We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Catalina Island Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Garden Grove, California
1 review
“Love The Catalina Island Inn”
Reviewed 8 April 2011

My son and I stayed in one of the cruise ship twin rooms and it was adorable.The room had a wonderful large window that let in alot of light and had shutters for light control. The room was very clean and tidy and had ample drawer and hanging storage for our 3 night stay. I enjoyed reading and tea on the 2nd floor balcony with fountains and plantings. I am a relatively light sleeper and had no problem with noise and sleeping. The staff were all very nice. It was nice to have the breakfast breads, juice, coffee and hot chocolate to get the day started. Also, the free Wifi was handy to keep occupied in the evenings.

Room Tip: Cruise ship twin room great for adult & child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlgirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    197
    56
    26
    13
See reviews for
75
306
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This hotel is SO cute! The decor is so modern and beautiful. They did such a nice job with it. We were not looking to spend a lot of money on our hotel seeing as we wouldn't be in it very much except to sleep. The room was VERY small. The shower was tiny and hard to move around in. The pillows were very limp so I had to use 2 to get some support. If we go back to this hotel, I am going to bring my own pillow. For the price, it's worth it! If you are looking for 4 star comfort, go somewhere else. The location was GREAT!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLH1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed in the family room which was perfect for myself, mother and my brother. When my brother made the reservations they told him we would be on the second floor. Turns out we were on the second floor plus (+) Good thing mother is in excellent heath or else it would have been a problem with no elevator. First night we could hear a group of "Girls gone wild" so we found out the walls are very thin. I liked the area, I just don't know if in these economic times I would go back and pay $150.00 a night for this room again. I would probably shop around to see if I could get a slightly less expensive room for what we used of it. Continential breakfast was OK. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were leaving on the later shuttle so the front desk kept our luggage until we were ready to leave.

Room Tip: Shop around to get a reasonable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaCoqui222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Service was ok, housekeepers were very friendly but front desk could use some classes in Customer service. Hotel was clean and neat. Building itself is very nice and well taken care of with remodeled rooms. Looking over Vons roof kinda stunk but what can they do? The problem is when 6 AM rolls around and the delivery trucks backup beepers are going off and they are banging around stuff. Way to much noise in the morning and thats with earplugs in! The windows facing the noise should be double pane, that would solve a lot. Would I stay there again? No. I want to be in a quiet area and this is not it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodiakboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearblossom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The hotel was fine, the room was clean and we had a gorgeous view of the bay, with a balcony. The bed was very comforable and the bathroom clean and well decorated. However, the service we received by the front office personnel was less than professional.
We found the room onine then called to reserve and pay for it. The person who helped us make the reservation was friendly, yet he made many mistakes. He promised us an email, which never came because he could not spell the address correctly. My husband had to call him back 5 times, to get the right information on the email.

The reception personnel was friendly enough, yet seemed to not have a lot of knowledge about customer service. Wer pre paid the room charge, yet we were made to sign another credit card receipt without explaining why.
In the afternoon, the toilet overflowed and we had to call the front desk to get it fixed. We were promised a bottle of champagne as part of the package, but we had to ask for it several times. Finally the maintenance guy who fixed the bathroom, brought us the champagne.

The continental breakfast provided was rather mediocre and inconvenient. We could not even get a cup of coffee until 8:00 A.M. When we checked out, nobody asked us if we had a good time, or if everything had gone well. The front desk personnel just took our keys and continued their conversation, without even saying goodbye.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drnighbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Our stay at Catalina Island Inn was amazing from arrival to check out! I would absolutely recommend this Hotel for it's central location, wonderful and friendly staff, and gorgeous accommodations.
After arriving at the dock we took a cab to the Inn, which was silly as it was only a short walk to the Inn. It's perfectly located in the center of all of the shopping and dining, and a short two minute walk to the main beach. It had just been remodeled and has a modern-beachy look to it, which I loved - so relaxing and inviting! The new beds were so comfortable and large, and each room has new flat screen TV's. We stayed in an amazing room with the best view of Avalon Bay. My fiancee and I got engaged on this trip, and he had called ahead to the Hotel and local florist to coordinate his surprise - they couldn't have been more accommodating and were excited to be a part of it! The locals are extremely friendly, and when at our engagement dinner later that night, we even found that we were sitting next to the Hotel owners, who were genuinely happy that we were having such a wonderful stay! What a coincidence! The Catalina Island Inn was even running a special for our weekend stay that included 2 free tickets for the whale watching tour, which was a complete success and so much fun! This couldn't have been a more perfect trip! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganLovesDiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Although the inn was decorated nicely, the staff was downright unfriendly. Every time we walked into the lobby, not one person ever said hello to us before we said hello to them. We thought it ironic that almost without exception, the staff seemed to always be on the phone handling a complaint! The pictures on the website were quite deceiving. Our room was the size of a shoe box with the queen bed pushed to one side against the wall. Their "continental breakfast" consists of a cup of coffee and a mini muffin. We took the "winter get away" package ($500 for two nights) and felt like it was a complete disappointment. Next time we'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needtogetaway85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing