We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalina Boat House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Avalon
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Avalon Hotel(Avalon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Catalina Island Inn(Avalon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
37
47
28
17
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
47
28
17
22
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

You can definitely find better hotels: paper thin walls, suites with a king size bed... and a twin size bed, fridges that don't work, no phones in the rooms (or at least in my room) and whirlpool controls caked with mildew.
BUT
Stellar service and their suites have whirlpool jet tubs in the bathroom that accommodate two with ease. Big flat screen television in the room, and plenty of cooking accessories that were pretty clean. I can not emphasize enough how helpful the staff was there and their suggestions made the great, even though the room was less so.
I had purchased a package that included two nights, transportation to and from the island, museum tickets, a movie, botanical garden tickets, bicycle rental, and mini-golf. The package was absolutely worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beverand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed here 3rd weekend in Oct for the Jazz Festival. Just a short walk from the Casino where all the performances are. Its is uphill, but we were glad for that. We were eating like we were on vacation. We stayed in room C. Second floor in the back with a nice private balcony area with chaise lounges and a table with an umbrella. Nice partial veiw to the ocean. We were also dissapointed that the BBQ was out of commission because of the construction of the downstairs patio. We were planning on that to help reduce our eating out costs uniformly a little high anywhere on the island. Nice kitchenette ...fridge, coffee maker, stove, sink, microwave with kitchen utensils. Maya made a special trip to bring us a corkscrew. The sister hotel is a block away and there is a direct line at the front door if you need anything. The bathroom was very nice, and the spa jetted tub soothed our muscles each night after all our hiking and walking. The bed was fine, we are just spoiled from the memory foam one we have at home. Its quiet there, nice to sit out side. You hear birds, not just people and golf carts. We will come again.

Room Tip: Its hard from the websites. If you go, take the time to check out the other types of lodging. They are glad to show you around.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WishIwasthere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

It is a little hike up a steep incline but doable. The room was small and the bed a little on the hard side but it was very cute. We did not test out the spa tub. We were a little disappointed with the construction going on in the patio outside our room # 1 and therefore not being able to use their bbq and patio. Inner doors leading to adjoining rooms could use deadbolts. Maya was great in holding our bags until our room was ready. She also booked out extreme east end tour which was awesome. It had AC which I used but was awaken every hour to turn the dial for another hour it was frustrating. For a one night stay it was adequately priced at $235 with tax compared to other higher priced lodgings. We originally requested their value room $135 but the premium room was the only available.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Of course the rooms are on the small side, they are some of the least expensive on the island. The rooms are clean, the deck is a nice place to check the partial bay view. Some don't like the little hike up the hill to the hotel. It keeps the riff-raff from marching by all night. I've stayed at some of the other hotels in the center of town on the flat land, and have had good and bad experiences. We traveled with two small kids and would return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The beach house was a clean and cozy place to stay for our first trip to Catalina. perfect place for couples on a budget, our room had a sink, stove and mini fridge so if needed you could save a few bucks preparing dinner in the room. had a nice flatscreen in the room with free cable but the majority of our time spent there was just for sleeping and it served its purpose. the hotel is a bit far from the catalina express drop off so wear some comfy shoes. don't let the steep hill scare you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dveitch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews