We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I made a reservation after reviewing the reviews on Trip Advisor. I attended the jazz festival. The Aurora sits on a hill so you will get a good work out. Richard and Ramiro were Very Helpful. The room was small, modern and clean. the only thing that was missing was a tub. The room had everything you could need. There outdoor patio view is Awesome! I love Catalina, I have already made reservations to return to the hotel next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallas77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    78
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
184
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is the best hotel for price in all of avalon. The staff are friendlier than most hotels anywhere. The rooms are small but perfect size for a couple or a single traveller. Continental breakfast was above and beyond most at any other hotel and the true gem of this hotel is the rooftop patio which overlooks the city/bay. This will be the only place I will stay when visiting catalina.

Room Tip: Any room has a good view but some have views of the bay. Choose these if you can. You won't regr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was my first trip to Catalina and I loved every minute of it! The hotel Aurora is located on a steep little hill, so yes if you have trouble walking it may not be the best choice, if however, you are able, this little hill is not going to phase you!
Once at the hotel we found the staff to be super friendly and helpful, this continued throughout our 4 day stay. The view from the roof top was lovely and the fact that the hotel is located off the main street allowed us to sleep with our windows open it was so quiet.
The rooms and bathrooms are quite small but adequate and the little extra touches like the Keurig coffee/tea makers, refrigerators, robes, beach bags/towels and comfy beds in the rooms made up for the lack of a "wee bit" extra space.
My one complaint would be that I felt the bed linens and towels were a little "tired and worn", and I would expect a hotel like this one to replace these as soon as they begin to get tattered and certainly when they get holes in them!
That said I would certainly go back to the Aurora and look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Choose an Ocean View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We went to Catalina Midweek in the middle of August. We usually sail over for a week or two and just could not get away for that much time this year. We hopped a quick ferry from Dana Point (included with the package from the hotel), Hopped into a waiting taxi at the dock (also included in the package), and within 2 hours of leaving the mainland, we were in our room! Someone had not checked in the day before, so we were upgraded to a Jr.Suite at no charge for a night as long as we didn't mind switching rooms the next day (of course not!). Early the next morning, but not too early we indulged in the complimentary light breakfast, moved rooms and began the rest of our 3 day stay. The single rooms are cozy but we had a nice harbor view, and we weren't in Catalina to spend our time in the room. We spent every day on the beach, and made use of the complimentary beach bag and towels. We spent some time on the deck and like others, we were alone, drinking wine watching the boats in the harbor. My wife loved the spa treatment, the staff was awesome, and when we left we were relaxed, refreshed, and ready to leave the island to the weekend crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

First of hotel personnel are very nice and helpful. This hotel is located at the top of a very steep hill so if you have trouble walking this is not your best choice to stay. Secondly like most hotels on CataIina Island no elevators so you will be climbing stairs. The rooms are very small and the bathroom tiny. I mean real tiny and shower is not very large at all. The bathroom is a one person room without a doubt.
During our stay it was decided to work on the sewer system so the toilet water turned brown and had a very strong odor. After discussing with the front desk we were transferred to their other hotel the Avalon.
For what we paid and the size of the room and location on top of a steep hill I think we would prefer a different location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoyle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We recently stayed at Aurora Hotel and, while our room was indeed small, it was very clean and modern and perfect for just my husband and I. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful form the get go. They also offered hotel guests complimentary wine and cheese on the deck, which has a beautiful view I might add, and we happened to have the whole deck to ourselves! I'm still not sure why no other guest took advantage of the space with the gorgeous view and free wine that evening, but it was that way the entire weekend, our own private deck. I really have nothing but good things to say about the service and the friendliness of the employees there. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view! The opposite side overlooks an empty dirt lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I did a two day one night stay at this hotel at the end of the 2013 season, day after labor day. My husband, and another couple were very surprised how wonderful our stay was. While the hotel itself is not the biggest size, (Your on an island) every amenity was considered in the rooms while not wasting an inch of space.

The SPA service was one of the best we have ever had, the front desk was willing to work with us while we had our massage on the day of our departure and the staff of the hotel were amazing and helpful. From Champagne glasses on the outdoor patio to a ride up the hill on a late night this hotel surprised us at every turn with their smiles, great attitude and keen eye for service. After two days and a single night I could not believe how relaxed I felt, for the little break in reality the Aurora provided.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeramy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, embraces guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. Our junior suites feature in-room jetted tubs and for the ultimate in luxury, our Aurora Suite features a fireplace, ocean-view six-head shower and a private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing