We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great takeaway”
Review of Cafe Metropole

Cafe Metropole
Ranked #17 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great takeaway”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were referred to this place by our hotel (Portofino) for a light lunch that we could takeaway to the hotel's sun deck. Nice selection of sandwiches and salads (a bit diverse with spicing and mixing of ingredients- not the same boring stuff!). Good for vegetarians (Falafel sandwich was very good)

They have a patio seating area that looked large and comfortable - but we went for a better view on the sun deck!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    26
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“So good we ate lunch there two days in a row!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Rarely do we ever go back to any restaurant twice, especially not for lunch. Cafe Metropole offers such a good variety of healthy AND tasty lunch selections that we ate lunch there two days in a row.
The cafe is on Metropole and easy to find (look for the line-up) just off the main street (Crescent) of Avalon Harbor. There is a single door in to order at the counter then you can go out the other door and sit in the courtyard and the staff will bring out your order.
The drinks are self-serve from the fridge with a good variety kept cold and refreshing for your enjoyment.
We have to recommend any place we go back to, so try the Cafe and see if you go back too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dive_ability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We tried this restaurant for lunch and it was excellent. I had the California Cobb Salad and it was great. So fresh! I also had a really good strawberry/banana smoothy. My husband had the Caprese Sandwich. He enjoyed that as well. This is a great place for a quick bite to eat and is a great alternative to the greasy food found near the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Becgreenwood12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Healthy, delicious treasure”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wonderful healthy meals including vegan choices. This small, quiet cafe has both indoor and outdoor seating. Want something a little different from the menu and the owner will accommodate you. Great lunch stop!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maralan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent organic quality”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Hard to find, fresh, organic, healthier food on Catalina. Felt like most places were beer and fried food crowd. This place was fresh, tasty all around nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Metropole also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Cafe Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing