We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Would go back!”
Review of Snug Harbor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We absolutely loved the Snug Harbor Inn. We stayed in the Santa Barbara room, with a nice partial view of the ocean (just as advertised for that room). Because occupancy was short that night, the wine and cheese platters that are normally served in the guest lounge were delivered straight to our door.
Breakfast was also delivered straight to our door at our desired hour.
Umbrellas were available for us to use, which was VERY necessary and wonderful.

Small things to note:
It is worth noting that you must climb two flights of stairs to get there. It was no problem for us, but could be for others.
It also would have been nice to have some games or cards available in the lounge, as it was quite rainy during our trip.
During the day, only instant coffee was available, none brewed. There were plenty of teas, ciders, and hot chocolates to choose from.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwaggoner07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Snug Harbor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

First off let me say, I have done a lot of traveling and the service at Snug Harbor is TOP notch. Jesse and Donna are very kind and warm hearted and do their best to make your stay a pleasent one. I took my mom here for her 60th birthday and was so glad I choose Snug Harbor. It is a very small charming and cozy hotel. We had booked the Santa Barbara room which was more then we were expecting. I LOVED the room even though we did not have a full ocean view we were surprised at the view we did have, it was great and we were still able to see the ocean from the bay windows. The hotel itself is again very small but thats what makes it such a great experience. Wine and cheese were served in the evening, but since we were there during off season there were only a few guest staying, so they brought us our wine and etc., to our room and set it up while we were out, which made it a nice surprise when we returned back to our room. In the morning they delivered our breakfast and once again set it up for us. The breakfast was GREAT the poppyseed bread was YUMMY you also get fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffee and juices more then enough to get your day started. This is truly one of the BEST B&B i have had the pleasure to stay at.. If you are a little confussed at where to stay at on Catalina Island I promise you can't go wrong staying here. I have stayed at more then a few different hotels in Avalon and in my opinion none match up with Snug. So with out a doubt I will be returning to Snug again and again... Also just wanted to thank Jesse and Donna again for all they do and for making our stay an amazing one!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newfielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Visited with my wife on December. Room was very nice and very clean. I brought my own network computer and when I checked in, the front desk automatically gave me log in password. I have stayed in Anacapa Room, at night it was noisy for there was a bar on other side and drunk people was also noisy outside until 2am in the morning. This was out of season so I could imagine how bad it would be in the peak season.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HolidaysLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

This week my husband and I went to Catalina for one night to celebrate his birthday and we LOVED the Snug Harbor Inn. We stayed in the San Nicholas room which we highly recommend. They had a fabulous wine and appetizer plate brought to your room to eat while we overlooked the whole bay, and they did the same with your breakfast in the AM. The place is literally smack in the middle of the main road so you can walk either way super easily. We went in the off season so it was dead quiet but I could see how if you went in the middle of summer it might be a bit noisy because it is right above the beach but, for us, it was perfect. The customer service was excellent, and every detail of the room was clean and welcoming. We would definitely go back here again and highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theonlymrswalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed in the San Nicolas. The view of the harbor was fantastic. The room was very tastefully decorated in a nautical theme and the bed was very comfortable. The room is smaller than we thought based on the photos. The king-size bed takes up most of the space in the room. Other than that, it was very cozy and the fireplace is a nice addition. Also, the evening happy hour was fantastic. In the lounge, they had a variety of red/white wines with hors d'oevres such as different cheeses, fruit, dips, crackers, salami, etc. Also, the staff was very nice and hospitable.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Snug Harbor Inn was absolutely amazing and JESSI at the front desk was so sweet and genuine and just down right good at his job. We traveled with my boyfriend and his parents in from the east coast.. We stayed in the ANACAPA ROOM and the SAN CLEMENTE ROOM. They were both beautiful, clean, cozy and loved the fireplace because it was quite chilly out. The wine and cheese at night and the beautiful breakfast in the morning was just an added plus to this wonderful place. I would recommend 100%!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeeter1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Rooms were beautiful, staff were excellent, quality was very good including b'fast & wine reception. Staff were the best part.....curteous, very helpful, very discreet!

I will stay here every time I come to Catalina and recommend it to everyone I know!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allen696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Inn

Address: 108 Sumner Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £103 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Harbor Inn is located in the heart of Avalon and just steps from the beach overlooking the ocean. Each room includes: ocean views, deep soak jetted tub, continental breakfast served to your room, wine and hors d'oeuvres each evening, king size bed with goose down comforter and pillows, high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, HDTV, DirecTV, complimentary Blu-Ray / DVD library for use on your Blu-Ray / DVD Player, fireplace, turn-down service, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, complimentary slippers, air conditioning, in-room safe, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Hotel Avalon
Snug Harbor Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing