We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming find in Catalina”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We found this hotel after much searching on the internet. While it seemed pricey initially, they offered a fall "special" where ferry transportation to and from Catalina was included. It became a steal at the package price! The room was small but decorated very nicely, the Inn has charm and class, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They even served wine and cheese in the late afternoon, and the included breakfast was superb. One caution, on busy nights it may be a bit noisy from party-going types in the street and our room was located just off the main street where all the "action" is in the evenings when the town is full. There were ear plugs offered in our room!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_CornerBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Snug Harbor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary with a trip to Catalina and we stayed in the Anacapa room at Snug Harbor Inn. We couldn't have picked a better place! The room was clean, comfy, and cozy. One of the many great amenities was the wine and cheese in the Nantucket Lounge. Not only was it wine and cheese, but a great combination of crackers, nuts, spreads and the mini caprese were delicious! The continental breakfast exceeded our expectations. The breakfast was a fresh baked mini blueberry loaf, granola cereal with fresh berries, yogurt, coffee, and orange juice. The location was great and only about a 5 minute walk from the port. I have already recommended Snug Harbor Inn to friends and family and we will definitely be visiting and staying here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tovar102800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a 4-night stay at Snug Harbor during the JazzTrax festival. We splurged for the ocean view San Nicolas room, and loved overlooking the harbor. Although this room doesn't have a spare inch of space, we wouldn't have traded the view (ours may have been the smallest room in the inn). The continental breakfast was generous - a 6" loaf of fresh baked fruit bread, granola, fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, juice & coffee. The wine & cheese each night from 5-6p was equally wonderful. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Because this inn sits directly on the main street of Avalon, there was some night-time street noise. However, in total anticipation of their guests' needs, the inn provides a sleep mask and ear plugs. Even during the jazz festival, I only needed ear plugs one night. For the convenient location, hospitable staff, and comfortable decor, I would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Santa Barbara Suite Friday and Saturday nights, to attend the Womens Forum Wine and Food event. Hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. Room rates are a tad higher than some other properties in the same class on the island, but worth it in my opinion. Wine and appetizer offering 5-6pm was very satisfying, with quality cheeses, salami, seafood dip, and 3 wines, served in the cozy Nantucket Room. Charming company on both nights, British couple Friday, and local LA couple Saturday made for a pleasant interlude. Roomwise, the a/c was very effective, cooling down the warm room within minutes. Some may complain the room is small, but if so, they have apparently never been in a European boutique hotel. Other reviews have made complaints regarding the night club across the street, but we experienced no issues with this, hearing no musical or otherwise offensive noise from same. The street concert on Crescent Ave. Saturday night was another matter, what with your basic garage band playing at ear splitting amplification levels. We returned to our room a little after 8PM, and even inside, it was outrageously loud. Fortunately, this ceased at 9:15PM. It would have been nice to have been prewarned of this at booking time, but whatever. The only other noise issue is the jacuzzi tub in the adjoining suite. When in use, it sounds about like a Cessna ready for takeoff. Fortunately, this too, was not long in duration. But as pointed out by others, the hotel provides earplugs and an artificial sound machine. Snug Harbor provides a perfectly adequate breakfast, with granola, fresh fruit, fruit yogurt, juice, and a nice sized freshly baked loaf of fruit or nut bread, all delivered in suite at your time of choice. Bottled water is provided on arrival only, this should be a daily amenity. An in-room refrigerator would also be appreciated. The hotel's location is ideal, just steps from many restaurants, 1/2 block from the land tour hub, and 2 blocks from the pier, for water activities. Lack of an elevator is an obvious detriment for some, there are 28 stairsteps to be traversed. Overall, this is a very comfortable lodging, ideal for the traveler who does not mind paying more for quality accomodations.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaClaritaWinedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We normally stay, and prefer, Vista Del Mar, which is owned by the same company, but they were full. The room was clean, tastefully decorated, very conveniently located.
We noticed ear plugs on the night stands so we figured some noise was possible and since we have been to Catalina many times we knew the "night life" could be an issue. In all fairness it wasn't a problem. By 11 pm the partyers below our window were gone and we had an uneventful evening. We especially liked the wine & cheese platters in the afternoon. We would stay there again if VDM is full. Front desk staff was VERY nice and helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROGER M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Stayed at this B&B for three days and two nights. Rooms are a little small but very clean, warm and cozy. Great location. A litlle bit of street noise but that's what you'll get with any hotel in the area with great location. Staff was very good. When I had a minor problem during check-in (late in cleaning the room) the staff gave me a free bottle of wine. The bed was very comfortable. Definitely worth the value. The breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese set up was done very well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGT30076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

In reading a review of a hotel, you would probably want to know if the review writers were friends of the owners of the hotel. We are indeed happy friends of the owners.

That being said, Avalon Catalina is a great place to visit even if you’re camping, but the Snug Harbor Inn’s refinements with Jacuzzi tubs, art prints, large flat screen TV’s, complimentary in-room breakfast, bathroom telephones, and afternoon wine and hors d’oeuvres, put the Inn on par with the best in Pebble Beach, San Francisco, and Las Vegas.

The Snug Harbor Inn is upstairs on the corner of where much of the action in Avalon happens. Facing one side is blue Avalon Harbor with white yachts and the Casino, and facing the other is a honky-tonk bar that on weekend nights could keep you awake if you don’t close your windows and turn on the A/C. We slept great though with the windows open and heard only the lapping waves breaking on the shore of the harbor.

Regardless of our friendship with the owners, for a trip to Catalina we’d love to stay at the Snug Harbor Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £103 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing