We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Luxury”
Review of Hermosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hermosa Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Cheap luxury may seem to be an oxymoron, but there was quality where quality really counted. This was my first visit to Catalina Island, California. I found Hermosa Hotels while searching the internet for places to stay. I loved the price, and expected much less that we got for the price. The rooms were small, with minimal inconvenience (rooms were small, showers/toilets outside of room). However, the staff was extremely friendly and informative and exhibited excellent customer service. The linen/towels were white, clean, and soft (very important if you've had a day in the sun). The bed was very comfortable. The showers were hot, and the facilities clean. Even the toilet paper was high quality. The free coffee each morning was gourmet quality and hot. These high quality amenities far outweighed the lack of space and the minor inconvenience. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to any budget traveler/diver/beachgoer to anyone. I will stay there again on my next visit to Catalina.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Islandgirl741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2010

Not much to say - just disappointed. Saw great reviews, consider myself carefree and easygoing, easy to please, and looked forward to my second trip to Catalina.

Staff was mediocre and distracted, which was fine, but nothing top notch. Room was mediocre (small, but nothing special), cleanliness was a 6/10. Nice location, but really nothing special - I regretted not going somewhere nicer (lots of great places here - our friends, another couple, stayed at the Avalon and WOW! Wished we got a room there!).

This hotel was just really "blah".

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank melodicrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

The hotel has a cool cottage feel to it; it's a historic hotel maintaining the historic look and feel. It's not on the main strip so it's more peaceful and way cheaper. The rooms overlook a lot of the island. You have to get the higher level rooms, obviously. But it's something like 3 stories tall.
They have a whiteboard in the main lobby area for notes to customers and for the customers to leave their own notes. Definately a cozy place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dr_hubato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

I loved staying at this hotel, while it may not be a Marriot or Hyatt, it is comfortable and the service is fantastic. I was there for the Catalina triathlon and I was able to check out before the race and come back later to use the showers to get dressed and store my gear. I even misplaced the key and they just said that it would turn up (and it did). Everyone was extremely accomodating, I have traveled all over the U.S. and I have never had better service, unflagging smiles and cheerful personalities.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rae4sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My young son and I have been camping the last 3 years at Hermit Gulch so it was time for a change. I checked out pretty much all the hotels before settling on the Hermosa. I was delighted with the friendly helpful staff members - Mindy & Brandon. They were responsive and I got a very nice deal for 2 nights and round trip boat passage even during Jazz Trax. We got a cozy, clean bungalow style room with 2 double beds, our own bathroom & cable TV. It was small but very functional. We were allowed to check in early which really was such a convenience and we used the Hotel's microwave once for an evening meal. A pleasant surprise was that I was able to access the Hotel's wireless connection from my room! I know some people had to use the lobby but I guess I lucked out. The location is perfect - a little off the beaten track but still close to everything in town. We were in the back up the stairs so it was pretty quiet. This place is a great value and I recommend it to anyone who can be content with basic amenities; this is not the Ritz. Overall, I was very pleased with the entire stay and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wordsmith96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

This was our first overnight stay on Catalina Island. I was initially dismayed at the summer prices for lodging, and then I stumbled on the Hermosa on TripAdvisor. The current comments were very promising and the prices were good, compared to other Catalina options.

Front desk staff is truly as friendly and helpful as other reviewers have noted. The owner popped in over the weekend and had a chance to meet and talk to him as well. They are working diligently to become the best value, friendliest lodging in Catalina.

The room was adequate. We had two double beds and it was very, very tight. Our shared bath was shared with our friends in the next room, so there were no issues with thoughtless bathroom sharing. The room was reasonably clean, however the beds need to be pulled out and the room vacuumed thoroughly. Also the screen on the window needs to be replaced - my daughter's chocolate milk fell out the 3rd story window when she set it on the sill! The look on her face was pricelss and we all got a great laugh out of that.

Regarding wifi, we were able to connect easily in the lobby. Hermosa guarantees access in the lobby and notes that some rooms may have access. Well our room did, and that was a plus.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hermosa for a stay in Avalon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Service was friendly and very helpful. Our rooms were clean & bright. Kitchenetts well supplied. Nice patio with a view of the ocean and close to the market, restaurants and shops. The best part of staying at the Hermosa Hotel was the wonderful way all personnel responded to requests. My 95 yr. old mom & 4 sisters loved their stay in Avalon, Catalina Island. I would like to be more objective but nothing negative comes to mind.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondie357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Rae
Hotel Mac Rae
#10 of 20 in Avalon
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Hotel

Address: 131 Metropole Street, PO Box 646, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range: £56 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermosa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermosa Hotel keeps it simple for you… clean rooms at low prices and DOG FRIENDLY! Our friendly, active staff enjoys all the island has to offer and we will get all you adventure-seekers dialed in with our “locals scoop” to make sure you have the most fun possible during your island visit! We are preferred amongst scuba divers, with free dive lockers & dive carts available. We are Catalina Island’s pet-friendly, economy hotel located in the heart of Avalon, just a short 10-15 minute walk from the boat landing. The Historic Hermosa has been serving guests of the island since 1896 and our rooms are still small and simple. No fancy amenities, but most of our rooms now have air conditioning and heating. We have lots of character, as part of the charm of our 100+ year-old building is its “Catalina Funkiness.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hermosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Avalon
Hermosa Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing