We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the Best for Last (unfortunately)”
Review of Seaport Bistro

Seaport Bistro
Ranked #29 of 50 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: US$10 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Seaport Bistro at the Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa offers culinary excellence with an international flair. Executive Chef Gregory Wenger treats you to a sampling of his favorite dishes from seaports near & far. Sample flavors from the shores of Mediterranean Spain, Greece, Morocco and Italy. We, of course, highlight our own Pacific shores & bring you our favorites, including local Catalina offerings, when available. There's something for everyone - from delicious comfort food to unique global flavors. Get away from it all at the Bistro at the Canyon.
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Let's just say don't make the same mistake we did and make this your last meal on the island, make it your first and you'll be back every night! Went to Steve's the first night (ok), Portofino the second night ( so,so) and then THE BEST MEAL AT SEAPORT BISTRO. Honestly, don't waste your time or $$$ at those places.

We had Aaron as our server and he was just a delight. Very knowledgeable about the the menu and he should since the owner and Chef is his father! Which by the way, Chef Greg stops by everyone's table, checks and makes sure everyone is satisfied.

Now on to the food. My husband and I ordered the Tuna Tartar for an appetizer and it was excellent with the homemade wonton chips fresh out of the fryer! A salad or soup comes with the meal and we ordered the Seaport salad which was yummy. I ordered the Paella as my entree and it was so fresh and the perfect size for one. The variety of spices that Chef Greg infuses with are so delicious you probably want to try everything on the menu. My husband had the Duck special with duck cracklings and bacon, let's just say he was in heaven! Cooked to perfection! Last but not least we had dessert. I had the Homemade Creme Brûlée, I'm picky and a connoisseur of this dessert and it was Perfect. It's all about the consistency and how you flame that sugar crust! My husband had the Homemade Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream. I don't like that flavor but he said it was good.

So to sum this up, this bistro has the most important things. Excellent food and customer service. Feels like your dining with family. Also, since it's a block away up hill and at the end of the main drag it was very peaceful and quiet. We wish Chef Gregory much success with this restaurant in the future! Thanks for a lovely Super Moon evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaportBistro, Owner at Seaport Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

We are so glad you were able to find us and only sorry that it happened on the last night of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We will make sure to let Aaron know what an impact he had on you.

The duck special has been so well received - it has become one of our regular specials that we offer. Thank you for the praise of the desserts as well - we're happy you had enough room to be able to enjoy dessert that night.

We will see you next time!

Chef Greg & Elizabeth Wenger
Seaport Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I was it Avalon for the Flying Fish Festival and Taste of Avalon, which is delightful. In addition to the one night Taste they also had restaurant week, with a number of restaurants participating with prix fixee menus. After looking online at the menu choices, I was impressed with the unique and innovative selection offered by the Seaport Bistro (which was highly recommended by several locals) It is hidden away off the beaten path, but is well worth the hike up the hill. If you're there before sunset and lucky enough the get a window table, the view is superb, and the food is incredible. I had the prix fixee dinner with their house salad (which was excellent) and the freeform shrimp and lobster lasagna in a saffron cream sauce with roasted vegetables. It came in a large bowl and had large shrimp, large pieces of lobster with vegetables and pasta in an incredible saffron cream sauce. Cream brulee for dessert was a bonus. I would have gone back for the lobster mac and cheese the next day, but they aren't open for lunch. I'll definitely eat there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ladysailor715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaportBistro, Owner at Seaport Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thank you so much for your review - we're so glad you were able to join us for Restaurant Week - that was the kick-off of our busy season and was absolutely a crowd favorite. We are still open for dinner 6 nights a week and hope you will get to spend some more time with us the next time you are here.

Thanks!

Chef Greg & Elizabeth Wenger
Seaport Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A little off the beaten track but worth the visit. Well known local chef and obviously much travelled. Excellent mussels/clam starter with chorizo sauce, really good lamb and chicken tagines and very pleasing paella etc . Very interesting menu, will be back for lobster risotto and the desert menu looked really tempting, didn't try this time!!
Chefs son Arran the Pirate, ex Lobster Trap will keep you informed and entertained!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank foileyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisakate111, Guest Relations Manager at Seaport Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We will pass on your kudos to Chef Greg & Pirate Aaron. See you next time you are in town. We will get a slice of Peanut Butter Pie ready for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I both enjoyed our dinners. She had the sand dabs, caught by the chef that morning, in a light wine and lemon sauce. I had the paella which had an outstanding amount of seafood - not a fork full that did not contained seafood or fish! Different presentation as the base for the paella was tomato sauce based but still enjoyed it. Also the dinner portion salad was large enough for two to share. Service was excellent with both the waitress and busboy inquiring about our food. And to top it off, the chef came out to say thank you for the compliments. May the dinner! It is worth the walk up the hill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisakate111, Guest Relations Manager at Seaport Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for the great review. We find that people who have a short walk before dinner have an even greater appetite - we're glad you enjoyed the portions and the abundance of seafood. We appreciate the comment on our service and we're glad that Chef Greg was able to meet you in person. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are on Catalina Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had the Spanish paella and the Moroccan tagine. Not many restaurants can handle that level of diversity on the menu. Both were as good as anywhere we have been served. The service was friendly and warm. We plan to eat there again tomorrow night. Why go to a touristy place and eat overpriced food that isn't as good? This is a definite must try on our list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seaport Bistro also viewed

 
Two Harbors, Catalina Island
 

Been to Seaport Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing