We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AUROWHATTT!!!! SUPER AWESOME!!!”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We get to the hotel and we first see the doors open automatically, and we're like, wow! Its not that we haven't seen doors open automatically, its just being on Catalina Island its a huge thing to us. We are then greeted by cool humor, kind, generous employees of AUROWHATTT!!! They are really sweet and nice and the best part they upgraded us to a great ocean view suite. I had a cake delivered to our room by JULIOS BAKERY and the front desk gave us plates, forks, and cake cutter so we can enjoy my girls B-day cake. All around great style and great clean rooms. THANK YOU Aurora hotel employees. You made our experience memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here a few days for our honeymoon. The Aurora Hotel is not a bed and breakfast by traditional standards, but more a b&b style hotel. They have laptops, GPSrs, and binoculars for guests to borrow. We borrowed a laptop during our stay so we could watch stuff on Netflix, and they had no problem letting us hold onto it for our entire stay. The breakfast consists of bagels, toast, pastries, cereal, orange juice, fruit, oatmeal, coffee, and yogurt. There is a rooftop balcony with a nice view that you can use at your leisure.

We stayed in a standard ocean-view room. It's a little small (I think under 200 square feet) but designed very well. Everything is there and accessible in the room including memory foam bed, microwave, mini-fridge, Kuerig coffee maker (very cool), comfy robes, dimming lights, thermostat, flatscreen TV, DVD player, and bathroom. There is definitely not room for more than two people. The room is more suited for romantic couples as the bathroom door is made of sliding opaque glass and does not lock.

Be aware that the hotel is up a bit of a hill. That was no problem for us since we're young and we preferred having a hotel that was up and away from the noise of busy street. It also makes for fantastic views both during the day and at night.

The Innkeeper was very helpful; I called to book a room and he helped answer my questions and helped me pick a room that was suited to us. He explained that the room we picked had a very nice balcony, even though the website didn't list it had one.

We're both very satisfied with our stay at the Aurora hotel.

Room Tip: Call and ask which rooms have a balcony; they don't list all of them on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank name332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

If you are looking for a stylish place with nice accomodations in Avalon, this is your place. The chic decor and friendly staff are welcoming. Rooms are a tad small, but larger than a European style room. Small kitchenette offers a Kuereg style coffee maker with multiple choices, a refrigerator, and a microwave. Tempur-Pedic mattresses are nice if you like that style. The shower is a smidge small, but workable.

There is a fantastic rooftop area perfect for wine with a great view of Avalan bay.
Wine and cheese reception on Friday night was a nice touch.

The staff were very helpful and assisted with dinner and tour choices.
One thing though, this is a little bit of a hike from the Catalina Flyer landing. It isn't bad until the last 80 yards uphill. Fine for me and my teenagers, but if you're out of shape, take your time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheParrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during the Jazz Festival weekend - we had some much fun on that gorgeous rooftop and met so many new friends - it was amazing. The staff, James Blunt 007.5 was awesome and Melissa and all the other staff were great as well. We've already booked our room for next year's event along with our new found friends we met at the hotel. Our room was beautiful - the view was to die for. I highly recommend this hotel - loved it!!!!!

Room Tip: room 213 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poohpooh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Aurora Hotel this past weekend and had a very nice stay. We walked to the hotel right after getting off the ferry with the intention of dropping off our bags and exploring the area until check in time. A note about the walk - my husband and I are both active people and spent the entire weekend on foot. The walk is not far and we did not perceive the hill to be problematic, as others have noted. We arrived at the hotel around noon and were pleasantly greeted by Melissa, who was wonderful throughout our stay. We were thrilled to find out that we received a free upgrade to a partial ocean view room and that it was ready! She offered us help with our baggage and walked us up to the room. We stayed in room 211. The room was small, but comfortable. The room had some minor wear and tear (scuffed furniture, worn desk chair, peeling paint and rust around the bathroom window), but was very clean. Like other reviewers have said, the bathroom does not provide much for sound privacy due to the sliding glass doors. In general, the walls of the hotel are thin - we could hear the conversation of those in the next room and in the hallways, but it was quiet while we slept, so it didn't bother us. The continental breakfast and Keurig coffee were nice and we especially enjoyed the wine and cheese event on Friday evening. We loved the rooftop deck! Overall, we'd stay there again. Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKLG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

You heard it right- the day my group was leaving, while running our bags down to the dock for departure, a case disappeared from the lobby. That morning, a number of construction workers came through to eat at the breakfast spread in the lobby, which I thought was kind of unusual for a nice hotel. So, keep a sharp eye on your stuff. The hotel room was great. The bay side view is beautiful. There's a residence adjacent to the balconies, and you can hear all the drama of their daily lives. It's like a reality show of a wedding planner. Some might be put off, but I thought it was great! It gave the place a dose of much-needed character. Despite the theft, I would stay here again, as long as I had a nice view of the bay from my room. Staff is really nice, the property is in excellent shape and there's a rooftop lounge that can't be beat.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you, ask for a bay-side room, which may cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My wife and I were guests at the Aurora hotel during the JazzTrax Festival; the third weekend of October, 2012. James Blunt, our inkeeper, and Angela were absolutely fantastic. They met our every need, no matter how big or small with nothing but enthusiam each time, which made our stay more than wonderful. Our stay in jr suite, room 218 included a jacuzzi tub, eating/sitting area, keurig coffee maker-very roomy. Even though our room did not have a view we did not miss anything; the roof top lounge had an absolutely gorgeous view and we found ourselves up there relaxing with a glass of wine and conversating with newly met friends. The Aurora is located a up a steep hill so if you don't like walking we would suggest the Avalon. We already made our reservation for next year; just a note it is worth the extra money for the Jr Suite-218 no view & 210 partial view. Thanks, again, James & Angela-see you next year.
Raymond & Debbie Jones

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at Aurora Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Glad to hear you had a great time and that you've already made your reservations for next year. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £116 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, embraces guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. Our junior suites feature in-room jetted tubs and for the ultimate in luxury, our Aurora Suite features a fireplace, ocean-view six-head shower and a private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing