We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tour!”

Catalina Coastal Tours & Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where your Catalina adventure begins! We offer Dolphin/ Sea Lion trips, Coastal Sightseeing/ Eco-Tours, and the Astronomy Experience night time tour all at the best prices in town! We can also customize a private charter to suit your needs. We specialize in small groups (6 or less) and offer the attention to detail and customer service you deserve.
Loomis, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best tour!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

WOW! I've been on many tours like this in both California and Hawaii, and I have to say this was the best yet! Captain Dave is a great guy, and I felt like I was out on a friends boat, and not on a tour. The boat was clean, comfortable seating for the 6 passengers, and well suited for getting out where the action is. We were fortunate, and got close with a pod of gray whales and a few hundred dolphins. The photo package is a no brainer, For $20, you get a 4Gb SD with all of Dave's shots. I've paid over double that for a single photo on some tours. He got some really great shots. I love having the freedom to select the ones I want to print or share. If you go to Catalina, take this tour, you won't be sorry.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Guitardogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    5
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Irwin, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We hired CPT Dave for a private 2 hour charter and it was a great experience! He is extremely personable and knowledgeable about the island, and knows all the best spots to see wildlife. His boat is small but perfect for a small group or couples excursion, and it enables him to get into places that bigger boats could not. Highly recommend if you wanted to take a tour of the island!!

Helpful?
1 Thank petbldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome we loved this adventure. We would highly recommend this.”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great adventure!!!! Highly recommend. We saw tons of dolphins. And 1 whale. We loved it. Having the guide take our photos was great. We have great pictures totally worth the 20 bucks

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Candyj1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't miss this tour”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary in Catalina, and decided to take this tour because it had 100% positive ratings. It did not disappoint. Captain Dave sails a small boat (8 people max) around the island. Sea lions, who permanently reside in the coastal waters and on the shore, are a sure sighting. We also floated in the midst of about 2000 common dolphins who seemed to enjoy swimming around us. The small boat meant that everyone could see clearly, that is no one was jockeying for position, and Captian Dave offered to take photos for us so we didn't have to. The charge is only $40 per person, a bargain considering what you get. If you go in the fall or winter, you may want to bring a jacket. If we return to Catalina, we will definitely take this tour boat again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tostrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST TOUR ON THE ISLAND!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Captain Dave is awesome--his boat is very nice and he knows everything there is to know about Catalina and the local wildlife. After sharing some info on the history of Catalina and the different types of local wildlife/dolphins, he led us to the dolphins' kingdom and before I knew it I was taking dolphin selfie after dolphin selfie as if I were a part of the pod. This was the perfect tour that lasted just the right amount of time. Thanks Captain Dave and Kathleen!! Very nice to meet you both! -Alex

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Catalina Coastal Tours & Fishing also viewed

 

Been to Catalina Coastal Tours & Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing