We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach bungalow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Paloma Cottages Las Flores
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We just got back from a few days at La Paloma Las Flores, family of 3. Stayed in Cottage #4. We loved the place! The place has lots of character, perfect for a family trip. We specifically booked the cottage because it had a kitchen so we could eat in some nights. The location can't be beat, 2 blocks or so to the beach in Avalon Bay and the main street with shops and restaurants on Crescent Ave, but hidden away on a side street so you don't hear the noisy golf carts. There's a Vons supermarket down the street from La Paloma so you can pick up groceries and anything else you need for your trip. They have 2 barbeque grills setup for you to use, lots of outdoor seating in small alcoves here and there throughout the complex. It really is a beautiful place to hangout. The cottages are older, but they had newer rooms in the Las Flores section and the upper apartments have a view. They have free wifi, but we planned to unplug this vacation so we didn't need to use it. My Sprint phone had fine reception in this area, no phone in the room.

The cottage is basic, we didn't spend a lot of time indoors so it was more than enough. One double bed and 2 trundles. The kitchen had stove, oven, large sink, dishes, plates, and eating utensils, and a small fridge. The bathroom is separate from the shower stall. i can see it might get a little chilly in the winter, but in the summer it felt cool and comfortable. The day we checked-out they kept our bags for us until it was time to board the ferry. They every have showers and bathroom outside that we could've used if we had gone swimming that day.

The staff here are excellent folks. Esther at the front was very helpful and friendly. Tony was great, up and about from early morning until night, wonderful smile and a friendly hello every time he sees you.

Next visit to Catalina we'll book at La Paloma again, maybe one of the larger rooms just so we can spread out a little more.

Room Tip: The "Apartments" are newer additions to the complex and have a view. Units A-D are the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HaeSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

The grounds are beautiful, the room/Apt. we stayed in was very uncomfortable. The floor is on a slant and the windows don't meet the walls. The bathroom had the tiniest shower (you can turn around but don't try to bend down!) with good water pressure. The table and chairs were an old iron patio set, so, don't sit for long! The managers were very friendly and will let you keep your bags there until your ferry time. So, overall, not awful, but will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mom56CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have stayed in far more expensive places on Catalina and in other moderatly priced hotels. While the rooms are not brand new, they are clean and cozy and we really enjoyed our stay. Its just what you would expect from their website. Also, its far enough from the main street to be quite but still close to the action.

When our return ferry was cancelled due to weather, they let us keep the room for one more night for a discounted rate. By chance, we were able to get on another ferry late in the afternoon and they charged us a small fee for the day. Quite understanding if you ask me.

We will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pdlnfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

looking at former reviews after our trip, i would agree with them our room looked to be better than alot of the others to be expected from all the old buildings our room was ok and clean but the service was indifferent we went with a running group that stays there alot so that made things better if we were by ourselves we would have picked something newer and closer to the harbor

Room Tip: we stayed in the 2 story building with 4 rooms at the top right and that seemed to be the best of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brittGlendora_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Got married on Catalina Island and loved every minute of everything. Would definitely stay here again. They had excellent and friendly service. Some of these reviews complain about the rooms, but you should know that these are older buildings and are restored nicely considering that fact. This place has more of a "cozy" feel as opposed to luxury. I personally prefer cozy over luxury. Great price and beautiful outside...has a New Orleans feel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cytojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Not to many choices on catalina island. Im not sure if i would choose this hotel because of bad service. We finally get to the place and have to wait a while before we can check in and then are told that we should go out and have lunch. overall it was interesting not good but not totally terrible either. It was quite "rinky dinky" but made for a more unique experience.

Room Tip: we were the top room. which i would advise because i assumed that the floors were thin and you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grantpadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at La Paloma-Las Flores for one night in October 2011. It was a lovely stay, especially for the service we have received. Tony, the owner I believe, is fabulous: I was supposed to stay 2 nights, but because of a last minute problem had to cancel the first one. He worked out a way to cancel my reservation and was super kind in arranging my stay for the second night. We could choose the room on the spot: we switched from cottage #3 to Unit C, the latter is much nicer and has a jacuzzi ;) Both were very clean. And there is a nice common patio where you have breakfast in the morning.

The hotel is well located, a few minutes walking from the harbor, about 15 from the Casino and about 20 from the Descanso beach. But keep in mind that Avalon is very small; all hotels are located walking distance from each other.

It is not cheap, but everything on Avalon is very expensive, and it was one of the cheapest rates I found. All considered, a good deal :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ariel_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#11 of 20 in Avalon
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Cottages Las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Cottages Las Flores

Address: P.O. Box 1505, 328 Sunny Lane, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704-1505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Avalon
Price Range: £85 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Paloma Cottages Las Flores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Paloma Cottages Las Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Cottages Las Flores Hotel Avalon
La Paloma Cottages Las Flores Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing