We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded and nice, tucked away in Avalon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Paloma Cottages Las Flores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Paloma Cottages Las Flores
Keene, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Secluded and nice, tucked away in Avalon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was our first stay at the La Paloma Cottages, and my wife's first visit to Avalon. We didn't know what to expect. Overall, it was a very nice motel, although a bit tricky to find (it's down an alley). My wife really enjoyed the flowers and the look/feel of the hotel. She said it reminded her of New Orleans.

The rooms were small, but perfect for just two of us. There was a small refrigerator/kitchen area. Our room had a view overlooking Avalon out towards the ocean.

The only potential negative, and this is personal preference, was the bed. It was very firm. Also, the walls are fairly thin so you can hear your neighbors. These weren't big deals to us and we definitely plan on returning.

Lastly, the staff was very friendly. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our room. Overall a nice place and good value for the money!

Room Tip: Unit 9 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    30
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Though quite dated and a bit on the dark side with no view the staff was cordial & proficient except when we asked about the advertised 'continental breakfast' which we were told is seasonal (available in July & August). La Plaoma is nice but not a place we will return to soon.

Room Tip: Sorry don't know what to suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisplyr2, Owner at La Paloma Cottages Las Flores, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We were not aware that the website did not say that the Continental Breakfast was seasonal and we apologize for our error. We have been offering the continental breakfast starting later in the year. With your feedback we have now corrected this on our site. All feedback is welcomed as we continue to improve our property. We do not want our guests to be unhappy with their stay and do not want to lose you as a future guest. Our managers will follow up with you personally.
Kind Regards,
Elyse
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

If you are looking for a high end Marriott with 2014 amenities, I would suggest you go to Santa Monica. Avelon is a lay back, New Englandy, seashore community ~ and I hope it stays that way!
La Paloma was charming and a fun blend of New Orleans, San Francisco and the old time Jersey seashore cottages. We stayed in Room 9 - Great view of the Harbor. Charming & quaint. It is a little chilly on VERY cold nights ~ we had a space heater which took the chill out.
The owners could not have been nicer or more gracious.
The outside areas are amazing, quaint and unique. Location is terrific!
Make sure you hit Von's and Von's Express! The restaurants are a little disappointing. Our best experience was at the Avelon Grill Happy Hour - Great mini plate menu during the Happy Hour! The 50 cent coffee at the candy place was the best cup we had during our stay!
La Paloma would be our first and only choice for a return trip.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 9 - Great view of the Harbor. A little chilly in the off season - but probably the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EchoPark1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked here on line and looked over the reviews and decided to try the hotel. Upon arrival it looked charming and thats where it stopped for us. After climbing a few sets of stairs, we checked in what I would call somthing that resembled a cab stand window. We had been traveling for a week now and this was the last stop before heading home so our bags were a bit heavy. We had booked # 16 with a view. There was no one to help with our bags so off we went. After climbing 5 sets of long stairs and at the end very narrow steep long OLD stairs we made it to our room. We are in our 50's and in decent shape but holly cow. It did have a good view but instead of rustic it was just old. It was clean but old. The shower was about two and ha half foot square. I have a cast on one arm and don't think that would have worked for me. We both decided this was not where we wanted to stay. If you have a few cocktails you may not want to go down the stairs. We booked another hotel on the island and left. I believe this hotel is great for people in their teens and twenties looking for a budget hotel. This hotels it one of the oldest ones on the island with no updates.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tresonag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisplyr2, Owner at La Paloma Cottages Las Flores, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We realize based on your review that you had a bad experience. We appreciate your feedback as we take these seriously. We strive to provide our guests with a positive experience and we are doing updates on the hotel as quickly as we can. Some of the items you commented on we can improve. However, we can't change the location of the hotel or our geography. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Elyse F.
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at La Paloma Las Flores for our Honeymoon in October 2012. We had an amazing time. We stayed in Unit C (Upper left unit). It was very simple, included a small refrigerator, Coffee maker, and best of all and Spa Bathtub. The owners were very nice and even let us check in at 10am when our boat arrived instead of 3pm. They were very helpful! We had a great time over all on Catalina Island and plan to return for our one year anniversary. We are planning on renting the same exact room and making it a tradition throughout the years.

Room Tip: If your into a Jacuzzi Bath to relax....Rent one of the Units instead of the cottages or apts. Espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MistyRim2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed in La Paloma Las Flores one week ago and it was the most charming hotel ever. Catalina island itself is charming in a small town kind of way, but as soon as you step through the entrance of this hotel it's like you are stepping onto a tropical island. I stayed in room/apartment 1 which was the most basic room available, breakfast was included in the price. The bed was comfy and the room was clean. There was a fridge, microwave and coffee machine tucked into a little side part of the room but it did not come with a kitchenette like some of the other rooms do (but we did not require one). The hotel is tucked away in a side street (Sunny Lane) but is about 5 minutes or less walk from the sea front and main shops/restaurants. The owners, Esther and Toni, were incredibly friendly and helpful and spent time with me and my family for much of the morning. I would recommend this hotel and I can't wait to take my family back to show them this little paradise hotel tucked away on Catalina Island. On a side note this is not a luxury modern hotel, this is a charming, well kept place full of character and charm.

Room Tip: If you are with a stroller the smaller number rooms are best as they are closest to the bottom of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This property feels like home. There is one cottage here that offers the best view of the town and it looks amazing in the morning. We got free continental breakfast in the morning and Tony (owner) is a really nice guy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ejay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#10 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Cottages Las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Cottages Las Flores

Property: La Paloma Cottages Las Flores
Address: P.O. Box 1505, 328 Sunny Lane, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704-1505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Paloma Cottages Las Flores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your La Paloma Cottages Las Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Cottages Las Flores Hotel Avalon
La Paloma Cottages Las Flores Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing