We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avalon Convenience”
Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Okay, as you have read other reviews, this is not one of your 5 star hotels, but I really liked this place. We were there for the half-marathon as spectators. We had rooms 12 and 14 which shared a bathroom/shower. The Hermosa is a short walk from the Express ferry and close to everything else in Avalon. Very friendly staff greeted us, gave us a complete explanation of the rooms and what they were doing for the runners. Up one flight of stairs to our room only to find that it had not been cleaned yet (it was 3:30 pm). We told the manager, he checked it out, was very apologetic and had it ready to go in about 30 minutes. We managed to find a beer while we waited. Since our room was right above the street and with the windows open it was noisy. But that was bearable, and later that night it quieted down. There was a large plywood sheet on the ceiling used a patch, but it was painted white and blended in. The shower, toilet and the sink in our room all worked. The bed was clean and reasonably comfortable. For the runners, they offered showers after the race and a place to stow your gear/bags. I'd definitely stay here again. C'mon, this is an island (okay off the LA coast) and you have to get on island time/attitude. We did and that's why we liked this hotel. And the price was one of the other reasons we all stayed here. Try it out.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor for a quieter night or on the back cottages.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainSPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Hermosa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The room was tiny and the bathroom you could barely turn around in. The air conditioner was so loud you had to turn it off when sleeping and it only had a 2 hour timer on it. The sheets didnt fit the bed properly so after the first night they where already falling off the bed. Bed was also very uncomfortable! Walls were really thin too, you could hear everything outside. The staff was friendly and the hotel has a good location. Would recommend another hotel though if you want a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kookienum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed at the Hermosa Hotel on August 26th - 28th. This was my second stay there. The hotel is perfectly located - just a short walk from the ferry landing and the restaurants/bars of downtown Avalon, and also an easy walk to Casino Point. I got a standard room, which was pretty basic, but clean and comfortable. It also included a refrigerator which was a nice perk. The hotel lobby is charming, with a historic feel.

The primary purpose of my trip was to go SCUBA diving at Casino Point. Hermosa Hotel was ideal for this, as they provided carts free of charge to help with transporting equipment to and from the point. The also provide a small outdoor area with a hose to rinse dive gear, and an area for hanging up wetsuits after use - very nice for those consecutive days of diving.

Overall, it is good value for the price, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eburke92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermosaHotel, Owner at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback - we appreciate you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is by far the worst hotel we've ever stayed at! The walls were dirty, the bed was broken, the towels had holes in them. I attempted to open the blinds and couple fell off. The floor of the room tilted! The carpet was filthy, stained and had burn marks. The walls are so thin you can hear other people's conversations.

I will never stay here again and will not recommend it. For over $200.00 a night this place was unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I found Hermosa Hotel inexpensive, close to the docking area, centrally located, and overall fabulous. I loved the fact that they had a luggage room and shower facilities you can use if you arrived before check-in or needed to use after checkout; the staff was warm and friendly, the rooms had a mini-fridge and spacious bathroom, and the hotel has a lounge where you could just hang out. And I loved the old-time feel there, with the antiques throughout the décor and old pictures of Catalina, etc. There were downsides: We were grateful to have a room on the bottom floor, and yet there was a great deal of street noise (golf carts dominate the Island, and are annoying after 10pm); and a few of the cottages like we had were up multiple stairs which would not have set well with some! All in all, I'll be back. Maybe asking for a room vs. cottage though!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that's actually inside the hotel vs. cottages that are close to the stree...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in family room D, with 6 kids and two adults. We arrived and were allowed to be checked in early. We were pleased to find our very clean, comfortable room in the front of the hotel with a nice balcony right in the heart of town. It was a bit "cozy" with all of us, but we only were there for breakfast and to sleep, so we didn't mind. The hotel is so close everything- we could run back to the room during the day without any trouble. We enjoyed snorkeling, swimming out to the "dock" at the beach, hike to the botanical gardens and just had a great time exploring the island. We will be back. Thanks for your kind hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tastytravels4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are looking for a diver friendly hotel, then the Hermosa is a good one; or for anyone who doesn't need pristine surroundings. They have 3 lockers for gear, nice aluminum carts to haul stuff around, a big storage room in the main building, and the rooms aren't fancy. One of the nicest things is that once you have checked out, but still dive/swim/hike/get dirty, you can use their large shower room afterwards to clean up before heading home on the ferry, or whatever. And they will give you towels/soap for the shower.

Room Tip: Upper units have stairs, which are never great if hauling gear. So go lower. The a/c in the cottages...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
#16 of 20 in Avalon
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range: £103 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa is Catalina’s friendly, quaint, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon half block from the beach and a short, flat walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa Hotel has been serving guests of the island as far back as 1896 and, as was the style then, our rooms are small and simple. No thrills or frills- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing