, though: it is up two flights of stairs - there is no elevator or bell services. Some have complained about the noise from the Chi Chi Club across the street, but the sounds have never bothered us. I think only very light sleepers would be disturbed by the noise. We live under the landing pattern of LAX, so a nightclub in full swing doesn't bother us in the least. We can't wait to return to the Snug Harbor Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebellcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2010

The Snug Harbor Inn is located right on the main street on Catalina Island. The service is great, all employees were friendly and helpful, and the continential breakfast is awesome! My husband and I could never finish all the food that was brought to us! Also, the wine and cheese service at night is great! On the negative side, the rooms are VERY small as are the bathrooms. And we felt that the online description of "partial ocean view" was a little exagerrated. I wouldn't call it partial even, as you literally had to poke your head out the window and crook it to one side to get a glimpse of the ocean. There is a club right across the street from the Inn, and the ONLY room which does not face the club is the Santa Catalina Suite, so all other rooms will have some noise at night unless you keep your windows closed. The room was also very warm, and we could only lower the thermostat to 69 degrees, which is still pretty warm. We would only stay here again if the price were cheaper, since I don't think the rooms are worth what they cost.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanicaRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed in the gorgeous San Clemente room and If our window didn't face a rockin night club it would have been a near perfect stay. We had to laugh when we realized the purpose of the complimentary ear plugs and white noise machine on the nightstand. It was a saturday night and I didn't research the exact location of the hotel so laughter rather than complaining was in order. Loved the fireplace, the tub, the sweet breakfast and all the wonderful touches that a fine establishment brings.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsystick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Snug Harbor Inn last weekend for our 4th anniversary. We took the Catalina Express Ferry from Downtown Long Beach (there are three ferry departing locations close together and it is a little confusing on the website, so make sure you know where you are going!). When we got off the boat we were a little confused about where to go since this was our first time on the island. It would have been nice if they had explained this a little when we made reservations. We took of walking, just rolling our luggage down the street and found the Inn right on the main waterfront street. Note: there is no elevator, only a staircase up to the second floor where this little 6 room inn is located above shops and restaurants.

Our room was Santa Catalina room, the largest room, with a lovely bench seat and a bay window over looking the harbor. It was cozy and had all the comforts (robes, slippers, fresh flowers, an amazing bed and extra pillows). We peeked in some of the smaller rooms on our last day and they looked roomy enough too.

At 5pm each night, the hotel hosts wine and cheese for the guests. We enjoyed meeting some of the other people we were staying with and getting a few restaurant recs. They also had sparkling cider which was nice for the non-drinkers.

Breakfast in the morning is brought to your room. It was THE best "continental breakfasts" I've ever had! A fresh warm baked loaf of bread (we got lemon poppy seed and a spice cake), yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, milk, juice, and coffee all brought in a lovely basket.

Service was very good upon check in and check out. However, when I tried to call the front desk in the middle of the day to get an internet code for wireless (my computer showed "SNUGWIFI", no one ever answered and there was no information about internet in the room.

The best part about this inn is that it is unique, all the rooms have personality, and the location - you can walk anywhere in Avalon very easily. The beach and harbor is just a few steps away. The worst thing might also be the location. We were there during the off-season and we still heard all the people at the bars below for several hours as we were trying to go to sleep. The hotel provides ear plugs... and we used them.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSunBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We loved our room! Everything is modern and clean. The fireplace set the mood which is so appropriate for a place as romantic as Avalon. We also really enjoyed the over-sized tub with jacuzzi jets. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the slippers and robes were a nice touch! Breakfast delivered to our door was a great delight to eat at our in room table near the bay windows. When we notified the front desk that we would be checking out before our scheduled breakfast delivery time (earlier than any associates arrive for work), they packed a bag on non-perishable items for us the night before for us to enjoy in the morning.
We stayed in the San Clemente Room, one of the lesser expensive rooms and it was perfect! I saw no need for an upgrade.
The only downside was the noise at night coming from the night club across the street. I'm assuming all of the hotels in Avalon have this similar problem since it's such a quaint town with everything so close together. There were earplugs in the room, which helped.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacay227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

Charming and lovely. My husband and I enjoyed it very much. It can be loud sometimes at night at high season but, no biggie. Highly suggested.

Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank vizmerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £105 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing