We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inland motor tour destination”
Review of Airport in the Sky

Airport in the Sky
Book In Advance
More Info
US$124.00*
and up
Catalina Island Cape Canyon Expedition
Ranked #5 of 55 things to do in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Airport in the Sky occupies a 1,602-foot-tall mountaintop at the center of the Catalina Island, 10 miles from the city of Avalon. It's a great destination by tour or shuttle bus, bicycle, on foot whether hiking the Trans Catalina Trail or walking over from Black Jack, or of course, via private or chartered small plane. Its single 3,250-foot-long runway was constructed by blasting and leveling two adjacent peaks, then using the resulting debris to fill in the gaps.The image is of a T-34 Beechcraft that flew in to participate in one of the Airport in the Sky's monthly Aeroclub Fly-In Days.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Inland motor tour destination”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It's an interesting motor trip to the Airport including breathtaking views from the ridge and potential buffalo and fox sightings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    122
    53
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food with a view”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Had a great sandwich one day and a fabulous cookie on another day. We made this a destination one day to see more of the island and this was a great place to hang out for awhile. There is a gift shop, great views, an interpretive area about the island. There's a easy trail around the airport, but we were cut off my several Bison. Very memorable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FSRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“GREat view and food”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great views and the food at the cafe was excellent.....gotta have a cookie too!!! The best tuna melt ever!!! Worth a trip to the top.....great views on the way too!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Catalina Airport”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very interesting place in the middle of now were. Good COOKIES. Good place to pickup those refrigerator magnets.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hatgeekkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“What a Cool Airport”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We arrived at the Airport in the Sky via our Skyline Tour. It was a nice break point from our bus tour of the island. This respite abides atop a mountain with an airstrip mostly for small planes, but I overheard someone say they actually flew a DC10 there, too. There's a small nature center there and a very nice shop there where you can get snacks or sandwiches or gifts. There is a nice small café setting overlooking the mountains where it is nice to eat lunch or sip your coffee and relax. I wish we had more than 30 minutes to stay, but our tour had to continue on. Very nice airport. I love the original hanger built in 1913 I believe. Make this a stop on your tour if you can.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Airport in the Sky also viewed

 

Been to Airport in the Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing