We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here! You won't be sorry!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Stay here! You won't be sorry!”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Having booked on the internet, we did not know what to expect, but we were extremely happy with our choice! Our room was ready for us upon our arrival at 11am, so we were able to check in and get settled before exploring Avalon. We had room 215, which was great for us because the porch was right next to the room. What a great place to relax after walking around town! We did not even mind the street noise, but if you do, I would suggest that you request a room futher down the hall, away from the street. The staff was super friendly and held our luggage for us after checkout so that we could enjoy our last day in Catalina! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thespis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    196
    56
    25
    12
See reviews for
74
302
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Clean, quiet, comfortable room. Could have used more electrical plug-ins as some were sealed over throughout the room. Overall ,decent value for a hotel on Catalina Island.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kansasboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Got a package deal including the boat over 2 nights stay & taxi ride to & from hotel. Our room was very small & standard but clean & just fine for my husband & I since we don't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. The staff was friendly & location is great walking distance to everything. Don't take a lot of heavy luggage as there is no elevator & lots of stairs.

Room Tip: Stay in the family room if you have 4 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogalovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This quaint little hotel has clean rooms, cable tv, business features, fax ,copy, internet, centrally located near ferry dock and restaurants.

Room Tip: request not to be next to the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The reason we picked this hotel is because our daughters did not want to share a bed and Catalina Island Inn was the only one who offered 2 twin beds (and 1 Queen)...It doesn't have an elevator so we had extra exercise going the 63 steps up and down several times a day but being on the top floor, no traffic and noise from above was well worth it. Beds were comfy and bathroom is awesome, nicely renovated. No table and chairs in the room so we had to sit on our beds while in the room. Continental breakfast is in their small lobby, pastries, coffee and juice but you have to take it to your room. Overall a very nice place to spend the nights while in Catalina.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schatje805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We had room 312. Front of building not too expensive, but had the best view compared to the rest of the standard rooms that face an old building with no view to see. The staff is extremely friendly, and the hotel is beautiful! Once you research other hotels this hotel is a must have. Flat screen TV's! Quiet. No elevator. I needed the workout anyways. We will 100% for sure come back to this hotel on our next trip to catalina island. Love the location just between vons and a movie rental store 1/2 block from the water. short walk to the hotel from water taxi. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffanyt704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I had a travel agent help find me several choices within a price range. I read and researched long and hard and was a bit nervous as to whether I had made the right choice or not. Well as soon as I got there I was totally stoked on my selection. The hotel was beautiful, spotless, love the decor, friendly staff -even goofy at times, which we loved lol. Also I met Bernardine the owner, she was awesome and we got a late check out! [due to availability of course] Location was great -we had the Junior suite, #311, I could see the water and the mountains from my deck, and windows which we loved. The bed was super comfy. Some may need to know that there is no elevator -I didn't care in the least. I had no problem carrying two small bags twice up/down a couple flights of stairs. If I had a complaint at all it would be that the street below started getting noisy with traffic around 8am- that's not the Inn's fault, Catalina gets a bit busy in the morning. So if noise will bother you after 8am, maybe find a quieter room. I still fell back asleep till 930am no prob.

Room Tip: I loved the mini suite, #311, GREAT views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelinDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing