We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars in its hotel class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Paloma Cottages Las Flores
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing getaway this spring and found a great deal on Amazon Local. It was $189 for two nights which was great for the area in May.

The photos here are very accurate . This is a charming, cozy little place with an excellent location. It's a 5 minute leisurely stroll to all the shops, restaurants, and the little beach. There's a Von's express down the street as well.

Paloma is in a small little neighborhood tucked far back from the street. There is no parking so guests must go up the long driveway and all but one of the cottages are accessible only by stairs. We didn't mind this at all but individuals with disabilities would need to consider this upon booking.

The property itself was darling. There are lovely flowers everywhere and vined plants along the archways. We enjoyed wine and cigars under the stars on our patio outside our room. In the mornings we enjoyed our CONTINENTAL breakfast. I stress continental because for some reason some of the guests didn't appear to know what this meant, complaining about the offerings when we were there. They had yummy small homemade bear claws, cheese Danish, muffins, scones, bananas, coffee and orange juice. Sure some hotels offer more but I don't expect more when I see "continental" listed. If you want more and don't want to dine out take advantage of the kitchenette in room and scramble up some eggs and bacon. The kitchenette had the basic pots, pans, salt and pepper. There's a small stove, oven, and small fridge. Nothing gourmet but certainly sufficient for making up a simple meal if someone wanted. Or, take advantage of the lovely outdoors and use one of the propane BBQs available for use.

One important thing to note is that this cute, friendly little cottage spot is run much like renting a small studio cabin in the woods; there is not daily room service and you're expected to wash your dishes before you leave. Toiletries are very basic as well. In this sense it's neither a hotel or motel, more like your own mini home that you tend to while you're there. It's not a big deal for people like us who frequently rent cabins but it may be a big deal for guests who expect a more hotel like experience.

So long as guests go in understanding that they are getting basic but charming accommodations in an older property with a whole lot of beauty and character to it they will be satisfied. It's a relaxing spot and the office staff were friendly and helpful and there's even a resident rabbit hopping about. We found this place to be somewhat unique and very affordable Compared to other places during the same time period on Catalina which we greatly appreciated and we would happily return in the future. We would be mindful however of who we would and would not recommend it to amongst our friends and family based on their personal preferences and expectations.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
12  Thank ImSet2Jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here and found it to be pretty, quiet, and more than we needed. The bed, futon and furnishings were not luxurious but that was not what we were looking for anyway. Our cottage was just right and included a kitchenette with an oven, stove, fridge and microwave. There is a Vons Express in town and had we thought it out we could have prepared some meals at our room. The location was great and an easy walk to the tour plaza, downtown and everywhere else. We find a nice little pub to hang out in at the end of the evenings. (Try JL's Locker Room or the Lobster Trap). There is a nice continental breakfast each morning and two on site bunnies that were so sweet. We would return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hillside property at the end of an alley consists of cottages on one side of 10 sets of outside steps/stairs and a building with 10 or more units attached on the other side, like a traditional motel building. Being a few blocks from the tourist center makes this a nice quiet location which you will appreciate after a day of buzzing golf carts and buses down in the tourist area. The grounds were nicely landscaped with generous vegetation/flowers. The exterior of the buildings was well maintained and the interior of our cottage was well maintained but definitely showed its early 1900's design and subsequent remodels. Our cottage had a very small kitchenette with a stove and half size refrigerator. It would be a challenge to actually cook a meal in the confined space and minimal countertop. In fact, part of a previous remodel looks like they removed a water heater from the kitchen (water pipes & gas line still sticking out of the ceiling was a little weird) to add more room, but that left the shower entrance IN THE KITCHEN.

The shower is now in the kitchen, and while the shower stall was large enough it had a couple of other issues, aside from being in the darn kitchen. The shower door was extremely small, I am an average sized man, 5'11", and I had to turn sideways to pass into the shower. My shoulders would not fit in the narrow opening. Then, the shower head was too low, the water only sprayed as high as my shoulders, I had to stoop about a foot down to rinse my head. Great for 5' tall people but if you are 6' or over, or need to lose a few pounds you will hate it.

The main room area was smallish, so the bed was pushed against a wall. I'm not used to that and kept bumping into it at night. Also the mattress caved into the center a bit, it needs to be replaced. The TV was a 15" tube model from the 1980's, even your kids have a flat panel one in their room these days. The chairs were dated and marginally comfortable. If they spent maybe $2000 to get a better bed, new TV, and more comfortable chairs it would be much better.

The staff was very polite and answered all of our questions. Daily maid service is not provided but they will give you new towels if you ask.

With those minor complaints aside, we were only in our room to sleep and shower anyway, so it was ok. With such an older property they only have so much they can work with anyway and they do a pretty good job keeping it up. This was our first time on the island and I would stay here again, but I'd really rather find a condo rental next time.

Room Tip: Pick a lower number cottage (except #1 on the alley) to avoid climbing a lot of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank desertdog999998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Funky, unique place in center of Avalon with views of the bay. Stayed here with 2 friends - we had an ocean view room, each had our own bed (even a separate bedroom), had a full size refrigerator, stove oven, etc. Von's is a block away. Pleasant atmosphere, quiet and peaceful. Looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjlinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was our first stay at the La Paloma Cottages, and my wife's first visit to Avalon. We didn't know what to expect. Overall, it was a very nice motel, although a bit tricky to find (it's down an alley). My wife really enjoyed the flowers and the look/feel of the hotel. She said it reminded her of New Orleans.

The rooms were small, but perfect for just two of us. There was a small refrigerator/kitchen area. Our room had a view overlooking Avalon out towards the ocean.

The only potential negative, and this is personal preference, was the bed. It was very firm. Also, the walls are fairly thin so you can hear your neighbors. These weren't big deals to us and we definitely plan on returning.

Lastly, the staff was very friendly. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy with our room. Overall a nice place and good value for the money!

Room Tip: Unit 9 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Though quite dated and a bit on the dark side with no view the staff was cordial & proficient except when we asked about the advertised 'continental breakfast' which we were told is seasonal (available in July & August). La Plaoma is nice but not a place we will return to soon.

Room Tip: Sorry don't know what to suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisplyr2, Owner at La Paloma Cottages Las Flores, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We were not aware that the website did not say that the Continental Breakfast was seasonal and we apologize for our error. We have been offering the continental breakfast starting later in the year. With your feedback we have now corrected this on our site. All feedback is welcomed as we continue to improve our property. We do not want our guests to be unhappy with their stay and do not want to lose you as a future guest. Our managers will follow up with you personally.
Kind Regards,
Elyse
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

If you are looking for a high end Marriott with 2014 amenities, I would suggest you go to Santa Monica. Avelon is a lay back, New Englandy, seashore community ~ and I hope it stays that way!
La Paloma was charming and a fun blend of New Orleans, San Francisco and the old time Jersey seashore cottages. We stayed in Room 9 - Great view of the Harbor. Charming & quaint. It is a little chilly on VERY cold nights ~ we had a space heater which took the chill out.
The owners could not have been nicer or more gracious.
The outside areas are amazing, quaint and unique. Location is terrific!
Make sure you hit Von's and Von's Express! The restaurants are a little disappointing. Our best experience was at the Avelon Grill Happy Hour - Great mini plate menu during the Happy Hour! The 50 cent coffee at the candy place was the best cup we had during our stay!
La Paloma would be our first and only choice for a return trip.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 9 - Great view of the Harbor. A little chilly in the off season - but probably the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EchoPark1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Rae
Hotel Mac Rae
#10 of 20 in Avalon
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
#16 of 20 in Avalon
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Cottages Las Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Cottages Las Flores

Address: P.O. Box 1505, 328 Sunny Lane, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704-1505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Avalon
Price Range: £60 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Paloma Cottages Las Flores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Paloma Cottages Las Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Cottages Las Flores Hotel Avalon
La Paloma Cottages Las Flores Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing