We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly staff, no attitude, everything we needed!”
Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
tastytravels4me
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, friendly staff, no attitude, everything we needed!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in family room D, with 6 kids and two adults. We arrived and were allowed to be checked in early. We were pleased to find our very clean, comfortable room in the front of the hotel with a nice balcony right in the heart of town. It was a bit "cozy" with all of us, but we only were there for breakfast and to sleep, so we didn't mind. The hotel is so close everything- we could run back to the room during the day without any trouble. We enjoyed snorkeling, swimming out to the "dock" at the beach, hike to the botanical gardens and just had a great time exploring the island. We will be back. Thanks for your kind hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastytravels4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    79
    37
    48
    48
See reviews for
77
132
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are looking for a diver friendly hotel, then the Hermosa is a good one; or for anyone who doesn't need pristine surroundings. They have 3 lockers for gear, nice aluminum carts to haul stuff around, a big storage room in the main building, and the rooms aren't fancy. One of the nicest things is that once you have checked out, but still dive/swim/hike/get dirty, you can use their large shower room afterwards to clean up before heading home on the ferry, or whatever. And they will give you towels/soap for the shower.

Room Tip: Upper units have stairs, which are never great if hauling gear. So go lower. The a/c in the cottages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I recently stayed here with my scout troop. Their family rooms were perfect for what we needed and the budget we had. The staff really makes this place worth it. They were friendly, helpful, and worked with me to get the reservations in order. They are knowledgeable about the island and offered to help in any way. We did find the rooms a little dirty, out dated, and things like the window blinds didn't really work. We also had one window that was propped up with a 2x4, something we didn't really want to mess with. Our rooms were RIGHT on the street and there was foot and street traffic throughout the night, some a little rough for the ears of my group. The mattresses had seen better days, but again... for my group (who didn't want to camp on this trip) the Hermosa Hotel worked well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I've written dozens of reviews on Trip Advisor, but I've never given such a low rating to a hotel until now.

Because there were 8 people in our party, I researched months in advance to find an economical place to stay in Avalon. I was quite happy with myself for finding a three-bedroom "family unit" at Hermosa Hotel for $392 a night.

I knew from reading the other Trip Advisor reviews that the Hermosa Hotel is old and not well maintained, but nothing prepared me for this place. Unfortunately, all the reviews appear to be of the 1-room cottages, and not of the family unit (which is far worse than the cottages).

Perhaps no one (besides us) has rented this family unit, which would explain why it hasn't been reviewed yet, and why there is a THICK layer of dust everywhere inside the place. It is so filthy that I refused to take off my shoes, and I was even afraid to take a shower there. I kept my sandals next to the shower so I could dry off and get out without stepping on the floor.

I've always thought it's a little tacky when people focus their reviews on things like dust, peeling paint, cracked windows, stained floors, water damage etc. But this place truly has all those problems and more. It was almost laughable, except that one room even had an electical outlet that was missing the cover plate (see my posted pictures) -- a serious safety issue -- especially since there was a 2-year old in our group. Thankfully, we only booked one night here, because I don't think I could have stayed for two.

We also encounted false (or at least misleading) advertising. The Hermosa Hotel website features a video tour giving the impression that it has an outdoor grill. (Our party of 8 was planning on using this grill to cook dinner.) But upon checking in, we learned that the grill is actually located at a "sister property" several blocks away (and up a hill), making it completely useless.

I still can't believe we payed $392 a night to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yoritomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel is old, the walls are thin, showers are small, and there are really no amenities to speak of. BUT. It is a clean, comfortable place to stay. The staff is very nice and helpful. The bed was comfortable. What more do you really need after a day at the beach? I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Hermosa hotel delivered. We had a comfortable, clean room in this rustic old town-style building. It is not your typical hotel - it's actually much more interesting than most and it is simply a stones throw to the town. Clean and affordable with amenities for outdoors-type equipment etc..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_P_Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hermosa Hotel is a great, beach hotel, reminiscent of Calif. Days gone by yet is modern with ensuite bathrooms,coffee maker, frig. , microwave in our rooms. The stairs to the upper levels are easy for walking and bringing up gear. There is storage area on lower levels for gear and suitcases. The staff is cordial and helpful. Coffee in foyer. Market next door. Balcony for guests overlooking the street and harbor. Quite reasonable. We were six retired women and were very comfortable and pleased with our choice for two nights and 3 days. Loved it!

Room Tip: Phone ahead to make your needs known. They are quite helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbabe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#13 of 20 in Avalon
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Property: Hermosa Hotel
Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa is Catalina’s friendly, quaint, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon half block from the beach and a short, flat walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa Hotel has been serving guests of the island as far back as 1896 and, as was the style then, our rooms are small and simple. No thrills or frills- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing