We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour guide lacked professtionlism and discretion”

Santa Catalina Island Company Dolphin Quest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This exciting new addition to Catalina Expedition's activities and adventures, takes our guests along Catalina's unspoiled East End coastline.
Boston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tour guide lacked professtionlism and discretion”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I took the two hour tour of the island. The view and scenery were great, however, the tour guide was lacking in
professtionalism. She seemed to want to entertain and talk mindlessly for 2 hours. Instead of filling the tour with interesting island information it was filled with vulger jokes about PMS, Buck testicles, and ingesting buffalo feces. I contacted the company but never received any acknowledgement. I would take this tour again but with another company. It's an expensive tour not to get a quality guide.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I went on the dolphin quest last week. It was so much fun. I've never been on a speedboat so that was an experience in itself. There had to be hundreds of dolphins. Al was really great. He was also the guide on the Underwater Expedition. Very informative young man.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamHTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
232 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Bumpy, fun ride!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was well worth the bumps! We saw a large group of dolphins and sea lions feeding all around us right after we left the dock. I wish we had stayed there longer because we only saw a few sea lions after that. However, the boat ride was very scenic, and it was interesting to see the coastline and coves of the island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SB1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington state
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“SANTA CATALINA ISLAND COMPANY”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We took three tours on Catalina Island with the Santa Catalina Island Company. All the tours were very good, the guides great and the prices really reasonable. The three tours were - Avalon City Tour, The Casino Tour and the Semi-submersible Boat Tour (these might not be the exact names, but are close). The Avalon City tour was by bus with Cindy L. as our guide. She was very, very informative and funny. Plus a very good driver on those skinny, hill-hugging roads. The captain and assistant on the semi-submersible were very friendly and extremely knowledgable about the waters and fish outside Avalon harbor and the Casino Tour guide knew it all and could answer any questions put to him. A big thumbs up to all the guides and the tours. And don't forget to ask for senior rates, we saved on each tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SLHbigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the Island tour”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Cindy Lowe was our tour guide, she was professional, funny & very informative.
Would recommend this to anyone visiting the Island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvbubbles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Catalina Island Company Dolphin Quest also viewed

 

Been to Santa Catalina Island Company Dolphin Quest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing