We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed there over this Memorial Day Weekend. Staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. Rooms are on the small side but were modern and the beds were awesome! Very comfortable.
We would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had room 311 which is listed as a partial ocean view room. It had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    88
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
216
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great anniversary stay! The hotel is very clean and the service is 1st Class. We enjoyed the Friday evening wine & cheese plus the morning breakfast. Only a block from the beach and perfect location. The rooftop deck has a wonderful view and is a great place to re-charge after enjoying the day in Avalon. Easy walk (with luggage) from the dock. Price is a little more than some other Catalina hotels but definitely worth it. Room was beautiful and the bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever had at a hotel. Great Job Hotel Aurora!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Short version: The stay was amazing and we will definitely visit the same place over and over again ! One of the best hotels ever visited.

Long version: Me and my wife visited Catalina Island and chose to stay at the Aurora Hotel. Due to our short visit, we stayed there for 2 days & 1 night. While we reached there, we were so impressed that we immediately knew that we should have stayed here atleast for 2 nights.

When I start putting the pro & con list, the Pro list dominates the Cons hands down. However, I do want to highlight the minor cons - to make sure future visitors do understand them to avoid any disappointment. (don't worry those are really minor)

Pros:
We stayed in partial ocean view room, however we realized that irrespective of the view from the room, their rooftop patio (which is open all the time with great seating arrangements) has an excellent & uninterrupted view of the ocean. They even encourage the guests to take the breakfast tray to the patio so we can enjoy the view along with the morning coffee.

The location of the hotel itself is great. Centrally located and close to the main street restaurants and pubs. Its also walkable from the golf cart rental place and the Casino.

All the staff is great and so courteous. Richard, Ellen and Melissa were so amazing that they made our stay so warm. They have an open staff culture, so they are no bosses which is rare to see in the hotel business.

Finally, they also offered some of the usual services like - they agreed to hold our luggage till the evening after we had checked out. Their rooms provided all the latest amenities like Keurig coffee maker and complimentary water etc...

Cons:
a. While the hotel itself is in a walkable distance from the Catalina Express ferry landing, there is about a 100ft steep uphill towards the end of the walk to the hotel. We had a bit of a luggage so it was a little problematic for us. If you have quite some luggage, you can easily overcome this by booking a cab from the Ferry Landing area. The hotel is hardly a mile away from the landing, so it shouldn't cost as much.

b. The Room is quite small in size. However, that also makes its biggest pro. The interior decoration for this place is simply amazing. As small as the room is, it is decorated so beautifully that it has everything you need and with enough space in it. Truly - best utilization of the space !

All in all, this is a fantastic place to stay and enjoy your vacation in Catalina Island.

Hope you find this information useful.

Room Tip: Ocean-view rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mahesh r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel about a week ago and fell in love with it. The location is great and so is the view from the rooftop terrace. The rooms were cute and modern. We had a "room with no view" but there was still a view of the hills and condos behind the hotel. The Saturday we were supposed to leave we ended up getting stuck on the island due to high Gale force winds. Ellen assisted us in changing our arrangements and was incredibly friendly, helpful, cheerful, and nice! She was able to call the other hotel we had reservations for that night and get us out of those, changed our dinner reservations that we'd had that night, and did everything she could to make our extended stay as enjoyable as possible. A++++ for service!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel with ocean views in a few of the rooms, plus a fabulous rooftop deck. They have Tempurpedic beds; I would have given a 5, but I am not a fan of these beds, but if you are, you will surely enjoy sleeping here. The rooms are a little small, but since you don't spend much time in the room, it wasn't an issue for us. We stayed in room 322.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Not only is this the best hotel in Catalina but the service and hospitality was amazing Richard and Ellen made sure my stay at the Suite was memorable and they made sure when I needed to extend my stay that everything was covered! Thanks again Richard and Ellen

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here in room 313 for a couple of nights. The welcome was good and the staff great. The room was small, but had a lovely balcony with a super view. The bathroom, however, was minute! If you are a larger person, you might struggle. It's just a shower room with a tiny sink and a toilet. Nowhere to put anything. We put our toothbrushes etc. on the cistern. It was nice to be able to get tea/coffee whenever you wanted it. There was bottled water in the fridge as well.
The rooftop patio is excellent and we would recommend it highly, as we would the breakfast which was really good with a wide variety of things to eat.
The hotel itself is 1/2mile from where the ferry docks. We walked and if we hadn't gone the wrong way, it would have been perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britsonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Property: Aurora Hotel
Address: 137 Marilla Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Cloud 7 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Hotel and Spa, Avalon's newest boutique hotel, embraces guests with sleek style and modern sensibilities. The Aurora Hotel on Catalina Island features 15 rooms, two junior suites and a master suite. A roof-top deck with sweeping ocean views, a decadent spa room and a cosmopolitan lobby provide an array of public areas for relaxing and reconnecting. Guest rooms feature Tempurpedic mattresses, flat screen televisions and modern amenities. Our junior suites feature in-room jetted tubs and for the ultimate in luxury, our Aurora Suite features a fireplace, ocean-view six-head shower and a private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing