We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful afternoon of food & history in Avalon.”

Taste of Catalina Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.56*
and up
Catalina Food and Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 1 Food & Drink in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Suitable for adults and teens, explore Avalon as never before while leisurely walking through downtown with our fun, local guides who will share the inside scoop on just about everything! This one and only, informative 3-hour tasting and cultural walking tour will open your eyes to hidden tidbits of the island's rich history and culture. Satisfy your appetite with our town's award winning cuisines as you indulge your palate for a few hours of Sipping, Sampling & Savoring!
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 20th Anniversary in Catalina, the same place we had our honeymoon. We enjoyed the food tour on our first day. We basically walked off the boat at 11:05 and met for our tour @ 11:45, it was perfect timing. Cathy was our guide, a resident of Avalon, shared personal childhood stories & experiences with us as her family had owned a home on the island as well as her own family stories as some of her family now reside on the island as well. We enjoyed tastings from 6 locations as we strolled the streets & docks of Catalina. We also learned a lot about the history of the island as well as current events and statistics. She also answered several questions about activities & things to do on the island. It was terrific. The tastings were timed perfectly as to not fill you up too quickly but allow you to really savor all the flavors. I recommend that you do the tour on your first day, that way you get a lot of information to help plan the rest of your visit. We did have our Anniversary dinner at The Bluewater Avalon, one of the locations that we visited on our tasting.

Thank candlecraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaFoodie, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Happy Anniversary from all of us at Taste of Catalina Food Tours! Twenty years is fantastic!

We're glad the timing of your boat worked out so well with the tour - we purposefully changed the start time earlier this year to accommodate guests on the 10am boat from Long Beach and it has really helped make the tour available to more people, whether they are visiting the island for the day or longer.

We hope your anniversary dinner at Bluewater Avalon was wonderful and are glad you got try them first on tour with us. Thank you for your review - we will make sure to share it with Cathy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 301 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was my second time to take the tour and this time was as excellent as the first! Cathy the tour guide was friendly and knowledgable about the restaurants the food and the island. I recommend this tour to everyone!

1  Thank smacrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaFoodie, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Wow! Thanks for joining us again! We're glad you had a great time with Cathy and we're so happy to hear your enjoyed your time with us the first time enough to join us for a second outing! We'll see you next time you are on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Cathy was our tour guide and she was very nice and very hospitable. The tour was very nice and the length was just right as we only had approximately 4.5 hours to spend on the island. Hearing the history of the island and visiting six restaurants made our visit nice one. I would not recommend this tour for anyone under the age of 13 as the cost of the tour was a little pricey.

1  Thank Sherri717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaFoodie, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Many thanks for your review - we're glad the timing of your tour fit within your time on the island. We're are happy to hear you had a nice time with Cathy as well. Thanks for pointing out the age suggestion (not really for anyone under age 13) - we also follow the same general guidelines, both because of the length of the tour and because of the volume of food and beverages, we recommend that only teens and adults join us on tour. Thanks for sharing the great tip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Jordan ,our guide ,was entertaining and knowledgable.The servings were just the right size..as we were stuffed at the end of the three hours!! I would highly reccommend this to anyone coming to Santa Catalina!!!!!

Thank megansmom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaFoodie, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We are ecstatic to know you had such a fun time with Jordan. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We worked diligently to make sure the tastes left everyone feeling just full enough. We hope the walking in between the tasting stops helped break us the food and drink. We'll see you next time you are on the island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My daughter's and I highly recommend this tour as one of your first activities while visiting the island. The food is absolutely delicious and the tour is planned out so as to balance your palate as well as your appetite. Our guide was just charming and we enjoyed that personal touch she added by sharing a few stories of her childhood and growing up on Catalina. Finally, did I mention how wonderful the food is?? Take this tour. You won't be disappointed.

Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaFoodie, Owner at Taste of Catalina Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your review and the great pic of all of you at Avalon Seafood on the Green Pleasure Pier. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your tour time with us. It looks like the island supplied some great weather and we will be sure to share your review with all of our guides. Thanks for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Catalina Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Catalina Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing