We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed in one of the cottages that was toward the back of the hotel (up 2 flights of stairs - but I don't mind stairs), so it was off the street and quiet. The place is quaint. It is an older place, but still enjoyable. If you are looking for modern, this is not it. If you are looking for character, this place has it, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The place is not dumpy at all - it's just older. I'd recommend this place for younger couples. The cottage didn't have a closet, but it had a good amount of dresser space. The climate control in the cottage worked well, but we were using the heating, so I can't say anything about AC. The staff was very helpful, and the hotel has bikes you can rent for fair prices, which is great for Avalon. The free internet they offered to guests had trouble reaching our unit in the back, but if we ever wanted to know anything about the island, the staff was always willing to fill us in, and their information was just as good.

Room Tip: If you like to have more quiet, and you are ok with stairs, then get a cottage toward the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermosaHotel, Manager at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your review! We're very glad you appreciate the historic charm of the Hermosa and that you enjoyed your stay in Avalon. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    78
    36
    47
    47
See reviews for
77
128
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We visited the island mid April. We stayed in an ocean view apartment. The kitchen was well stocked as well cooked a couple meals. The bed was very comfy with nice pillows. There were French doors that opened onto a deck. The bathroom is nice and updated. The living room furniture was nice with French doors that opened on to deck. The deck had two lounge chairs and a table and chair set. The view is fantastic. We really enjoyed our stay. There is no air conditioning but it was not needed. There was always a nice breeze. We had a great stay and look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: My favorite is ocean view 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darthula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermosaHotel, Manager at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Darthula,

Thank you very much for your glowing review! The Ocean View suite is my personal favorite room and a general favorite of all guests who stay there. We too look forward to your future stay - we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Would rate a zero star but you can't. Anyways, we stayed 4/7/14 - 4/9/14. What a freaking joke!! The "Preferred Cottage" is little more than a shed with a bathroom in it. No closets, drawers or anywhere else to put/hang your clothes. Blinds were missing pieces so anyone walking by could look in, so we covered them with blankets. Even so, in the middle of the night the outside lighting was so bright that you could read by it inside the room. The "fire exit" had furniture at the corner of the landing so you only had a small space to slip by. The shower had no place for toiletries or wash clothes...even though the previous tenants did find a place to perch the complimentary shampoo (know this because it was still there). The fridge and toaster-sized microwave were right next to the head of the bed so you got to listen to it run all night. Then you have the free 2 hr bike rental (date and time of their choice). for $100 - $150 per night was a ripoff. Been to Catalina before and only stayed here because of a Groupon deal. Could say more but the reminder is making me ill.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermosaHotel, Manager at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Brad,

Since the Hermosa Hotel changed management about five years ago, we have undergone major renovations, and continue to do so. We appreciate candid reviews like yours and make note of all concerns our guests bring to our attention. We also encourage guests to bring issues to our attention while staying with us, so that we can address them promptly. Our apologies for the details of your stay that could have been remedied, and we extend our assurance that the concerns you have listed will receive due attention. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

First off luckily we got a good deal, for Avalon, on the hotel, I would have been miffed if I had paid full price. The pros, friendly staff, close to Vons and the beach. Con's, we stayed in the cottages which are small and basic, supposedly a quiet area but with thin walls it was extremely noisy from a combination of street noise, passers by and a construction site next door that started at 6.30am! TV was at right angles to the bed so we got stiff necks, Probably won't stay in the cottages again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the cottages near the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HermosaHotel, Manager at Hermosa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We too are less than thrilled with the nearby construction projects, but it is a necessary inconvenience. As for the street noise, Avalon generally quiets down substantially after 8pm, though on some weekends there is more foot traffic than usual.

A portion of our cottages are basic/"standard" cottages, but we do also have preferred cottages with kitchenettes. No two cottages are the same - there are a variety of amenities, bed arrangements, etc, including television placement.

Thank you for your time, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Have stayed three times, each better than the awesome visit before.... Could not compliment the staff more for capability or hospitality, friendly helpful, fun.... Perfect. Our room was at the top of the hill with a spectacular view, small kitchen let us cook and hang out on the deck and unwind which is what we needed this last trip. Better value for the money than any other hotel I can think of. Love the feel of Catalina, like being in Europe without having to change money or learn a new language, and when I come back, I will always stay at the Hermosa.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you are looking for to be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I surprised my wife for our 12th year anniversary with a brief Catalina get-a-away at the Hermosa Hotel. Both my wife and I exercise on a daily and were thrilled about the 80-steps to our OV3 room, elevator not required nor desired. Who needs a fitness center when you have OV3! We enjoyed the fact the workers and their families live on the premises, made us feel like one of the locals. I do apologize in advance if I don't remember your name, the experience you provided for us is forever appreciated. When we arrived Charlie and "young lady with red hair and glasses", by the way can perhaps carry the HUMMER CART if needed!, greeted us with great energies and immediately celebrated our choice of room. WITHOUT DOUBT the best room in the house! To Anna at the Vons only doors away, thank you for helping me choose my wife's beautiful Tulips, which we kept in a pot on our balcony the entire time. Sofia at the Hermosa Hotel, gracias por aver rescatado mi chamarra despues de aver entregado las llaves. We kayaked miles down the coastline and basked under the Avalon sun, biked to the botanical gardens (courtesy of the Hermosa Hotel) in the afternoon, enjoyed photographing underwater near the kelp forests and feeding the fish for a close-up. 2-nights and 3-days of absolute beauty. Our morning run around passed Lovers Cove was breathtaking. Every picture we snapped captured the exact feeling we expected the moment we reserved our room. We're vegetarian, shopping and cooking our own food in our cottage was the highlight. We did not need to conform which overall is an important factor in a trip. Mark, your hotel is awesome and your family that works there are the best! OV4 is our next stay for sure!!! Hope the SUP boards come with the reservation, hahahaha! Thank you and see you in the Summer. You say Catalina Island, I say Hermosa Hotel. You say Hermosa Hotel, I say Paradise. You say Paradise, I say Catalina Island.

Room Tip: Ask for their room OV3 (Ocean View 3)! You'll wake up to a beautiful sunrise every morning, GUAR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
237 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Would I stay here again....NO...I have outgrown this type of Hotel...We were lucky and had a cottage with only 2 steps to get into our room....Most rooms have 10 or way more steps...No Elevator...Rooms were clean to the eye...until you put on your glasses...But then again the price was right and if you want 4 star in Avalon...you will be paying over 200. a night.

Room Tip: Cottage A..does not have a outlet in the bathroom...Had to go to office to blow dry Hair...Coffee Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymccluskey1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#10 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Property: Hermosa Hotel
Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa is Catalina’s friendly, quaint, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon half block from the beach and a short, flat walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa Hotel has been serving guests of the island as far back as 1896 and, as was the style then, our rooms are small and simple. No thrills or frills- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing