We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Most Accommodating Hotel On The Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Norco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Most Accommodating Hotel On The Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Service was friendly and very helpful. Our rooms were clean & bright. Kitchenetts well supplied. Nice patio with a view of the ocean and close to the market, restaurants and shops. The best part of staying at the Hermosa Hotel was the wonderful way all personnel responded to requests. My 95 yr. old mom & 4 sisters loved their stay in Avalon, Catalina Island. I would like to be more objective but nothing negative comes to mind.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    78
    36
    47
    48
See reviews for
77
130
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

The rooms are quite small. Normally, this shouldn't be a hindrance if it's laid out well. It wasn't. They have a large bureau, that would accommodate someone staying for a month, but no desk. They could have easily replaced the oversized and inpractical bureau with a writing table/desk.
I had a shared bathroom, but the other folks with whom I shared the bath kept locking my door from the bathroom side , so to block off my access to the common bathroom.

The room had roaches and when I complained, hoping to get some concession I was told that this was the "season" and since the hotel is located in a dry area (Avalon), this, is common. However, my friends staying at other hotels didn't have this problem.

Internet service is only available in the small lobby, but even there they have no tables at all to set your laptop down on. Great planning on the part of management. Moreover, with the installation of a simple "access point" (costs about $75) every room could have had wireless.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeVagabonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

The staff make this the nicest place we went on the island. Friendly, eager to help, genuine and kind. Not too many like that in Catalina. Most places we went the people were indifferent if not outright rude and the service, products, etc was nothing special.
You can leave your baggage before and after check-in/out, you can shower after you check out. And the price is right. We were there for a quick week-end dive/snorkel get-away. It was perfect. I took a shower after check out and got a hot towel straight from the dryer. The linens had a nice fresh scent also.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindrbrwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

great place,i spent 2 nites @the hermosas,we had the small cottage(2 queen/1 bath/refrig.microwave) for $120 a nite!!. this is an old mansion,so there is nothing too fancy regarding the room&facilities,(i think is over 100 yrs old).you have a small vons market next to it for snacks .we went to jack"s for breakfast, and they have a bakery for pastry /coffee to-go which is 2 min away.
all the employees of the inn were very helpful and friendly:)
they are scuba diver friendly ,shops/docks few minutes away. the inn has a storage room and before taking the catalina express boat ,you can take a shower at the inn.
ps: if you planning a dive excursion,i will recommend "catalina dive luv", they have a great crews and the boat is incredible.great price, around $120 for 3 dives/8 hrs boating with snacks!
enjoy your trip :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islanderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

I've lived in Northern California for 6 years -- Finally, I got myself over to the Catalina Islands for a mini-vacation trip and so thrilled I chose Hermosa Hotel! First, with the basics: This hotel has a very down home personality, clean rooms, nice views of the residential neighborhood, close to everything (but still on a quiet block), very safe and your ferry reservations are taken care of along with your hotel reservation!

What I would like to highlight most of all -- The hotel staff is top notch!! I was blown away by how friendly, professional, helpful and such a pleasure the hotel employees were. I'm a true believer that that the attitude of any hotel staff has somewhat of an influence on the quality of your overall vacation. The Hermosa Hotel Staff made my first visit to Avalon that much more amazing!! I was able to get tips on snorkeling locations, self guided tours and assistance with directions from the airport. Most of all, I was really moved by their exceptional helpfulness when I had to cancel my 1st travel dates because of getting sick at the last minute. This lovely staff let me keep my reservations and I was able to re-book my trip for the following week! I highly recommend this hotel and feel like it's "home away from home"!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLMeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

My 15 year old daughter and I went to Avalon to do the ocean dives needed for scuba certification. The Hermosa is an older hotel with lots of stairs and no elevator. The rooms are very basic. Absolutely no frills. (bring your own hair dryer!) Some have bathrooms and showers, some don't. But if you are a diver, it's the perfect place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Nobody minds that you are dragging your wet self and your wet equipment around. They have a hose and outdoor shower available. There is also a baggage room for your scuba gear which is monitored at all times while the desk is open. I will definitely stay there any time I go to dive in Catalina.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

This hotel ROCKS! Definitely the BEST place to stay in Avalon if you are looking for the best deal in town and want the friendliest service in the world. I wouldn't recommend this to someone who is looking for an upscale environment though, but if you do, you could easily pay 300 a night. If you are a simple kind of folk, in Avalon for a good time and want a sweet and simple hotel experience, THIS PLACE IS FOR YOU! You will not be disappointed.
Super close to beach, your own room with clean towels, yummy yummy coffee made fresh for you every morning for free, and free baggage holding after you check out. What more could a traveler want?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravelingfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Property: Hermosa Hotel
Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hermosa is Catalina’s friendly, quaint, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon half block from the beach and a short, flat walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa Hotel has been serving guests of the island as far back as 1896 and, as was the style then, our rooms are small and simple. No thrills or frills- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing