We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up the Hill” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Up the Hill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

First of hotel personnel are very nice and helpful. This hotel is located at the top of a very steep hill so if you have trouble walking this is not your best choice to stay. Secondly like most hotels on CataIina Island no elevators so you will be climbing stairs. The rooms are very small and the bathroom tiny. I mean real tiny and shower is not very large at all. The bathroom is a one person room without a doubt.
During our stay it was decided to work on the sewer system so the toilet water turned brown and had a very strong odor. After discussing with the front desk we were transferred to their other hotel the Avalon.
For what we paid and the size of the room and location on top of a steep hill I think we would prefer a different location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoyle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    76
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
177
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We recently stayed at Aurora Hotel and, while our room was indeed small, it was very clean and modern and perfect for just my husband and I. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful form the get go. They also offered hotel guests complimentary wine and cheese on the deck, which has a beautiful view I might add, and we happened to have the whole deck to ourselves! I'm still not sure why no other guest took advantage of the space with the gorgeous view and free wine that evening, but it was that way the entire weekend, our own private deck. I really have nothing but good things to say about the service and the friendliness of the employees there. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view! The opposite side overlooks an empty dirt lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I did a two day one night stay at this hotel at the end of the 2013 season, day after labor day. My husband, and another couple were very surprised how wonderful our stay was. While the hotel itself is not the biggest size, (Your on an island) every amenity was considered in the rooms while not wasting an inch of space.

The SPA service was one of the best we have ever had, the front desk was willing to work with us while we had our massage on the day of our departure and the staff of the hotel were amazing and helpful. From Champagne glasses on the outdoor patio to a ride up the hill on a late night this hotel surprised us at every turn with their smiles, great attitude and keen eye for service. After two days and a single night I could not believe how relaxed I felt, for the little break in reality the Aurora provided.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeramy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

First of all Catalina Island is so much fun. My husband and I stayed for three nights in August at the Aurora Inn. The staff was amazing and the hotel was so cute and modern. The rooftop deck was a great place to relax with a great view. we had a small balcony off our room with an ocean view. Being up the hill was nice because it was very quiet at night but walking up the hill was another story that we still laugh about. It really proved to us that we need to exercise more. LOL All in all the Aurora Hotel is a great place to stay and I would recommend it. Thanks Aurora for a great weekend.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 213 with a balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights to celebrate our 25 th wedding anniversary. We had never been to Catalina before and loved it. The Aurora was very nice, loved the modern decor. The beds were very comfortable and even tho the rooms are small, it was perfect for us. The outdoor deck was wonderful to have a drink and watch the sunset over the harbor. We even had an ocean view from our room. The staff was more than accommodating. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and the hotel is on a hill, so it might be difficult for some people to get up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winelover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I were here for a night and absolutely loved this gem. The room was georgeous along with the roof top deck to relax and have a bitle of champagne. Michelle was exellant with suggestions of what to do for the day, from kayaking and where to rent at to the electric bikes instead of renting a golf cart. They made great suggestions and even made us reservations for a birthday dinner. A shout out to Rich also for excellent help.
2 recommendations

1: descanso Brch club before 10am has a half day kayak rental for $78. This includes a double kayak, two wetsuits, set of two snorkel gear,ice chest, dry bag for 4 hours. Great deal considering the kayak for 2 hours is $58.

2: rent the electric bikes, they do all of what the golf cart can do with little to no effort. They even pass the golf carts up the massive hills.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRocknSUZEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the lovely Aurora Hotel. This stylish modern boutique hotel won us over from the start. Richard and Diana were wonderful to work with on booking - and since we booked two weeks out from our trip, finding accommodations was not easy as the town was quite booked up this time of year. Richard was kind and quick to help with reservation, taxi transfer and even with room choice. We brought our mountain bikes along for the trip and Richard had a place to keep them secure overnight. Plus for our anniversary, a nice bottle of Prosecco on ice to help us celebrate! (BTW - the hotel bottle prices are very reasonable if you wish to purchase, only $20 for the bottle)
The Aurora is located on the north side of the small town, excellent proximity to the Descanso beach club and the casino. It is located about 500 yards up on the hillside and its a simple 5 minute walk to everything in the main area and the plaza. The lobby is a sleek and modern design with a hearty continental breakfast served from 7 to 1030 which includes yummy hard boiled eggs, baked goods, healthy cereal options and a very nice coffee bar - much appreciation for the extended service time!
The rooftop patio is charming, well appointed and has a great view of the entire town, marina and ocean. Grab your breakfast and head up there to greet the day.

The complaints here about the room being too bright seems a bit petty to me - the window into the bathroom is 4 foot by 3 food frosted glass of the reef life - its a nice room divider and the rest of the room stays quite dark. The second floor rooms have some views of the harbor and certainly the 3rd floor does. Plus the roof top is mostly private if you want to sit and look at the unobstructed view - but really, you are in Catalina, get out of your room and go BE part of the view and enjoy it !!

For the price, location and amenities, its a great deal.

Room Tip: We had room 210 - was excellent partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMenke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, embraces guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. Our junior suites feature in-room jetted tubs and for the ultimate in luxury, our Aurora Suite features a fireplace, ocean-view six-head shower and a private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing